We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orchid

Orchid
305 Park Avenue North, Winter Park, FL 32789
(407) 331-1400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 240 Restaurants in Winter Park
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Six of us recently had lunch here. The food and the service were both excellent. Not everyone was familiar with Thai food, but our server accurately described the dishes and patiently answered everyone's questions. We all enjoyed what we ordered. I had the Pad Thai with chicken -- addictively good! The decor is lovely, too. Lots and lots of live orchids gracing the restaurant. Their outdoor seating is pleasant, set slightly back from the busy sidewalk and street but still affords a great people-watching if you are into that. We wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL and Oberaudorf, DE
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yummy Pad Thai!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stopping for a quick lunch today, I found that my love affair with Thai food was only getting stronger, especially after having the Tofu Pad Thai! As a guest of ours was not a Thai food lover, she had the Orchid salad with chicken, and she loved it! I cannot explain how wonderful it is to enjoy their tofu, especially the way it is delicately prepared. It is by far my favorite Thai dish, and I think it is the very best here in this small Winter Park restaurant. I have also enjoyed sitting outside, especially when it is one of the special days in Winter Park, like the Halloween dress up day for pooches. Such fun, and every one of the dogs stops o see what you are eating. (Perhaps not the best for some folks, but I personally adore that special day here.) I have eaten here many times, and it has always been consistently good. It is fresh, flavorful, and simply the best in Thai food near or on the Avenue.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Go for the duck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The duck with the panang curry! This is the most tasty non-fatty flavorful duck I've ever had, don't be scared of the price because it's so unique and memorable. The mussles are also amazing and unique. Service is friendly and when they made a mistake about taking a phone reservation for a birthday they quickly fixed it by giving us an outside table and acknowledged the mistake. The owner lady also did a table visit to check on us. Service, food and prime real estate make it a good fit. They are also dog friendly outside seating, my dog loves to people watch!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This is a great restaurant on Park Avenue--located near the park with lots of shops on either side. Best Thai food we've ever had! Lots of vegan and gluten-free options, as long as you tell the server to ensure there's no fish sauce, etc. added to the dish. We especially love the Tofu Vegetables in Sauce and the Vegetable Drunken Noodles. Those two dishes are very good. We ordered the edamame appetizer once, and it wasn't good, but everything else we've tried has been delicious.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Soft Shelled Crab drunken noodles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Although the noodles could have used a bit more moisture they were tasty and made a nice lunch the next day. The crispy Duck salad was also good and the lime cilantro salad dressing a good marriage.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orchid also viewed

Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 
Winter Park, Central Florida
Winter Park, Central Florida
 

Been to Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.