We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the holiday i hoped” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Cabanas Guesthouse & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Cabanas Guesthouse & Spa to your Saves list
The Cabanas Guesthouse & Spa
2.5 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   2209 NE 26th St, (ex. The Cabanas at Wilton Manors), Wilton Manors, FL 33305   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“not the holiday i hoped”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

Ever checked into a property and immediately had the feeling you booked the wrong place? That is what happened here. The welcome was unfriendly and the room less than modern. The bed was poor - mattress sagging, torn bedspread & holes in the blanket.

Note - this guesthouse is on the MAIN road and I could hear the traffic from my room (ie NO sleeping in) also the pool backs onto the road, not ideal for relaxing while on holiday while listening to trucks going up and down.

I checked out early and the hotel staff didn't even ask why I was leaving.. shame!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    36
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
127
70
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
adctraveler1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

The Cabanas offers a a very friendly and welcoming environment. The grounds are extremely well maintained, and the owners clearly are paying attention to every detail. Staff are constantly busy keeping everything neat and tidy. The compound grounds offer a calm environment to relax and then easy access to the Wilton Manors nightlife. You will feel well taken care of here.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC metro
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

Mr. Roarke and Tattoo were great and I had most of my fantasies fulfilled. The grounds are beautiful and secluded but close to a main road. Kayaking through the channels was an unexpected delight. Kudos to The Cabanas for a well managed and conscientious gay resort. If you don't need towels and soap in the shape of flamingos, this is the place to go.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

On our 8th trip to Fort Lauderdale in 10 years - this was the first time we stayed away from the FTL Beach area where most of the guest houses are.

PLEASANT SUPRISE.

Nice cabanas (cabins) with full kitchens. Very nice pools (one secluded and not heated - one bigger pool, heated but along the main road). 10 Man Hot Tub right on an intercoastal river.
Rocking chairs on a deck over the water. Beautiful tropical plantings.

This is the right place to stay at this time.

There are FOUR major highrise resorts under construction between the guest houses on the beach. The entire strip of funky old businesses, stores and quick food that were very VERY welcoming to the gay community have be wiped off the face of the earth and replaced by empty store fronts. So staying at the beach right now may be a bit lonely - and quite a walk to buy even the simplest supplies... I do not recommend staying iin the beach guest houses until life along that stretch has come back once the W, Trump Tower and Hilton fully open in late 2009

With free secure parking renting a car makes sense if you stay at The Cabanas. This location is right down the street from all the action on Wilton Drive (BILL's has taken over as the Sunday afternoon hotspot.) Going the other way you are five minutes from the legendary (and very gay friendly) Mai Kai restaurant, and then only 10 minutes from the gay beach when you are ready to explore that scene.

The manager is very nice and the 24 Hours pool is an extra few steps away from the rooms so noise is never a problem.

  • Liked — Location - close to all the gay nightlife and dining and the beach - and on a river.
  • Disliked — Liked it all but there is traffic noise by the heated pool during the day.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2007

The first thing that strikes you about Fort Lauderdale is the sheer size of it. You definately needed a car to get around. The Cabanas is a well maintained, very friendly, clean, tidy and private guesthouse with about 18 separate cabana style bungalows all set in leafy surroundings. Nice pool with separate jacuzzi and steam room and the rooms themselves had all the usual amenities to ensure a pleasant stay. Would recommend to any discering gay traveller.

  • Liked — The private surroundings
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

To begin, let me say that I would not hesitate to stay at the Cabanas again. I had a thoroughly relaxing time. The staff is friendly and helpful. The location is very convenient and picturesque -- at least on the canal side. BUT there are factors that might discourage some travelers: First, while the rooms are large and clean, they are furnished with an eclectic mix of hard-worn pieces that are shabbier than they are chic. But the bed was firm and the bed linens very satisfying to sleep in, and I didn't spend alot of time in the room otherwise. Second, the complimentary continental breakfast and happy hour are so cheap as to be almost silly. Pre-packaged ("Otis Spunkmeyer") baked goods in the morning just don't make it; for the price of the room, it's not too much to expect something fresh from a local bakery. But the coffee was good, and yogurt and cereal were also offered. Likewise, the happy hour is sadly set: boxed wines and a few cans of domestic beer. There are good wines available at very reasonable prices, and that alone would have gone a long way to show guests that they are truly appreciated. The evening snacks (packages of peanut butter crackers and individual bags of chips) are embarassing. Again, how hard would it be to offer something with a bit of style - like a block of cheese? Finally, the road noise is rather distressing. The full plantings mask it, but the heated pool is directly beside a heavily traveled road and very close to a busy intersection. I got the feeling that the music was provided to try to cover for the traffic noise, which meant that the music itself was often way too loud. Still, I was able to relax and enjoy the sun. The staff fulfilled any request I made. I'd go back, but hopefully I'd find that a few tweaks had made this good guesthouse so much better.

  • Liked — friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — breakfast and happy hours -- complimentary, but CHEAP
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

I just stayed at the Cabanas this past weekend for three nights. Overall, the establishment was clean, well-managed, and staff offerred great service.

I booked literally the day before my trip and I luckily got a Queen size room that was partitioned off of the grand suite (*This is not one of the Queen size rooms as advertised; this is the second room of the grand suite). It gave me more privacy and it was located on the second floor. Unfortunately, since it wasn't the main Queen room and it was partitioned off, my door did not face the gated property. That was ok though.

Wireless internet was superb. I had my laptop and used it without experiencing any problems.

The clientele at the property were quite diverse amongst gay men (foreigners, bears, young, older, athletic, etc.) I met a few young men from the United Kingdom. Very friendly.

My room was always clean. The property was always clean during my stay. Note though that the office/food area is only open until 7:30pm.

Service exceeded my expectations. I needed to borrow a bicycle in the early morning and they accommodated my request accordingly.

Though parking may be tight, I didn't find it an issue during my stay especially this past weekend when the Cabanas were full. I'm not 100% sure but I think there is at least a parking spot per room.

I did not eat breakfast at the establishment only because I had to meet friends at other restaurants in the Ft. Lauderdale area during the morning. From what I saw though, there is food in the food area all the time (fruit, chips, water). There is also one computer guests may use -- however I do not recall seeing a printer.

The kayaks are a plus and the free use of their bicycles is a definite perk. Without a doubt, I wouldn't mind staying here again in the future.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Bicycles, Kayak, LOCATION
  • Disliked — Office early closing
  • Tips/Secrets — The rooms overlooking the canal are nice...
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cabanas Guesthouse & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cabanas Guesthouse & Spa

Address: 2209 NE 26th St, (ex. The Cabanas at Wilton Manors), Wilton Manors, FL 33305
Location: United States > Florida > Wilton Manors
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Wilton Manors
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cabanas Guesthouse & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cabanas Guesthouse & Spa is located in Wilton Manors, the heart of Gay Fort Lauderdale. Our tropical waterfront oasis is closest to nightlife,dinning and shopping. We are a clothing optional, all male gay Resort with a full service men's day spa. Our property has two pools, steam room, 8 man jacuzzi, Kayaking and bikes for our guest. We also provide free WiFi, full continental breakfast and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cabanas Guesthouse & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cabanas Guesthouse Hotel Wilton Manors
The Cabanas Guesthouse And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cabanas Guesthouse & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.