We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast with a side of Southern hospitality.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saw Mill Place

Saw Mill Place
1150 Pat Haralson Memorial Dr, Blairsville, GA 30512-3016
+1 706-745-1250
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 64 Restaurants in Blairsville
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good breakfast with a side of Southern hospitality.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Sawmill Place was an excellent restaurant to have a good country breakfast. They demonstrated the true meaning of Southern hospitality with a genuine friendly service. If the service was any friendlier, we might as well have been served by our own mother.
The biscuit was oversized, warm, soft and super delicious. Bacon was good with apple wood smoke notes. The ham was very salty and chewy, but this was to be expected for a country ham. Sausage patty was unnecessarily salty. Caramelized apples were delicious without being overly sweet. The eggs were expertly cooked.
If you don’t mind sitting in line for twenty to thirty minutes for breakfast, then The Sawmill Place is worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    27
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hiawassee, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Family Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Varied menu. Homecooked meals. Good service. Usually see someone you know. They have good repeat business.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineral Bluff, Georgia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We passed by this restaurant at lunch time and noticed that the parking lot was full. We figured it was "the" local place to eat, so we gave it a try. It is clean, comfortable, and the food is priced right for family dining. The atmosphere is very nice. There seemed to be plenty of help. We were seated quickly, and service was good. I had an Apple Wood Bacon Cheese Burger, with french fries, and it was well seasoned and delicious. This was a home made burger, not a frozen patty. My wife ordered the Vegetable Plate, consisting of Fried Green Tomatoes, Cabbage, Green Beans and Cole Slaw, with a delicious Corn Muffin. Everything was delicious and the portions were very adequate. Lunch came to about $13.00 for the two of us. I can't wait to go back for breakfast, as they looked and sounded wonderful. We'll be back for sure, and soon!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sweet potato pancakes are "the bomb"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Homey atmosphere, friendly service, parking lot is packed. Have never had such thick but light pancakes anywhere else. Sweet potato pancakes are served with a warm, pecan and cinnamon syrup. I ordered one of these and one pecan pancake. Had to get a to-go container and enjoyed them again the next morning.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Recommended by Stephanie at Paradise Hills Resort and Spa we found it warm and friendly. Cash or 'good' checks only, they were kind enough to take our out of town check (it is good). It had all the regular breakfast items including pumpkin pancakes. Home made sausage, Virginia ham, home fries and fresh biscuits made for a great meal, Breakfast served until 11 AM. Not open on Sunday. I highly recommend for breakfast.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saw Mill Place also viewed

 

Been to Saw Mill Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saw Mill Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.