We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meatballs and Martinis!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prato

Prato
124 North Park Avenue, Winter Park, FL 32789
+1 407-262-0050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Prato is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 285 Restaurants in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Morse and Park Avenue
Description: Blending simplicity and inspiration, Prato celebrates cuisine from Italy's rich culinary landscape, seamlessly blending Italian classics with modern techniques and seasonal ingredients. Celebrated chef, Brandon McGlamery entices guests with dishes ranging from light primi and insalata choices to savory, handcrafted pastas and inventive Italian entrees. By offering a variety of Spanish and Italian varietals and blends, we help our guests to discover complex, unique and lesser known wines that excited and delight their palettes. With a long bar that runs through the center of the restaurant, dining at Prato offers a communal and social atmosphere.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Meatballs and Martinis!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Don't miss either one. Whether you are going for dinner, happy hour, or just a cocktail, the food, drinks and service are as good or better than the atmosphere.

You don't have to be hungry to try their meatball appetizer, its amazing!

Say hi to Stephanie, my favorite bartender there!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    101
    24
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebring
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Unique dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Strolled down Park Avenue looking for a light dinner and happened upon Prato. Dinner service doesn't start until 5:30 but their wood fired pizza selections (7) were available. The Salsiccia with Toscano was perfect. Since the menu changes daily your selection options may be different. Wine and beer selections were plentiful. Our waitress Jessica, a UCF student, was totally familiar with the selections on the menu and explained each one we inquired about in detail. We also sampled the Formaggio & Carne Salata. Excellent cheeses and sausages not to mention the olives!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Always delighted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I live in Winter Park. Am at Prato weekly. Maybe twice weekly for lunch and dinner.

I just entered my reviews for a recent trip, realized I don't think to review my local spots. Prato deserves more than a glowing review. What more can I do to tell you that this is the place to go?

The executive chef is creative, extremely creative. But he also has that innate knowledge of what will be pleasing as well as adventurous. It's a delicate balance to strike, and he does it. Changes the menu often, weekly perhaps every two weeks. Keeping some offerings always.

SO recently I've had the Campagne Salad (curly endive, other lettuces, nuts, cheeses, fruit), hangar steak w bulgur pilaf and wild mushrooms and ramps, peanut butter and chocolate dessert done 4 ways, antipasto plate. Their salads are amazingly creative. The roasted butternut and walnut salad is excellent. Always have some sort of a steak offering. Desserts are creative, many deconstructed. Such as Apple Crisp done as the cinnamony apples as a compote, vanilla creme anglaise, oatmeal crunch sprinkled generously, scoop of raisin ice cream. Their homemade pasta offerings are great. Just had mustard pasta with pancetta and caramelized onion light cream sauce. Imagine that combination. Oh man.

Waitstaff is friendly, attentive, knowledgeable. Tim the manager is always there, always watching for any hiccups. He keeps it all running smoothly.

Tables outside or near the front are quieter. Inside can be noisy for me (I'm older. My adult kids like the inside energy.) They have good heaters outside for the winter months. And efficient valet parking right at the front door.

Best dinner place in Central Florida. Worth the drive from Disney. Worth the drive from anywhere. After dinner, walk up and down Park Avenue, the street all developers dream to have.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Insultingly overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wow, people raving about this place have clearly been out in the sticks their whole lives. They mispelled both our first and last names so badly while recording our reservation that upon our arrival they insisted that we had no reservation. The attitude rich and horribly tatooed trashy hostess told us they were too busy for walk-ins. Suddenly the manager pointed out to her that there was a party of 4 at 6:30 with names extremely similar to ours. Nice work sherlock, drop the attitude next time until you know what the F is going on. We got a briefing from the waitress that the menu was "hard to understand" so she explained what prosciutto was. WOW thanks! Seriously? Are there people who need that explanation?

$21 dollar Meat and Cheese platter:
7 olives
3 slices of Sopresatta
Maybe 1/2 oz. of shaved prosciutto
6 slivers of fried dough
2 oz. of assorted cheese
oh and wait for it....Mortadella Foam, yes foam on a freaking plate
This whole platter could fit in one hand.

$13 for 4 fried flowers (squash blossoms) tasteless

Entrees were half the size of expected/described.

Our lamb pasta dish contained no lamb, which was admitted later by the chef and taken off our bill. My Prawn Diavolo pasta contained 3 prawns the size of my pinky finger. $16 for 3 prawns and six forks of average pasta.

This place is cosmetic. It's fancy and trendy but is way overpriced. We've eaten in over 40 countries and can spot a ripoff. The chef is talented and has great ideas, but buddy don't insult us. There is nothing Italian about tiny portions and high prices. You may fool some culturally challenged Floridians, but that's about it. You'd be laughed out of Tuscany, Rush Street in Chicago, Metropolitan Ave in Brooklyn and any other place worthy of mentioning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We visited with friends who live locally and had recommended it. The service was brilliant. I had the cioppino which was first class. Excellent value and will definitely return!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prato also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Prato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.