We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not meant for the business traveler” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Hotel to your Saves list
Edgewater Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99 West Plant St, Winter Garden, FL 34787   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Winter Garden
Columbia, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not meant for the business traveler”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

Overall it seemed more run down than historic. The breakfast, included in the price, was delicious and a nice touch. But for the business traveler, there must be a more modern and comfortable place to stay in the Winter Garden area. I would not stay again.

  • Liked — location in historic Winter Garden
  • Disliked — it was sort of run down
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    96
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
60
154
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
columbus, ga
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

This was a great hotel! I loved everything about it... the location was amazing (food, farmer's market, shopping, antique shops, running trails, etc.)
The hotel was very unique and all the rooms were different and really comfortable. It felt like I was staying at my grandma's house.

  • Liked — Historic
  • Disliked — nothing... it was all great
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

I travel a lot for work (with a baby lately) and usually stay at hotels ranging from Hampton Inn type to Hyatt. This B&B was such a refreshingly charming place to stay! The staff was helpful, friendly, and accessible. The breakfast was delicious. The historic hotel is beautifully restored - the current owners and operators have done a wonderful job. The furnishings fit the era and historic restoration as well (my 10-month-old sat on President Lincoln's sofa)! Great internet access and even a place for my small business meeting. I will definitely stay here they next time I travel to the area.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

They took wonderful care of us. We were getting married across the street and they helped us out so much. They let us take over the place for wedding photos. The breakfast is great!

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

It was a lovely place, with customer service above and beyond what I have ever received elsewhere.

I arrived in the middle of a festival, and the streets were blocked off , so I couldn't get my car to the hotel parking lot. After parking a couple of blocks away, I walked to the hotel, and told them about my situation. The young lady who checked me in, actually walked to my car with me, directed me in the back way, and made sure a parking space was cleared for me in their parking lot.

I loved the antique furnishings of the room, and the breakfast was wonderful. (I'd planned on having a quick bite and then leaving, but the other guests were so interesting, that I sat there for over an hour).

I would have liked to have a coffee pot in the room, since I usually have my coffee as soon as my feet hit the floor. ( And a hairdryer and a clock would also have been nice.) However, it was a "step back in time" that I truly enjoyed.

  • Liked — see review
  • Disliked — see review
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

My husband had come upon the lovely little town of Winter Garden, Florida while riding his bike on the West Orange Trail. Later we went back for a day and decided we wanted to come back for an entire weekend.

He and I, along with our puppy Snowball, stayed at the Edgewater Hotel. This is a beautifully restored historic building - inside and out. Clearly the restoration is a labor of love for the owner. The rooms are clean and beautifully decorated. The second floor is decorated in a 1920's theme and the third floor (which opens in Dec) will be decorated, I understand, in a 1940's theme.

From our arrival until the moment we left, we received nothing but the best personalized service. The young people who live and run the bed and breakfast are extremely attentive and helpful - one even lent me her personal blow dryer for our entire trip. (It's a B&B really - so some usual hotel amenities, such as blow dryers, are not in the rooms). The breakfast each morning was delicious, and we spent most of the morning chatting with other guests who were also having an amazing experience.

Winter Garden itself is Main Street America at it's best - with music in every corner, art festivals, friendly merchants in off beat shops! For dog lovers - it's a dog friendly town - Snowball loved the long walks on the West Orange Trail and meeting other pooches in the town square.

If you're visiting the Orlando area, but want to get away from the "tourist" side in the evenings - book your stay at the Edgewater Hotel!

Donna Cutting
Author of "The Celebrity Experience: Insider Secrets to Delivering Red-Carpet Customer Service."

  • Liked — The amazing customer service
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

We just returned from a weekend at the Edgewater while in Winter Garden for a family wedding - and couldn't have found a more wonderful place to stay. We love finding historic B&Bs instead of chain hotels but normally pay extra for the experience as we need 2 rooms. This one, to our delight, was less expensive than a chain -even with 2 adjoining rooms to accomodate our family of 4. Breakfast was great - something for everyone's tastes - and provided a perfect way for the 14 family members staying there to meet in the mornings and eat together. Quiet, clean, with unobtrusive staff who were there quickly when you needed something. Nice, safe area with walking/running trails, shops, restaurants, etc. Not far from Disney if you're headed in that direction, although it feels far from the noise and craziness of Orlando. Easy to reach from the interstate and turnpike.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel

Address: 99 West Plant St, Winter Garden, FL 34787
Location: United States > Florida > Winter Garden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Winter Garden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Winter Garden
Edgewater Winter Garden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edgewater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.