We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than just a horse ride - a magical experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Echo Stables

Ocean Echo Stables
Newcastle | St. John, Barbados
+1 246-433-6772
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Horseback Riding Stables, Outdoor Activities
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“More than just a horse ride - a magical experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Definitely the highlight of my trip to Barbados. I was nervous when I arrived at the Ocean Echo Stables as I've never been near a horse in my life, but was instantly put at ease by the friendly, family atmosphere at the Stables, and by my guide on the trip - a guy called Bernard. My partner and I saddled up on two beautiful horses (decent safety equipment included) and took a trip through the countryside, into a wood, past a waterfall, and onto lush beaches! It was just gentle enough that we were both confident with the horses, and exciting enough that we were fully immersed in the adventure. A word about Bernard - the guy is amazing, he goes out of his way to make this a truly magical experience for you. He took a raft of photos for us (believe me, it's not easy taking photos when you're trying to ride a horse), entertained us with some of his songs about Barbados life, and even allowed us to take a detour through a maze of banana trees, which was my partner's mad idea but ended up being great fun! Add to this the first class customer service from Samantha, who took great care of us and made us fresh juice to round off our horse trip, and you've got a "must visit" attraction that is more than worth the modest cover price. Well done guys!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    14
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I got picked up right on time. Did the "Bath Beach Riding Tour" with Samantha as a guide. Had a great experience. Next time in Barbados, will definetly do it again and add a hike.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsford, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We had the best time!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We took an hour and a half ride and we had the time of our lives. Out of all the tour excursions we did in Barbados we had the most fun with the horseback tour. Ocean Echo Stables was very welcoming, inexpensive and professional. My hubby and I will definitely visit them again when we return back to Barbados! We highly recommend Ocean Echo Stables.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“(Great) Experience like no other!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We contacted Ocean Echo Stables months in advance of our arrival. In communication with Samantha, she was very professional and informative. She scheduled our reservation and maintained communication once we arrived in Barbados. Unfortunately our schedule changed, but Samantha & Ocean Echo Stables were very accommodating. We did the 1.5 mile ride and our guides were Quasi and the male co-owner (sorry couldn't remember name). Anyhow, they promptly picked us up, inquired our riding experience, and was very safety thorough. We settled formalities and commenced with our ride. In short, we had a pleasant, informative, and relaxing ride. Both guides were very informative and provided knowledge about structures, plants, and history of Barbados. We were even enlightened with poetry during our ride. In summary, we enjoyed our ride and the experience with Ocean Echo Stables. I would highly recommend this ride to others, When we return, we will definitely ride again!!! Thanks for the everything. Stan, Tara, & Kweisi.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormshill
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best way to see some of the island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I both went on a 2 hour gentle treck led by our guide Quasi, a very entertaining and informative young man! He was full of interesting information about the locality and the plant life. We are not great riders but felt very safe at all times and it was a lovely way to see some of the island. We were collected and dropped off from our hotel at no extra cost and given a lovely fruit drink upon our return to the stables. The horses were well cared for and the stables whilst rustic were well maintained and clean. If you plan to ride I highly recommend Ocean Echo Stables.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Echo Stables also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Ocean Echo Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Echo Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.