We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winter Haven

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Winter Haven to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winter Haven
200 Cypress Gardens Boulevard, Winter Haven, FL 33880   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good: Everything. The people were friendly and helpful. The hotel and rooms are clean and they get you anything you need. The breakfast buffet is not extravagant but is complete enough to get a good day’s start. Also, the price is great.

Bad: Nothing.

I would stay here again any day of the week.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fourth floor and faced the Hampton Inn which was fine. A garbage truck came in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    54
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
68
8
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We booked it as we were going to legoland. Wonderful check in, very kind lady, close to legoland. However we arrived tonight to find a hige group of men hanging in the entrance, pool and bar being VERY loud, smoking and drinking with cases of beers. I inquiered and the is some sort of tournament going on but we seem to be the only ones trying to sleep and who have children in the hotel. Would have NEVER come had i known this. The lady in the friont desk says there is nothing she can do, and she herself was covering her ears! Scary can't wait to leave tomorrow. Would have been great hotel if it did not feel like a college bar.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwillard, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winter Haven, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
I wish to thank you for your review of our hotel. I am so sorry you felt like it was a college bar. It is a tournament of senior softball and wounded vets. I am sure that after the end of the day they were relaxing after their games,in our lobby bar. I am so sorry you were unhappy and I hope you will come back another time and enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Positives: Very clean hotel. Quiet and modern rooms. Very friendly check in.
Negative: HUGE --housekeeping knocked on our door at 8 AM even though we had a do not disturb sign on the door. Woke up our 2 year old who had so much trouble falling asleep that night. Unforgiveable. What are they thinking? I called to complain and was told that I would get a call back from management but I never heard from them.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwillard, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winter Haven, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
First let me tell you thank you for your review. I am so sorry that every part of your stay was not above & beyond your expectations. It is not acceptable to have anyone knocking on your door with a DND on the door. I will be adressing that with my staff to make sure each & every employee knows our rules and best practices!!! I hope in the future you will give us the chance to make this right!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I booked this hotel because when I called I specifically asked two different people if the hotel was next to Legoland and was told YES. I was visiting family in FL, they live in Garden Grove in Winter Haven so this would be the closest hotel to their home. The hotel is actually located in downtown Winter Haven, they have a shuttle to Legoland! The hotel overall is okay, it's very clean and the staff were all very nice and friendly. Unfortunately something they clean the carpet with or deoderizer or something did not mix well with me so I ended up with a bad headache and allergy type congestion and stuffiness. The beds in my room - yes I tried both of them - were extremely uncomfortable, the sheets were a little rough for me and the air conditioner was so loud I couldn't hear the TV. The TV had a guide that showed what channels were there but nothing that told what was on the channels so this was bothersome. I was booked into the hotel for 4 nights but checked out after the first night. They were very nice and refunded my money because with the allergy type symptoms I was having I was very stuffy. Ten minutes after leaving and being outside and in my car, I could breathe normal again. I also think this hotel is overpriced but that is just my opinion!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwillard, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winter Haven, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
First I want to say thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. I am VERY sorry you were misinformed about our Location. I don't like to have any of our guest given false information. I am glad to know that my staff took such great care of you. It is a shame that your allergies flared up from our cleaning products. I really would like to know what I could do to make you a haapy guest. That is and always will be my goal to make my guest happy!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay very much! The staff is very experienced in the service they provide. Upon check in Veronica made us feel welcome and offered toprovide anything that we needed to make our stay comfortable. She is a sweet heart! Next stop was the cocktail bar for a drink before settling into our room for the evenening. Susan is a great lady!! She made us a couple of wonderful drinks and offered some friendly conversation. We will definately make a point to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited Legoland and I can sum up this hotel in a word: easy. The room was nice, w/ fridge and B+ furnishings. Bathroom C+. Comfortable beds; sometimes I take for granted bed size. These are queens, not double / full. But despite queen beds, the room had plenty of space. In the morning, we could grab breakfast quickly / easily and had a free, friendly shuttle to drop us off at Legoland (<5 min ride on new shuttle bus owned by Legoland w/ cold a/c and big comfy individual seats). Again, easy, easy.
> only 1 CON: FOOD at the onsite restaurant had huge range, from "B+" dinner (both the Quesadilla and the Shrimp Dinner) to "F" breakfast buffet (just awful, except for what we ended up taking "to go": coffee/tea, yogurt and packaged pastry / muffins). BUT it was a really slow time (<50% capacity) so maybe they were cutting costs and maybe breakfast is acceptable in peak summer.
>Also, hotel room cost was about $30-35 higher than I would have expected for comparable hotel (w/out regard to location). But, again, it is worth it if EASY is a priority (it was for us, w/ 2 well-loved, but high maintenance kids).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is neat and clean and fairly basic. The rooms should go for about $75 a night (at the most) but they charge double that because they are located just a few miles from Legoland. There are few hotel choices if you want to be next to Legoland and this Holiday Inn certainly takes advantage of that. They give out kids eat free at the hotel coupons. We had breakfast here the first morning and it was pretty bad so we didn't go back the next day. There are only 2 elevators and 1 was out of service during our entire stay so there was a long wait in the mornings. Staff was friendly and housekeeping did a very good job. This is a no-smoking hotel which is a big plus in my book.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winter Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winter Haven

Address: 200 Cypress Gardens Boulevard, Winter Haven, FL 33880
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Winter Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Winter Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Florida Hotel in Winter Haven, FL Welcomes You Whether you visit Winter Haven for business or just to get away, the Holiday Inn Winter Haven is designed to be your personal retreat. We're located between Orlando and Tampa, and we can meet you in the middle. You'll find the finest in upscale services at our hotel in Winter Haven. You'll have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Our hotel is near the Cypress Gardens Theme Park and popular area attractions. Our great location makes it easy to visit the Winter Haven Theater, Historic Bok Sanctuary, the Fantasy Flight Museum or the downtown antique district of Winter Haven. Lodging here is ideal for corporate guests. Our Winter Haven hotel's location is within 10 miles of State Farm, Polyglass USA and Packaging Corporation of America. Our 24-hour Business Center offers privacy, and there is free wireless Internet access in our guest rooms. Our Winter Haven hotel's upscale amenities let you maintain an exercise regimen in our sophisticated Fitness Center. You can take a dip in the pool or soak in the Florida sun. The Cafe Blu serves breakfast and nightly dinner specials, and we offer in-room dining for your convenience. Our hotel in Winter Haven is a Certified Member of My Florida Green Council, where, together, we can make a difference. At the Holiday Inn, you'll experience service provided by a caring staff. Relax, and enjoy our Winter Haven hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Winter Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winter Haven Hotel Winter Haven
Winter Haven Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winter Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.