We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth persevering to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Place

Thai Place
501 N. Orlando Ave., Winter Park, FL 32789-2900
407-644-8449
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 275 Restaurants in Winter Park
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
mims florida
Top Contributor
471 reviews 471 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
459 helpful votes 459 helpful votes
“worth persevering to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had to phone twice to help find the place as it is not where GPS takes you, and is hidden in a fairly rundown KMart shopping Centre opposite Winter Park Village Mall, but it is worth finding! Welcome and friendly, and quick service. Good Thai ambience. My wife and I enjoyed Siamese Salmon and Siamese Duck, both opting for the medium sweet and sour sauce, still quite hot enough for us. They offer 2 hotter and one less hot sauce options. We also paid for brown jasmine rice which was a good sized portion and tasty. Good sized and reasonably priced Plum wine. We shall visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    13
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very Good Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I'll ditto others' reviews... Very good Thai but the location would make you second guess your decision if you didn't read the reviews first. I had he beef pad Thai extra spicy and it was good. I only wish I would've asked for it extra extra extra spicy as extra spicy seemed like normal when compared to other Thai restaurants. If you like Thai I would highly recommend stopping by for a meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“From Thai to FL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The best ever Thai food I have experience grill Seabass with the dip shut my eye....and i'm in Thailand

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I just recently went there for lunch. I have been many times but never wrote a review. I usually for dinner. Thai food is much like art, to some it may be beautiful and to others it may be funky. You really have to know your tastes and know what to order. I have mostly had great experiences. The lunch was a great value and dinner offers a nice atmosphere to bring a date. True, the shopping center location isn't the best but it is the food and the inside decor that counts. I always get the wonton soup and thai iced tea. They recently added some spinach leaves to the soup that makes it even better. This restaurant seems to serve a healthier version of thai food. Hard to explain so you will have to trust me. I like Nam Sod, it is a cold chicken or pork salad dish that you can get at varying degrees of spiciness. The garlic beef is a great choice too. The mango on sticky rice dessert is excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING food in a beat up shopping center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We're from the Washington area and have had Thai food in quantity. Saw a review of this spot and decided to give it a shot. Do NOT be taken in by the address! 501 N. Orlando is actually the address of a shopping center and you have to go into the parking area and wander towards the back to find the restaurant. Once you get there (whew!) the food and service are superb. We had their mussamans curry (with tofu) and pad thai along with an appetizer of spring rolls. Everything was first rate and presented very nicely. We ordered medium spicy and you can get them to bring you "condiments" - which are hot sauce and peppers - to dial up the heat if you wish. I'd be delighted to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Place also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Thai Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.