We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple

Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple
Sei Panas, Batam Center, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 attractions in Batam Center
Type: Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Buddhist temple
Good place to visit
Pray
Have Chinese Veg food
May be enough for around half an hour to 45 mins

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    20
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very Big Big Temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This temple very big..large..
and very windy..
its nice for pray in here
and also have vegetarian restaurant
in here very peaceful and they selling small statue buddha also...
the price reasonable..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Temple visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Nothing that i dont like, girl fren prayed while i wait...airy temple and many visitors. Saw a vegetarian restaurant, looks not bad.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“expansive building but no striking feature.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

i wish to clarify my statement about the "no striking feature". Most temples have either a striking dome and some kind of stupas that immediately associate the building to being a temple.

This emple is housed in qa very expansive building and one feature of the building is that it perches on a very high ground thereby providing reasonably panoramic view of the batam town.

devotees feel that prayers are answered if done in earnest.hence there is a huge following of this temple.this is the largest budhist temple in indonesia,according to our local guide but i am not sure whether it is bigger than the BROBODUR. members views will be welcome.


there is a renowned vegetarian restaurant located within the building/ unfortunately during our visit the restaurant was closed post chinese new year holidays and hence we could not sample the cuisine. vegetarians missed it all the more .most o of the food items simulate meat and sea food inclusing the expternal experience. i would recommend it to the uninitiated to try and experience these unique preparations souced from soya beans.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Huge Temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I recently visited this Temple. It was enormous and beautiful. My family and I were able to roam the temple at our leisure. There are 3 main worship rooms with very large Buddha statues.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple also viewed

Batam, Riau Archipelago
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 
Batam, Riau Archipelago
Batam, Riau Archipelago
 

Been to Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Maha Vihara Duta Maitreya Buddhist Temple to your Saves list