We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advanced Birthday Retreat to Harmoni One” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments to your Saves list
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Engku Putri no. 1, Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Batam Center
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Advanced Birthday Retreat to Harmoni One”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Spent 2D1N at Harmoni One Hotel yesterday. Service was good, but the check-in took quite a while. Probably because there were many other groups checking in at the same time and thus the staff can't handle all the crowd at once.

Stayed in Room 395 and the room was ok for me. Probably cos I prefer rooms with bright lights and non-carpeted floor. Also, when I opened the cupboard, there was a strong musky smell. Other than that, all was ok. Room was still cold even with the aircon off, and I don't know why our room was facing a walkway.

Breakfast have large variety of food, and taste not bad. However, their omelette wasn't up to my expection, kind of disappointing. But other than that, still ok.

Hotel is near the Batam Ferry Centre, and probably less than 5 minutes drive away from Megamall. J Co cost less than 5sgd for 6pieces!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    137
    66
    17
    11
See reviews for
65
70
3
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Hotel's Exterior is Grandeur. The Coleseums outside, the very nice fountain at the entrance.
The reception area is too simple for a grand exterior of this hotel. Theirs is just a table, the first time i see a 4-star rated hotel with no usual type of reception (like a marble/u shaped reception area), no welcome drinks, the other guest need to stand as they wait for their queue to be entertained.
The lobby has poor lightning. The interior feels sad. The staff are not smiling.

Our room is Superior one, the vault is not user friendly. The mini bar is free unlike the other hotels which charges everything except the water and coffee stuff. No hair dryer. The toiletries are basic necessities including soap,shampoo, toothbrush,cotton buds, sanitary bag. No slippers provided.
Aircon is just nice. The room has an area outside the window but theres no access. Seems to be a passage way or something.

The pool is at the rooftop. A very good place to watch the stars at night and enjoy the jacuzzi. They also have kiddie pool and main swimming pool. Gym is also there at the rooftop. The have a garden but with no flowers, just a place for you to walk and feel the breeZe and appreciate the greek-inspired rooftop designs.

Bamboo restaurant's cuisine are awesome and all are exceptionally delicious. From their fried rice, Chicken bbq, solsok juice, and even the fruits. The breakfast buffet is mainly asian. No pasta, baked rice and other western dishes. Otherwise, all is well.

They arrange shuttle to malls but we decided to stay at the pool instead since we never went to batam just to shop. we enjoyed ouselves in their restaurant and facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is spacious and huge. Rooms are well kept and clean. The only problem I see with th is hotel is the location. It is in the middle of nowhere, tucked in one corner of Batam. So to travel to and fro, have to rely on hotel transfer or external taxi. Breakfast choices was international and good. Staff very friendly. Should consider having a proper check in area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Let me start with the overall rating. The rating I gave is relative to the 3 to 4 stars hotels in Indonesia. I have definitely seen other 3-star hotels that are better compared to Harmoni One (HO) in other countries.

The lobby is huge, however, dimmed even day-time, the lights were turned off in late morning. It has low ceiling, therefore not complementing the grand impression it is supposed to give. You will be greeted with individual check-in desks. This is good concept for low flow of guests; however during crowded times, it could be a little discomfort to the guests who than have to manage the queue themselves as they are unlikely to be queues formed like you see in traditional check-in counter (there are just sofas surrounding the check-in desks). There was live piano and singer in one side of the lobby in the evening, since the lobby is so huge and under-utilised, the live music somewhat did not gel into the environment, in my opinion.

The room we had was superior twin, smaller with what we expected, although equipped with bathtub. Amenities were basic. Only bath towels (2) and bath rag was provided; no face or hand towels. Note that this room we had on the second floor is one of the rooms in the centre row of the floor. There are two back-to-back rows in the centre of the floor; therefore the glass window of the room opens to a closed corridor. Although the corridor is decorated with partitions, ornament plants and soft lightings; it still is awkward to have the full glass bay window of your room opening to a corridor. Water pressure was ok, beds were ok, day bed was a bit dusty and dirty. again, overall is ok for Batam standard. There were couple canned drinks and a pack of ground nuts free in the fridge.

The buffet breakfast was standard. A few improvements could be done here and there, like the table setup (our table was setup without napkins). The food selection was ok, but I am more concerned to quality than choices. The egg-station uses fresh-eggs with good omelette.

One thing to warn you: the lobby, restaurant and swimming pools are SMOKING areas. There seemed to be no dedicated areas for smokers. This is not acceptable to me personally. Many very selfish and foolish smokers happily puffing away in the lobby and restaurant, which are air-conditioned. Shame on them!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Harmoni One has a very huge lobby ... nicely-decorated, supremely spacious & cozy; it does make you want to say 'WOW'!
(We got it for a "2D1N offer" at S$38 per pax).
Nothing more we could complain about ... since it is our 1st visit to Batam Island and our 1st hotel stay.

It is relatively a good hotel while its SUPERIOR rooms are reasonably spacious. DELUXE rooms would be much better (I think).
Hotel staff manning the shuttle counter are helpful, patient and speaks good English (hotel's shuttle go to Mega Mall, Nagoya Hill & BCS)

There is a kiddy pool, jacuzzi pool & the main swimming pool ..... clean and reasonable. Location of hotel is reasonable .... Sari Bambu restaurant & an Italian restaurant are just across the road from the back-entrance/exit. On the right-side of hotel's main entrance, you can find murtabak after 5-10 minutes' leisure walk. Mega Mall is about 10-15 minutes' leisure walk from the back-entrance/exit.

Don't expect to have a window in your room as most of the rooms were enclosed facing a display window. There was also smoke smell in the room; which disappeared after a while. Breakfast was nice but refill was really slow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Harmoni One hotel is just 5 mins away from the Batam Center Ferry Terminal. Upon arrival, I was in awe.The architecture of the hotel is pretty impressive especially the pool area. The chinese restaurant, Lim's Garden is pretty good. But service was really slow for our private function room. Was quite disappointed that they waiters took forever to refill our water glasses, which I badly needed. Otherwise, the food was quite good.

For more photos of the hotel and places I've visited during the city tour, check out http://heyyzel.blogspot.sg/

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

we stayed here as we were attending a wedding celebrated here.
Overall...the hotel was good.
The lobby itself is huge..
The hallway was brightly lighted and looked so grand..
The room was quiet spacious...and i actually liked the part where there's a massage space...
Pool opens until 10pm
clean sauna as well..
Breakfast was acceptable...
However these are
few set backs:
Only 2 out of the 3 lift
s were in use..the lifts were small and slow..hated that so much
No complimentary ride to the jetty (nearest shopping mall,forgotten the name) we have to take the cab
Other than that this hotel is ok

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batam Center
2.2 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
4.9 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#2 of 19 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
5.9 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
#1 of 4 in Batu Ampar
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
I Hotel
I Hotel
#14 of 80 in Batam
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Novotel Batam
Hotel Novotel Batam
#19 of 80 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
4.8 mi away
The BCC Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments

Address: Jl. Engku Putri no. 1, Batam Center, Riau Islands Province 29400, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Batam Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Batam Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Work and play fuse into one at our boutique hotel in Batam. A haven for business travelers and leisure tourists in search of efficiency and pleasure, Harmoni One Convention Hotel & Service Apartments is well-placed within the heart of Batam near major business and government offices, as well as the city’s entertainment and commercial areas. It has a growing reputation as one of Batam, Indonesia’s finest destinations for successful conferences and business meetings, and also for providing guests with a wealth of comfort within its richly appointed interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmoni 1 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.