We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer and food (meats)!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shipyard Emporium - CLOSED

The Shipyard Emporium
200 W Fairbanks Ave, Winter Park, FL 32789
321-274-4045
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Satellite Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good beer and food (meats)!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We started out odd placed on a back corner...joked with the hostess and my husband that they placed us in the back since we are old (late 40s). The hostess was clueless....we moved ourselves to bar area. The service was very good and friendly. Food was good.. I got the trio of sausages (excellent). My husband opted for the meatball sandwich that was to be served on hallow out baget (was not as described). Overall good.. Cool thing is the chef came out and asked if everything was good. That is very nice and we will visit again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were really looking forward to our lunch at Shipyard, but were disappointed. The food was ok. It wasn't bad but it wasn't good. I had a sandwich and the bread was stale. My husband enjoyed the beer and said he would go back for the beer, but I probably won't go back for the food.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Too Groovy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is a popular restaurant with the hoity toity crowd of Winter Park. The beer is expensive and so is the skimpy food. Give me the real world flavor of the Copper Rocket in Maitland where the variety of beer is good and the prices allow you to have more than one.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“For a Maine & Beer (+ wine) appreciator, you have to love "Live Maine Mondays" at the Shipyard Brew Pub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My son and his wife introduced us to the Shipyard through a Father's Day gift card to my husband. I've returned a number of times with him and with visiting friends, and on each visit I find more to like on the menu and beyond.
I enjoy the modern but casual atmosphere, the really wonderful beers that I enjoy tasting with the "flights" of four, the lobster rolls, (which you can only truly appreciate if you've had one in Maine), the Shipyard clam chowder, Shipyard pot roast sandwich and unusual and wonderful flat breads. So far everything has been great, including some special side dishes.
An extra treat is the unexpected Artisan breads made on site. I usually take a couple loaves home with me. And when it's available on draft, I like to order "Knightro" beer, created to honor the nearby University of Central Florida.
An unusual decoration is the beer mugs hanging from above the bar area. If you join the Mug Club you will have your own mug and other benefits during the year.
Being next door to Rollins College it's a lively venue with mixed age groups.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Disappointed...was hoping for better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was really disappointed. Their beer is just average; nothing exceptional. The food was average. I ordered the BBQ chicken pizza - bland dough & tasted like Kraft bottled BBQ sauce. Another person in my group ordered the fish & chips - the fish tasted like it was cooked in oil that had been sitting around too longer. Our server was nice, but kind of ditzy. Kind of a bummer - we plan a lot of our vacations around brewpubs & this one did not live up to our expectations.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shipyard Emporium also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shipyard Emporium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.