We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True southern good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotillion Southern Cafe

Cotillion Southern Cafe
101 N Main St, Wildwood, FL 34785-4048
352-748-1223
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Reservations
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“True southern good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

This place makes food like a true southern grandma. The fried green tomatoes take me back to my youth with grandma and granny. The desserts are to die for. I had the strawberry cream cake. The atmosphere is nostalgic

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    20
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Went for lunch about a week ago with a friend. Had the Train Wreck & chicken salad on croissant, they were both wonderful. Seating arrangement is so much better, new seats are very nice. Our waitress was very good, outstanding meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

What a gem Cotillion is! I've enjoyed dinner at this spot many times but had the pleasure of dining in for lunch today. I was there alone and needed to get work done; was seated in a quiet corner, which I appreciated. Joey and Angela both waited on me and were a truly outstanding team. Joey helped me get connected online, was personable and well-mannered, and made some stellar recommendations about the lunch menu. Equally impressive was my food: The turkey bacon cranberry is a truly savory sandwich, like the best of Thanksgiving dinner piled on a croissant with cream cheese for the spread. Wow. Hot sweet potato fries were my side, and I never go there without bringing home at least one big piece of salted caramel chocolate cake. Angela thoughtfully boxed up my desserts right away to be sure I got my first choices. I ordered dinner to go, too, and the timing was excellent as Joey brought it out just as lunch was finished. Since I work from home, this was a rare lunch out for me and a perfectly lovely meal in a comfortable, darling setting with ultra hospitable staff.

I tell everyone I know about this place, but usually they've already discovered it, and then we have to go on and on about the cakes and how lucky we are to have a gourmet Southern cafe. Thanks, Kathi and Joel.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I was concerned when we showed up because we were the only ones there at 6pm. The decor is very chic Victorian but clean and not too much. Lots of options. I got the "Train Wreck" and it was AMAZING. A little pricey but worth it. The food came out very quick. We were in and out in 30 minutes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“True Southern Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My friend and I arrived for an early evening reservation to this quaint, charming location. Our server was pleasant and attentive. I was drawn to ordering the Seafood platter because of the southern flair. It was served with a fried green tomato, cheese grits and coleslaw. I ordered it blackened and the catfish was the best I ever had. The shrimp and crab cake were delicious too!
My friend has the crab cakes and she was delighted too!

This was a true Southern gem!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotillion Southern Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cotillion Southern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotillion Southern Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.