We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dexters” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dexter's Winter Park

Dexter's Winter Park
558 W. New England Ave., Winter Park, FL 32789-4240
407-629-1150
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 274 Restaurants in Winter Park
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dexters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Average restaurant with average food & service.

Most other restaurants are more appealing. On the positive side, it's a very casual place to eat if you have children.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    17
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What happened to Dexters?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have been to Dexters countless times for over 12 years and I have been disappointed lately. On the last visit, we couldn't sit by the open air windows because they didn't have any servers for that side. We sat in the back and it took almost 10 minutes for a server to arrive. At least three menu items were not available. My standby Dexters special was a disappointment. The "smoked turkey" tasted like it came from a processed meat packing plant and the bread was day old at best.

My wife wanted to order the cha cha chips but I recalled our last visit where the chips were soggy and chewy. (Later, our server then mentioned they were having a problem with the chips and they were coming out soggy and wouldn't recommend them).

I have heard from friends who have been disappointed and I seen the decline in the quality of this restaurant but tried to ignore it based on a long time satisfaction. I don't know if there have been changes in the kitchen or if the chef had a bad night but I am very hesitant to return unless the quality of the food improves.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food Great music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Parking in Winter Park can be challenging.Dexters corner location has a parking lot just across the street. Walk in to an upbeat atmosphere, helpful happy staff ,live band,with a great dance floor and your walking in to a great evening..All the patrons of every age were having a great time

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really gone down!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We've been going to Dexters in winter park for years but this is the last visit. The sweet potato salmon nearly broke a tooth. The brown sugar on top almost couldn't be broken apart with a knife. The salmon was overdone, scalded my tounge in fact. The band was so old I didn't know if they would survive the set and so loud it was migraine inducing. So disappointing. This used to be THE place to go but don't. There are way too many good places to eat In Winter Park to waste your time and money here unless you are a skanky 65 year old looking to pick up. Like most of its patrons, it's definitely past it's prime.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not bad, can they handle the crowd?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We went for Sunday brunch. It was very busy. So busy that one of our entrees was sent to another table. They did apologize and picked up that portion of the bill. The food was alright. The best part was the warm banana bread which we had for an appetizer. I had the eggs Benedict. Was not the best I had. They serve it on a French loaf which made it very "bready". Service was slow for both the food and drinks.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dexter's Winter Park also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Dexter's Winter Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dexter's Winter Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.