We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious big temple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Temple

Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Temple
Komp. Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya, Bukit Beruntung, Sei Panas, Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29456, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spacious big temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the sight of such a big temple in batam. Start from the middle hall where the three main Buddhas and don't forget the laughing Buddha hall at the third floor I think. The food canteen serve good vegetarian food at very affordable price which people of all races or religion can enjoy. I do see bus loads of tourist when I was there and regardless Buddhist or not, all tourist should respect others' religion and any place of worship.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    44
    12
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Religious place also good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This temple was very big and nice, you can pray to several buddhas. People also friendly also good restaurant to eat for vegetarian.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shopping/sightseeing tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very large and clean with a good outlook. Impressive large rooms with lots of statues to take photos of. No restriction on taking photos.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nothing to see here, move along”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I'm not even sure why I was taken to this 'attraction' by a tour guide. There's nothing - absolutely nothing of interest here.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Numerous Laughing Buddha statues to cheer you up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love all the various laughing buddha statues in various sizes and costumes lined around the temple. The whole temple is massive and worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Temple also viewed

 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.