We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple

Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple
Sei Panas, Batam Center, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 attractions in Batam Center
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

While on leisure visit to the Island it was quite natural to visit this temple. One can light a I incense stick and feel the peace and tranquility around this place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spacious big temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the sight of such a big temple in batam. Start from the middle hall where the three main Buddhas and don't forget the laughing Buddha hall at the third floor I think. The food canteen serve good vegetarian food at very affordable price which people of all races or religion can enjoy. I do see bus loads of tourist when I was there and regardless Buddhist or not, all tourist should respect others' religion and any place of worship.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Religious place also good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This temple was very big and nice, you can pray to several buddhas. People also friendly also good restaurant to eat for vegetarian.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shopping/sightseeing tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very large and clean with a good outlook. Impressive large rooms with lots of statues to take photos of. No restriction on taking photos.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nothing to see here, move along”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I'm not even sure why I was taken to this 'attraction' by a tour guide. There's nothing - absolutely nothing of interest here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple also viewed

Batam, Riau Archipelago
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple to your Saves list