We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was excellent, but the wait was a killer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galanga Thai Kitchen & Sushi

Galanga Thai Kitchen & Sushi
2389 Wilton Dr, Wilton Manors, FL 33305
(954) 202-0000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 71 Restaurants in Wilton Manors
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Easton, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“The food was excellent, but the wait was a killer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

It's always hard for me to review restaurants and criticize their poor service. After all, perhaps their chef was sick that day and they were struggling? My review might not be representative of a typical experience at this restaurant. However, it also might well be, so take from it what you will.

I went to Galanga Thai on a Sunday night. We ordered our food (takeout) at 6:30, and were told that it would be ready at 7:00. We got there at 7:00, but by 7:30, unfortunately, we were still waiting. A look around the restaurant showed that almost no one waiting there had food either. Several patrons came up to the hostess to complain. Both employees we interacted with seemed very harried and I was very glad that I wasn't actually eating on the premises that night: at least when I got my food, I could drive home.

But, on the other hand, the food was terrific. Amazing massaman curry. Panang very good too. Delicious satay. Awesome noodle dishes. I really, really liked their food. If they hadnt made me wait an hour for it while avoiding eye contact, they probably would have gotten five from me. As it stands, they get three.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    41
    30
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Nice place, would come again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Had dinner with a large group of friends. Their private room is not that big and would comfortable hold 12 people, we were a few more and it was tight. However, the service was GREAT, the food was good and we would definitely come back again. The only thing I didn't like about their private room was it's in the back of the restaurant, you have to walk past the kitchen to get there and it was very hot. There's absolutely no room to mingle, so you can't walk around, you can only sit and eat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We thought it would be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We got a groupon for dinner here. $20 for $40 worth of food. The food was just run of the mill for the price. I had drunken noodles and the person who went with me had seafood pad Thai. We've both had better door at tee-jay Thai and sushi in Wilton Manors. Even Pei Wei's pad Thai is better. At the end of the meal with a total cost of $55 we were unsatisfied. We probably won't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good late night spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Really nice ambiance and very nice food. Plenty of room if you get there before 7:30/8:00, after that there is usually a wait for a table.
Service is good, but can be distracted. Sushi is lovely , well prepared, fresh and beautifully presented.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I live just a few miles from Galanga but had traditionally avoided it due to the (negative) posted reviews. A deals-website offered a special price, so we figured we'd give it a try. The menu is comprehensive, with a combination of Thai and sushi - We chose to order some of each. The pad thai was very good, as was the sushi roll. With so many complaints about "high" prices, I'd have to say that I found their prices pretty representative of most sushi places in South Florida (our pre-discounted price for two people was just under $50). I would agree with many reviewers that the exterior of the restaurant leaves a lot to be desired, but the interior is attractive. Our server was attentive and friendly. Overall, it was a positive experience and I'd anticipate returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galanga Thai Kitchen & Sushi also viewed

 
Wilton Manors, FL
Wilton Manors, FL
 

Been to Galanga Thai Kitchen & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galanga Thai Kitchen & Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.