We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Display of Tiffany Glass!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Hosmer Morse Museum of American Art

Charles Hosmer Morse Museum of American Art
445 North Park Avenue, Winter Park, FL 32789
407-645-5311
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$145*
and up
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Winter Park
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Extensive collection of the works by Louis Comfort Tiffany plus a rich collection of early 20th-century paintings and decorative arts.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Display of Tiffany Glass!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This museum in Winter Park Florida has the largest collection of Tiffany glass in the world. It is absolutely stunning! Over and above the floral windows that you would expect, there are lamps, jewelry, memorabilia from Tiffany's homes and studio/mansion. The chapel designed by Tiffany for the Columbian Exposition is jaw-droppingly gorgeous!

There are works of other American artists, but they didn't make the impression on me that the Tiffany glass did. If you like stained glass even a little, don't miss this!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    74
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is true art! The museum has expanded over the years, and has a fairly extensive collection of Tiffany's works, housed in a beautiful gallery. Definitely worth the trip.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Visit to a Jewel Box”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The wonderful Morse Museum far exceeded our expectations. We went from room to room gasping at the beautiful items. From the most well know vases and lamps to the exquisite windows and accessories, all were worth seeing. The chapel and daffodil court were icing on the cake. You felt you were inside a jewel box, with the most beautiful jewels. After leaving the museum, we strolled down Park Drive and ate lunch at Luma, a very nice, reasonably price Italian restaurant. The many restaurants and shops make for a lively crowd enjoying the relaxed atmosphere We were lucky the weather was perfect for open-air dining. I highly recommend a visit for anyone interested in a fun day.
-

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A bit snooty..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were put off right from the start by the lady on guest services - she was very unfriendly and seemed to look down her nose at us. Maybe because we went on a Friday evening when it is free. Whatever her reasons it made us feel a bit uncomfortable and we shortened our visit as a result.

Tiffany glass was beautiful - shame our experience started on such a downer.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tiffany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Many rooms filled with beautiful art glass and pottery. This collection includes work in every medium by Louis C Tiffany and a large collection of American art pottery including Roseville and Rookwood. Brochures in each room and a video at the entrance help explain the items and their history. My friends and I enjoyed meandering through this interesting museum.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Hosmer Morse Museum of American Art also viewed

 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Charles Hosmer Morse Museum of American Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Hosmer Morse Museum of American Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.