We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting if you Like Trains...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Florida Railroad Museum

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Central Florida Railroad Museum
southeast corner of the intersection of South Boyd and Joiner Streets, Winter Garden, FL
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Gotha, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting if you Like Trains...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I'm not overly fond of trains, so I didn't enjoy the museum so much, but railroad enthusiasts will love it. It really has everything Central Florida train related, so if you like trains, you can spend hours in here. For me, it was dull, but my family enjoyed it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

If your a railway buff like me you will love this place, it's small with hundreds of exhibits crammed in to every nook & cranny.
Only open during certain hours of the day so check before you visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Very small but has lots of local railroad items of interest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I'm giving the Railroad Museum only a 3 because we were in and out in about 45 minutes. But if you do most of what we did it's worth a 5. Park for free in paved lot across the street. (Then walk to several other museums nearby without moving your vehicle.) If you like railroad 'stuff' then you should do fine in here. If you are into Winter Garden history then you will love it. They sell railroad magnets but don't have room for all their hoard - so ask and someone will bring the rest out. Downtown is just 1/2 block to the north so spend 2-3 hours here. Wife found and bought a nice hat. Other two museums are the Art Museum (next door to the south) and History Museum (1/2 block north on the main street. Look for the caboose). Several outdoor and indoor places to eat. About 1 mile due north on Main St is the city park on the lake. Paved walking trails and public rest rooms are there. Free parking and if you fish and have a license, go fish! AND FWIW the city has a scavanger hunt project. At any of 12 local businesses you get a 'passport.' Then follow clues to find something in or outside of each business. When you find it, open a box there and stamp your passport. This History Museum is one of the places so get your passport here and go exploring. And if you miss your bike back home, there are several places to rent one - or several - for a few hours. LOTs of people riding bikes in the area and having fun. Dogs welcome downtown if you clean up the mess. Dogs and smoking allowed in the outdoor eating areas. Winter Garden is a nice little place to visit. About a 45 minute drive north of Disney part of Orlando. (Several other small towns have 'Winter' in their names. Go to the correct one!!!)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lots of train things but no train outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We enjoyed the small train set they had for children to play with. It's never fun to keep telling your kid "don't touch that, don't lean on the glass". The morse code machine was really a nice touch. The gentleman that was there that afternoon wasn't in a good humor, or didn't like people, or something. Upon our arrival he didn't greet us and was rather agitated when we asked for clarification on the price of a souvenir my son wanted to buy. I would go back just to play with the morse code again.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Florida Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to Central Florida Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Florida Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.