We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Temple

Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Temple
Komp. Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya, Bukit Beruntung, Sei Panas, Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29456, Indonesia
6282127888811
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

While on leisure visit to the Island it was quite natural to visit this temple. One can light a I incense stick and feel the peace and tranquility around this place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank abhijitsengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spacious big temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised with the sight of such a big temple in batam. Start from the middle hall where the three main Buddhas and don't forget the laughing Buddha hall at the third floor I think. The food canteen serve good vegetarian food at very affordable price which people of all races or religion can enjoy. I do see bus loads of tourist when I was there and regardless Buddhist or not, all tourist should respect others' religion and any place of worship.

Helpful?
Thank Coralie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Religious place also good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This temple was very big and nice, you can pray to several buddhas. People also friendly also good restaurant to eat for vegetarian.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank San_Tih2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shopping/sightseeing tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very large and clean with a good outlook. Impressive large rooms with lots of statues to take photos of. No restriction on taking photos.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry2232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
149 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Nothing to see here, move along”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I'm not even sure why I was taken to this 'attraction' by a tour guide. There's nothing - absolutely nothing of interest here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlvinChanJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Temple also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing