We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pappy's Restaurant

Pappy's Restaurant
76 Pappy's Plaza, Blairsville, GA 30512
706-835-1333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 59 restaurants in Blairsville
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Hamburgers, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Marietta, SC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had the best fried grouper that I think I have ever had, please the window by the river was so pleasant. Everything was fresh and very good. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    27
    17
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“No more for us”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife and I were able to enjoy one of Pappy's delicious burgers earlier today. What I do not understand and this has somewhat changed my view of going to Pappy's is that when we arrived we asked the owner (who greeted us) for a table by the river so we could enjoy the view while eating. His response was something about only having tables for 4 or more guest available and he then seated us against a wall.

I counted that there were 4 tables next to the windows with a view of the river that were not occupied. We order, got our food, ate and when we left none of the 4 had been occupied and now there were 6 empty tables by the river. We drive a bit over 90 miles one way to eat there because we enjoy the river and the food. With out the serenity and view of the river I am wondering if it is worth it. This just seems odd as it relates to customer service, especially given that on average we had been visiting Pappy's about once every couple of weeks. I really cannot see a reason why he could not have seated us as we requested. We have decide that the food being good does not compensate for the lack of customer service. Based on that we will not be going back and not recommending it to family or friends in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I think the last time we tried to eat here, this complex was closed. It's up and running again, and the only thing we saw that was missing was the fried pickles! We did miss those, but the BBQ is very good. We ordered/paid for coleslaw for the sandwiches, and there could/should have been twice as much, could barely taste it. (There's lots of pork on the sandwich!) We also asked before ordering the expensive blackberry tea, as to whether it was sweet, were told it was not, but it was too sweet for us to drink. We would definitely go back if in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice place after a day at the lake and hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I enjoyed the Smokey pulled pork. My son loved his hamburger and husband enjoyed the brisket. We shared some awesome bread pudding for dessert. A table with the water view is great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff and more...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having stopped here several years ago and been disappointed, we were hesitant to go back. But we're really glad we did. New owners have turned this roadside restaurant into a gem! The food was excellent. The staff was friendly and we really enjoyed visiting with the new owners about his time with NASA as a shuttle crew assistant. The view of the river out back was lovely and there are lots of cute shops all around, although some are closed on Monday's & Tuesday's. Overall we really enjoyed Pappy's and will definitely go back again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappy's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pappy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappy's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.