We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is TERRIBLE! don't stay there even if its not expansive.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel to your Saves list
Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5651 Cypress Gardens Blvd, Winter Haven, FL 33884 (Formerly Park View Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Now & get 25% off!
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Winter Haven
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“This place is TERRIBLE! don't stay there even if its not expansive.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There was a rotten strawberry on the carpet.
Had to stay at least one night due to my arrival time.
The next day, the room was not even cleaned.
The event organizer that suggested to stay, apologized immensely for suggesting to stay there.
The place is a dump!
Spider in the shower with its web...
Old style TV's, loud truck running through the night in the parking lot,

Room Tip: just don't stay there, make your life easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    12
    12
    16
See reviews for
37
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a hotel that is well-valued but not fancy. Rooms were comfortable and spacious, bedding was excellent, but the general appearance is a bit dated. Hallway lighting is somewhat dim. Continental breakfast was generous with good variety. All in all, if expectations are appropriate at the outset, I don't think many will be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Was staying at the HI Express nearby which is a nicer property (and more expensive) but the WiFi there was unusable...very slow and kept dropping. It was not their problem,but their provider but I could not wait for them to fix it as I had business to transact on line. I checked in to the Magnuson after confirming their WiFi worked. This is an an older property and it shows. Lots of peeling paint and worn carpet. But it was clean and staff friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was just OK but can't complain for the price. They have a huge pool but we did not use it. This is a 2.5 star property at best but certainly worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Made a pre-paid reservation about a month ago. Checked in last night around 5:30pm with my wife and two young grandchildren (after spending all day at nearby LEGOLAND.) We were all tired and ready to wash up and relax before going out to dinner. Only 1 person was working at the reception, meaning that we had to wait 20 minutes before it was our turn at the desk. At that time our reservation was acknowledged, however, we were told that our room wasn't ready, and that I should check back in a half hour! I would not accept that as an option, and asked to speak to the manager... I was told that the manager was not in! I said that it was nearly 6pm, and check-in time was supposed to be 3pm, so give us another room. He claimed that the hotel was sold out, and that there were no other rooms available! I continued my argument, while keeping my 4 year old & 7 year old grandchildren quiet, and suddenly he found a room for us in his computer... Room 317! We quickly gathered our belongings and went to the room to let the kids was up for dinner, before we put them to bed for the night (it was an exhausting hot day at LEGOLAND.) We entered the room, and it felt like a sauna... The a/c was not on, and there was no ventilation. I quickly called the front desk to get a/c service, and was told that they had a mechanical problem or repair, and that the a/c should be working within 15 minutes. An hour went by, and we still didn't feel any a/c nor ventilation in the room. I then again appealed to the front desk for another room, where the a/c would be working, and was again told that the hotel was sold out, but the a/c repairs were completed, and that the room should be cooling off soon... We then took our grandchildren out for a quick dinner, came back an hour later, and still no a/c nor ventilation in the room. I told my wife to start packing while I go to the front desk to tell the clerk that we were leaving! He said that he fully understood... It was now 9pm, and we were out of there!

Room Tip: Travel a few extra miles, and go to a decent hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were told check in time was 3:00. We returned at 5:30. Still no room. The hotel was over booked, disorganized and out dated. When we finally were given a room there was no air conditioning. Imagine, south Florida without air conditioning. There was no light at the bathroom sink. The bathroom was in severe need of repair. Needless to say, we left after several hours of living in a sweat box. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy (if I had one). We were traveling with two young grandchildren which made it all the worse. It was, however, right near LEGOLAND but that was of no value since the room was inhabitable.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Thought it looked nice on the site. Has a beautiful lobby & good customer service but the room was 'sketchy' & just needs to be updated. On top of being older which is fine there was plenty of dust to go around and multiple cob webs. Only stayed because we needed to be nearby, probably would not come back again, however.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie N, Director of Sales at Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review of our Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel! We do strive to hear from our guests and wish to extend our gratitude for your input. For our shortcomings, we sincerely apologize. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work harder to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. Hope you give us another opportunity soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stayed here for 8 nights durinf a conference and while it definitely isn't somewhere I'd have chosen to stay if we made our own reservations it wasn't all bad. We were in the tower on the 5th floor in a "suite", though I'd hardly call a single queen size bed a suite. The recessed light in the entry had fallen out of the ceiling tile leaving about a 2" gap, the crown molding was coming from together, the tile in the bath seriously lacked workmanship, and the bathroom fan ran constantly. The AC had a real struggle to keep the room comfortable in the afternoons, I'd hate to see how it does during the July or August heat. The water pressure left alot to be desired as well.

All of the cleaning staff we encountered were very pleasant and went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed, we heard similar stories from others in our group as well. No complaints about the front desk staff either. The sheets and towels all appeared clean, no bugs seen, & no foul odors.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie N, Director of Sales at Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review of our Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel! As part of the new management that has recently taken over the resort, we appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and it appears in some respects we have failed to meet your expectations. For our shortcomings, we sincerely apologize. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work harder to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. Hope you give us another opportunity soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel

Address: 5651 Cypress Gardens Blvd, Winter Haven, FL 33884 (Formerly Park View Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Winter Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel,overlooking Legoland(R) Florida Theme Park offers every amenity to make both business and leisure travelers feel right at home. Guests will be close to a variety of local attractions including Legoland(R) Florida Theme Park, Lake Eloise, Historic Bok Sanctuary, Golf, Fishing, Polk Museum of Art and Fantasy of Flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Admirals Hotel
Best Western Winter Haven
Winter Haven Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.