We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice restaurant, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jum-bo Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jum-bo Chinese Restaurant
1967 Aloma Ave, Winter Park, FL 32792-3212
407-657-8878
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 275 Restaurants in Winter Park
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Central Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good food, nice restaurant, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My only complaint about this restaurant is that they don't label anything as vegetarian, so I can't be sure anything is actually vegetarian, but they do have plenty of veggie dishes and they are all very good and you can have brown rice if you prefer.
My friends and family also enjoy the meat dishes. We've never had a bad meal here, either in the restaurant which is very pleasant with white tablecloths and a quiet atmosphere or from take-out which is a large part of their business. The dinner menu is better than the lunch menu. The lunch menu is limited and if you are vegetarian, tough, because the meals only come with soup (none of which are vegetarian) and egg rolls. And they don't have spring rolls.
This place has been tucked into the elbow of the plaza for many, many years and it seems like the same guy has been handling the cash register for as long as I can remember and he never seems to age. The restaurant always seems clean and the air conditioner is not set to freezing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just Plain Good achinese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Everything is good. I have never had a bad meal there. They maybe a dollar or two more than most chinese restaurants, but the quality of the food, and he cleanliness of the restaurant makes up for that.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good take out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Good take out, but it is kind of pricey. The quality has declined recently too...they may have a new chef or had an off night?!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistent, Delightful yet Not Boring”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We have been going to Jum-bos for the last several years. We have always found the food to be well prepared, the service (which is important to our family) has always been good, and the servings are plentiful (there's enough for lunch or dinner tomorrow).

Surprise your family and take them here and enjoy your time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Chinese restaurant in Central Florida.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Great menu, great food, with big platters and great prices. The reason Jum-bo Restaurant has been in Winter Park, under the same owners, for so long, is obvious once you partake of their food. We go and take out as often as we can. When we get a group together for "Chinese", this is always our choice.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jum-bo Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Jum-bo Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jum-bo Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.