We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Some Serious Updates!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Grand Cypress Hotel

Save Saved
You added Magnuson Grand Cypress Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Grand Cypress Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5651 Cypress Gardens Blvd, Winter Haven, FL 33884 (Formerly Park View Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
FALL BACK SPECIAL!!
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Winter Haven
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Needs Some Serious Updates!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We traveled here for a family weekend getaway. The hotel is in a good location, close to just about everything you could ask for, and it seemed to be in a safe area. My biggest issue is the place was very much on its last leg. This place needs some big time updates. Rooms stink, carpet is wore out, old TV's that hardly work, and bathrooms that look like they were pieced together by whatever part they could find. Not the worst, but far away from being an "average" hotel. I would recommend you stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: need a good tip?... stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We have been staying at this hotel 1 to 2 times a year for the past few years. Recently the name has changed and we found it to be not as good. It seems a little deteriorated and not as clean. Even though the bathroom was a decent size it had a shower stuffed in the corner with a pedestal sink in front of it. I dont recall our rooms in the past being this way so maybe some rooms are different than others. There was nowhere to store or hold toiletries. They cut some corners ...for example in the bathroom 2 of the 4 light bulbs were out and the Kleenex dispenser was empty. They used to have a breakfast but now its just a very small continental. The hot tub didn't work and the pool was dirty...the bottom covered in algae. I was disappointed and this will be are last stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location is great. Right by Legoland. If legoland had a back entrance to the water park it would be perfect but they don't so you still have to drive to get there. Outside of that.... This place was probably the cat's meow and the bees knees in the 70s. Now? When is the last time you saw a pool that is 12 feet deep at a hotel? It's huge but not kid friendly which is kind of what is needed right by legoland. The pool features tile falling off and mold growing on the tile that is left.

The room smelled moldy.
Beds old and terrible.
Carpet gross.
The toilet is public restroom style and ours leaked on the floor when you flushed it.
The shower sprayed water all over the bathroom over the top of the curtain.
The outlets are so old my ipad charger wouldn't stay plugged in because they are worn out
The hair dryer blew the circuits
The worst... the door handle didn't work right. We could barely get in the room and got stuck in the room at one point.
We got stuck in the elevator because the door didn't open (don't take the elevator)
The bathroom was redone by painting the tile and tub. where it was chipped I could see the original baby blue.
There is a hot tub but was disgusting doesn't begin to explain that thing.
The pool lights don't work so it's a 12 foot deep black hole at night.
Some of our towels were partially shredded.

Any name brand hotel, even the lowest of the low, will be 100 times nicer than this place. This is NOT a 3 star hotel. It is not a one star. It's a negative star health code violation that needs to be knocked down.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel would be a 2 star at best without the pool and the location. We were going to Legoland and it is less than 5 minutes from the hotel. They should offer a shuttle but they dont so we have to pay $14 a day to park because it was too hot to walk. The outdoor pool was huge and pretty clean. That is where the good ends. The bathroom was not clean. My son found a toaster strudel icing under our bed. I told him just not to look under there anymore. The beds seemed cleaned but who knows. The tv is about 30 years old and was fuzzy the whole time. The continental breakfast was pretty standard and they have a pool side bar and restaurant but it was not open when we were there. The hotel is under construction so I hope it gets better. Especially because Legoland is opening their own hotel next summer.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of Legoland
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie N, Director of Sales at Magnuson Grand Cypress Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review of our Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel As part of the new ownership / management staff that has recently taken over at the hotel, we appreciate all reviews; both good and bad. We are steady in making improvements and with comments such as yours, we will continue in our goal of making the Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel as grand and special as we feel it is to our guests. Cleanliness should never be an issue and we are addressing that immediately. Wishing for you to return and see for yourself! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel because we were going to Legoland and it was close and some reviews were pretty good. It is gross!!!! Everything seems old and dirty, the locks on the door are broken, the bathroom is so small you can barely shut the door, the rugs probably haven't been cleaned in forever. Need lots of work to fix this place up, would never ever come back here!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie N, Director of Sales at Magnuson Grand Cypress Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review of our Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel! As part of the new management that has recently taken over the resort, we appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and it appears we have failed to meet your expectations. For our shortcomings, we sincerely apologize. With comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work harder to improve and show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. Hope you give us another opportunity soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I purchased this stay at a discount at a great rate because it was the closest to Legoland,Fl and the accomodations were average. The first room we checked in the code keys did not work and the room had to be changed but the staff did fix the problem immediately. The rooms were small and needed to be updated and the breakfast needed to be improved. The only things offered were juices,cereals,fruit,and waffles. Overall not bad for the money spent. Wifi worked great.

Room Tip: The hotel has a strange parking lot but overall the rooms on the bottom floor were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie N, Director of Sales at Magnuson Grand Cypress Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review of the Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel. As part of the new management that has recently taken over the resort, we appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback. We like to hear from our valued clients to see how we can improve and appreciate all comments both good and bad. We are renovating the property and it should be ready soon. It is only with comments such as yours that we can continue to improve. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend and all I have to say is that this has been a horrible experience. The mildew in the shower is DISGUSTING, and it seems that the carpet in the room hasn't been cleaned in ages.

The hotel is currently being remodeled and I understand that they might be construction workers around during the day but from that to have a floor full of dust 24/7 and debris every where is simply NOT ACCEPTABLE.

Our kids wanted to go to the gameroom (The Kids Zone) and couldn't even be there for more than 5 minutes because of all the dust and debris.

Please DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie N, Director of Sales at Magnuson Grand Cypress Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review of our Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel! As part of the new management that has recently taken over the resort, we appreciate the time you took to let us know your feedback and it appears we have failed to meet your expectations. For our many shortcomings, we sincerely apologize. We are working diligently to improve the property and with comments and feedback from our valued guests, we will work even harder to show we can meet and exceed all of your expectations. Hope you give us another opportunity soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnuson Grand Cypress Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Grand Cypress Hotel

Address: 5651 Cypress Gardens Blvd, Winter Haven, FL 33884 (Formerly Park View Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Winter Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Grand Cypress Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnuson Grand Conference Hotel,overlooking Legoland(R) Florida Theme Park offers every amenity to make both business and leisure travelers feel right at home. Guests will be close to a variety of local attractions including Legoland(R) Florida Theme Park, Lake Eloise, Historic Bok Sanctuary, Golf, Fishing, Polk Museum of Art and Fantasy of Flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Magnuson Grand Cypress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Admirals Hotel
Best Western Winter Haven
Winter Haven Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Grand Cypress Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.