We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One-of-a-Kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotillion Southern Cafe

Cotillion Southern Cafe
101 N Main St, Wildwood, FL 34785-4048
352-748-1223
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Wildwood
Price range: $9 - $24
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Dessert
Summerfield, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One-of-a-Kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We thought we would just be getting an old-fashion down home meal here. It was much more than we expected. It really transports you back in time with their quaint and eclectic decorations. If you are trying to save on calories this is not the place for you. The owner even came out and talked to us for a while, explaining how she had decided to run a restaurant after cooking such great food for many years. My husband really loved the cheese grits that had literally been cooked for hours and served in an ice cream dish. beautiful! We have eaten here several times and never been disappointed. Expect a little wait but it is worth it. Sit back, relax and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    17
    2
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
buffalo ny
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have been to The Cotillion several times and have never been disappointed. the Georgia Ice Cream was delicious - and that's from a northern gal who doesn't do grits. Be sure to save room for the unbelievable cakes that are beautifully displayed for dessert. No alcohol is served but you can byob and pay a corking fee. Decor is southern charm and cozy. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great home-cooked food and plenty of it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Every time I have eaten here (many), the food and beverages are perfect. The seating is limited due to the size of the restaurant, so make reservations if possible. The iced tea is made fresh daily. The menu is ample with a great deal of variety--mostly southern and country. The portions are large enough to take home half for another meal, so even though it may seem a lit pricey, it really isn't when you get 2 meals out of it. The owners and waitresses are warm and caring. The cake slices are HUGE--share them.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Cotillion - A hiden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Want a new eclectic experience? Try the Cotillion Southern Café! When you walk inside, you are transformed back to 1860. The meals are flavorful Southern comfort food. The staff friendly and courteous. The deserts or large and bountiful. The décor is great with many antiques and photos. As the old saying goes "try it, you'll like it"

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Went about a week ago with friends from work. We all mostly had salads, which were delightlful. I did call ahead earlier in the day to make reservations since we would be on our lunch time & needed to get back with in the hour. Our waitress was absolutely wonderful. She made sure we got out of there in time to go back to work, even had dessert ready for us to take back to work to sample later. The cakes are absolutely amazing & the lunch menu was outstanding. I did not have as great an experience earlier in the year for dinner, even with reservations. This lunch experience has made me want to re-think coming back for dinner eventually. The tables are still crowded & they are definitely under-staffed for an obviously busy lunch time, but I must say this was a much better experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotillion Southern Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cotillion Southern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotillion Southern Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.