We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canoe Outpost - An Undiscovered Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River

Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River
18001 U.S. Hwy 301 S., Wimauma, FL 33598
(813) 634-2228
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Attractions in Wimauma
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Wimauma, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Canoe Outpost - An Undiscovered Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Canoe Outpost is truly an undiscovered gem of Hillsborough County. Located on the Little Manatee, Canoe Outpost rents canoes and kayaks for excursions downriver to a pickup point. The route takes you past and through Manatee River State Park. There are places to stop and view wildlife, fish, picnic or swim along the way. At the end of your paddle, signs direct you to a pick up point where the staff loads up your canoe or kayak and drives you back to the Outpost. A great, relaxing way to spend part or all of a day. The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. They also offer launching and/or pickup services for your own kayak or canoe. Great family fun! We have been there several times over the past few years.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are glad you have discovered the Little Manatee River. Thanks for your visits and your nice comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

It was our first family canoe trip. The operator was very nice, gave us tips, and instructions to help us out. The water was higher than normal, and the current was swifter than normal also, so that made for an exciting trip. We didnt tip over, and stayed dry, except for the rain shower that came up. We had fun, and would definitely go again. Awesome trip!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Canoe Outpost Little Manatee River for your family's first canoe trip. The higher water levels of the summer rainy season can provide extra excitement and some challenges. Since your family is now officially a paddling family, we hope you will visit us again soon. Perhaps to try the lower water levels of fall and spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great old Florida river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We checked this place out based on reviews. The river is quiet and calm, a great float trip. We saw tons of turtles and two gators. The staff was friendly and very helpful providing maps and instructions.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for visiting. We are glad you enjoyed your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Due to weather being colder than expected, we decided to find something different to do. We hooked up with the Canoe Outpost through some friends and we are glad we did. The owners are the nicest people and the trip was so relaxing and beautiful. This is not a difficult canoe/kayak trip. But, it is relaxing, pretty and fun. I would highly recommend this as a way to escape the hustle and bustle of the beach areas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thanks for paddling with us and posting your nice review. We appreciate visitors to Florida who can enjoy a day on the river even if it is not 80 degrees all the time. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Going With The Flow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The People Are So Nice! Great Equipment And Paddling Down The River Was So Fun! Very Relaxing. Great Sights Birds Turtles And A Big Alligator, Even A Small Manatee! Yeah!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian R, Owner at Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your day on the river.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River also viewed

Been to Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoe Outpost - Little Manatee River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.