We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park to your Saves list
Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park
307 Park Ave. S, Winter Park, FL 32789   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winter Park
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A delightful stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

I've stayed here in Spring, Winter and Summer but this is my first review as this latest stay was made all the more pleasant for the recent upgrades to the rooms and reception area. The hotel provides an excellent central Winter Park location and the staff are so welcoming and knowledgeable, meaning I can get the most out of the location, secure restaurant reservations and ensure a relaxing stay.

With a young child I am very conscious of noise disturbance so am a little puzzled by some comments about the room walls. Not in my experience is all I can say.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    16
    21
    18
See reviews for
21
46
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We chose Park Plaza hotel as the preferred hotel block for our wedding, since we had a small wedding (~20 people). When the best man arrived (my husband's brother), he was informed that his reservation was cancelled. Apparently, they cancelled the wrong reservation with the same Surname/Last name without any inquiry of first name, credit card info or date of stay. The hotel could not work through the cancellation error as the manager was not onsite, the front desk was unwilling to call the manager at home and the elderly man arming the front desk was not capable of working through such a complex affair. The next day I was informed that the best man's room was ready for check-in. The manager's response was 'what's the odds that multiple people with the same last name would stay at the hotel?' My response, 'high' especially since it's the groom's surname (duh!). But since it was a busy day (the day before our wedding!), our best man chose to keep his room up the road at the Best Western Mt Vernon Inn in Winter Park. A couple of our other guests stayed there too. The Best Western turned out to be the better hotel and it was even 1/2 the cost. Both hotels were walking distance to Hannibal Square (Dexter's, Chez Vincent), which was where we met anyways. I would not stay at this hotel again. Low value, high cost, great location.

Room Tip: Note: No pool, multiple excellent restaurants within walking distance, convenient to Park Ave, Valet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Omg... Does this place suck! It seemed so cute from the outside, but the inside leaves much to be desired. My husband and I are sort of boutique hotel connisseurs, and this hotel falls short in so many ways. The rooms attempt to be quaint and vintage are just smelly, old, and damp. Are biggest problem is the extreme lack of privacy. Actual paper walls would be less noisy. You can hear every word of conversations in neighboring rooms. I seriously feel like we just paid a premium to stay in my grandmothers attic. Epic fail. Do. Not. Stay. Here. Unless u just like to set money on fire.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Between the train (which sounded like it was coming right through our room), the air conditioning that cycled on and off all night, and the thin walls that allowed us to hear every word from the tv in the neighboring room= no sleep.
A telltale sign of obvious issues is that the front desk has a giant bag of earplugs.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just came back from a lovely visit to Winter Park. What a charming town, and what a wonderful experience we had staying in the Park Plaza Hotel, a quaint and tastefully decorated hotel, nestled in the heart of the the upscale downtown of Winter Park. We felt pampered and well looked after. It has been many years since I have stayed there, but the owners have done a superb job of keeping it renovated and current. The room with it's little balcony overlooking Park Ave was comfortable, exceptionally clean, and beautiful with it's old wood floors and brick walls. During the day we kept the doors open to the balcony and enjoyed the everyday street sounds drifting up from below. At night we lay in comfort under a down comforter and crisp clean sheets, the sounds from outside quietened by the perfectly set air conditioner. We slept like babies. In the mornings we were treated to hot coffee and a leisurely breakfast on the balcony with the daily paper. Staff were so helpful and friendly, and always ready to help with any request we had. Nothing was too much trouble. Can't say enough about the hotel. We loved being able to walk to nearby museums, shops, bistros and the farmers market. We had a memorable stay!! Thank you to the owners and staff. We will be back and will recommend highly!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I love this place! Located in the heart of Winter Park right on Park Ave. The rooms are well appointed and the Staff is super helpful and always have a smile on there faces! This place is full of charm like you would find in yesteryear. It might have something to due that it was built in the sometime in the 20's. When I asked the Front desk man gave the history of Park Plaza Hotel. I love the fun details of those sort of things. The hotel only has around 25-30 rooms each are a little different but the ones that I peaked into where killer location the fill up fast! So If you are planning to come to the Winter Park area or Orlando this is a a great hidden secret not to be missed!

Room Tip: Book a balcony room to over look Park Ave. The cutest street full of fab shopping a yummy restarunts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed here four different nights during April and May. We were both having cataract surgery at Winter Park Hospital very early in the morning (5-6 AM). We live an hour away and did not want to make the trip in the middle of the night each time, so we decided to stay somewhere in Winter Park where we could make the trip to the hospital in just a few minutes. I searched for hotels in downtown and there are not a lot to choose from, so we decided to give it a try. We enjoyed the stay and the service so much, we made reservations for all our surgery trips.

The place is quaint, and it is old, but it is clean and comfortable. The rooms are large, almost a mini-suite, but the bathrooms are definitely for one person at a time. I guess there is only so much you can do with an old hotel if you don't want to gut it and totally modernize it. It's nice to walk out on the balcony and overlook Park Avenue with all the shops and restaurants.

As noted, we made four trips (two people plus two eyes each equals four surgeries). We love Winter Park and all the shops and restaurants, so we would drive down in the afternoon, check in, and then browse and go to dinner. All we had to do was go back to our room and relax. Each night, after the street parking restrictions were over, the valet would park our car directly in front of the hotel. In the morning, we came downstairs, picked up our key, and were at the hospital in less than 10 minutes. Couldn't ask for greater convenience or service.

We like the hotel so much that we have decided in the future we will make overnight trips to Winter Park and Orlando instead of cramming everything into one day.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room on the Park Avenue side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park

Address: 307 Park Ave. S, Winter Park, FL 32789
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Plaza Hotel, built in 1922, on the famous Park Avenue in the old downtown Winter Park, is a unique and intimate vintage boutique hotel. Personal service and genuine hospitality is the tradition of the 28 room Park Plaza Hotel. Stay in a cozy one-of-a-kind room full of antiques with an elegant balcony garden overflowing with ferns, potted plants and brightly colored flowers. Situated on the corner of Park Avenue and New England street and overlooking a Rose Garden in the Park, the location is home to some of the best shopping often described as "The Rodeo Drive of the East." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Winter
Park Plaza Winter Park
Winter Park Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Hotel Winter Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.