We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the character and service at the Edgewater.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Hotel to your Saves list
Edgewater Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99 West Plant St, Winter Garden, FL 34787   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winter Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt Island, Florida
1 review
“Love the character and service at the Edgewater.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

This hotel has a very friendly and efficient staff who are also non-intrusive. Feels more like a bed and breakfast/homey than any chain hotel and the location couldn't be better for this area. It's in the quaint downtown area and the paved bike trail goes right past the front entrance.
Breakfast is cooked to order and served in a cozy dining area. Breakfast and wifi are both included in room rate.
Some of the rooms have more than one bed and some join to another room via a jack and jill type bathroom. Other rooms have a single bed and a bath with only one entrance. The decor and furnishings are interesting and it just has a nice feel. Somewhat of a European feel.
I've been here twice, once for pleasure (meeting a friend) and once for business. Both were nice and I would return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PTierney2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Thanx again for a wonderful escape... and on such last minute notice. Y'all rock!!! Our stop at The Edgewater was just what I needed to finish my vacation. I really like the garden in the carts... oh yeah... this 'posed to be a review... mmmmm... this is a beautiful historic lodging run by the nicest and attentive innkeepers I have ever known... and I've known many throughout the world... literally.... it is located in a downtown filled with things to see and do without an iota of the pressure or hubbub found throughout the city the mouse ate... from Thai to ribs... fine dining to craft beer... even live theatre.... all within a block radius...
Thank you Ladies....

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsalja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Friendly, clean and affordable place to stay with a good breakfast served when you want it!
A place which has character and is so better than the chain hotels which seem to dominate every town centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgsimpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Edgwater is just pure perfection, you are greeted with kindness and historic preservation at every turn, the front desk has all of it original elements, old register, original safe, key boxes. Then you are escorted to your lovely room steping off the original 1927 Otis elevator, walking the hall to your beautiful room with original windows, doors hardware and bathroom fixtures as well ! Everything is in place, it is just amazing! One truly feels privileged to be able to stay in a spot as original and historic as the Edgewater!!! To round out your stay there is an original two chair barber shop and two wonderfull resturants at the hotel as well. What a amazingly wonderful hotel, town and the folks in this town are all just marvelous. Ps the best BBQ we have ever had is just accross the street as well. Don't miss the opportunity to stay at this truly wonderfuly original spot, we can wait to return !!!! Step back in time you will gald you did !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 206Lory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great little town plenty of restaurants the orange blossom bike trail is right out the front door.And you will never find a better staff anywhere! This is the perfect little romantic getaway,or just a place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jupe-tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Winter Garden is a great little town to explore and the Edgewater Hotel adds to that adventure. The hotel is nicely redone keeping the historic appeal. Everything is clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and being a bed and breakfast now the morning breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The staff went to all lengths to address our needs and concerns. The central location in Winter Garden was perfect for our trip's purpose. The ice cream shop in the hotel afforded us the best vacation indulgence.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EppieStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Garden
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Orlando Ocoee
11.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Orlando West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clermont
8.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clermont
2.9 mi away
Sabal Hotel Orlando West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel

Address: 99 West Plant St, Winter Garden, FL 34787
Location: United States > Florida > Winter Garden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winter Garden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Winter Garden
Edgewater Winter Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing