We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Back Ininto Old Fashion Perfection !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Edgewater Hotel to your Saves list
Edgewater Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   99 West Plant St, Winter Garden, FL 34787   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winter Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Step Back Ininto Old Fashion Perfection !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Edgwater is just pure perfection, you are greeted with kindness and historic preservation at every turn, the front desk has all of it original elements, old register, original safe, key boxes. Then you are escorted to your lovely room steping off the original 1927 Otis elevator, walking the hall to your beautiful room with original windows, doors hardware and bathroom fixtures as well ! Everything is in place, it is just amazing! One truly feels privileged to be able to stay in a spot as original and historic as the Edgewater!!! To round out your stay there is an original two chair barber shop and two wonderfull resturants at the hotel as well. What a amazingly wonderful hotel, town and the folks in this town are all just marvelous. Ps the best BBQ we have ever had is just accross the street as well. Don't miss the opportunity to stay at this truly wonderfuly original spot, we can wait to return !!!! Step back in time you will gald you did !!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 206Lory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great little town plenty of restaurants the orange blossom bike trail is right out the front door.And you will never find a better staff anywhere! This is the perfect little romantic getaway,or just a place to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jupe-tc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Winter Garden is a great little town to explore and the Edgewater Hotel adds to that adventure. The hotel is nicely redone keeping the historic appeal. Everything is clean and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and being a bed and breakfast now the morning breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The staff went to all lengths to address our needs and concerns. The central location in Winter Garden was perfect for our trip's purpose. The ice cream shop in the hotel afforded us the best vacation indulgence.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EppieStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We loved every minute of our stay at Edgewater Hotel. The 'historic' reference applies: Antique furniture and other old stuff, early 20th century charm, clunky old elevator out of a 1930's horror movie, porcelain fixtures, creaky stairway, dim lighting, beautiful hardwood everywhere. The friendly staff stays out of your way unless you need them. The breakfast room is well-appointed and has any kind of breakfast you'd want and bottled water in the fridge, yours for the taking. There's that one-cup coffee machine thingy in addition to pre-brewed coffee in air pots. Outside, easy parking off-street, and a vibrant shopping block. We saw a lot of bikers on the promenade (bicycle not motorcycle), so there's a lot of action there, but no noise. Ask for room 212, which is a corner room that looks out onto the street. You'll be glad you stayed.

Room Tip: Above I clicked terrible for swimming pool and fitness center because there are none. I could have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We made a weekend trip to Winter Garden and loved every minute of our stay. The historic hotel felt like we were stepping back in time. There was a pianist playing when we arrived and sweet treats in the upstairs kitchen. I loved being able to walk around and look at all of the unoccupied rooms - felt like I was at home without having the upkeep! I always felt welcomed by the family/staff. Beds were comfortable & I was able to sink into a deep sleep. AC was a bit warm for my husband's preference. Family style breakfast was made to our specifications & each item was delicious! We enjoyed meeting new people over breakfast. The Edgewater was close to everything we wanted to do downtown. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep in complete darkness, bring a sleep mask. Hall lights come in above the doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powder Springs, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Edgewater. The staff was super. The restoral and furnishings of this hotel are terrific. The breakfast was delicious and served quickly. We enjoyed the suite with queen bed and the adjacent room with a full and twin size beds for our two grandchildren. We peaked in several of the rooms and they were all gorgeous. We all enjoyed the birds who greeted us in the sitting area. My husband has COPD and climbing the one flight of stairs was somewhat difficult for him, but the staff said they were always available to "man" the 1927 elevator.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandparent-06-2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Garden
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Hotel

Address: 99 West Plant St, Winter Garden, FL 34787
Location: United States > Florida > Winter Garden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Winter Garden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Edgewater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Winter Garden
Edgewater Winter Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing