We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience in the rain forest of Dominica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crescent Moon Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Paul Parish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crescent Moon Cabins
Save
You added Crescent Moon Cabins to your Saves list
P.O. Box 2400 | River La Croix, Dominica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
1 review
“An amazing experience in the rain forest of Dominica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

First, thanks to crescent moon for providing the venue for our amazing vacation, we had an awesome time. Tiana, Jean, Ron , and David were extremely professional and courteous and made us feel like part of the family. Ron is an excellent cook (chef) and the food was incredible every morning and evening. Tiana helped set us up with transport and guides (mostly David who is a great driver and guide) prior to our arrival which made our trip run extremely smooth. The location could not have been nicer with rain forest and ocean views (and sunsets) from our balcony. We loved our time at crescent moon, thanks again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
73
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

As a birder and nature lover, and solo older traveler, I am always seeking the perfect place to get away from it all. I found it at Crescent Moon. I stayed five nights with only the company of the owners Ron, Jean, and Tiana, their two dogs and two cats, and plenty of birds and frogs. There are four simple but comfortable wood cabins with wonderful views from the forested hillside to the Caribbean. Birds were all around, including three of the four hummingbird species found on the island. The gardens are lush and tropical, designed and tended by Tiana. There is no traffic noise, no television, and no phone for general use. There is great free WiFi, so I could use my iPhone every day. They also offer free Internet. I did not use the pool.
Tiana arranged two day trips for me, under the expert care of their driver David, who is her husband: one to Papillote gardens, and Trafalgar Falls (alas, it was a day where tourists from a cruise ship packed the trail). On the second trip I spent the better part of a day with Bertrand Jno. Baptiste, Dominica's resident bird expert. He enabled me to hear and see many species, including the Imperial Parrot, a stunning bird and one of the world's rarest. Otherwise, I encountered no tourists during my six days on the island.
I will second what others have said about Ron's culinary skills and the tasty meals served on the covered terrace overlooking the valley. They acquire locally raised meats, and all vegetables are grown by Jean in their greenhouse, and cheese from their own goats is creatively used by Ron in many meals.
For me this was a little piece of paradise. However, the location is remote, and there is nothing for "normal" tourists to do here. Also, nature creates its own symphony at night, with a loud chorus of grasshoppers and frogs, which I found both stimulating and relaxing, but which some may find annoying. Goats begin to speak at dawn, so rise and shine! One last comment: the air approach to Melville Hall airport is the most spectacular I've experienced (including travels in the Andes). The American Airlines ATR descends through a cut in the mountains, and green walls surround you as the pilot banks to land at sea level. A little scary, but memorable!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Crescent Moon Cabins in November 2010 and are planning on returning, as soon as we can. This place is special: the location is marvelous, the cabins are simple but all you can want, the food is extraordinary and the people (Ron, Tiana, Jean and David) are the kind of people you are lucky to meet, and from whom, quite frankly, we can all learn something. If you are looking for a suburban, North American, typical hotel experience, don't come here. It is different. Wonderfully different. Simple, grounding and life enhancing. We spent 2 days hiking with David (including one of the most difficult hikes we have ever done), and 1 day with him travelling along the coast, with lots of snorkeling and swimming. 4 days of eating Ron's amazing food. And 4 days getting to know the other 3 couples (all Europeans) staying at the Inn. Time in the hammock, thinking about life, and letting the stress melt away. It was marvelous. We are a couple of 50 something Canadians -- you don't need to be a backpacker to love this place -- and we will be back. Promise.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

Read the reviews. The best food on the island without a doubt, constantly surprises and delights. Ron doesn't have off days with his food. Every morning Tiana ensures each guest's plans for the day are sorted. She advises on itineraries, arranges guides, packs lunches, until all needs are met. I drove all over the island, but you do need to be careful on many roads. Still I am glad we had the benefit of our guide David, endlessly patient, safety conscious and flexible to changing needs.

I've trekked all over the world on my own. This was perfect for trekking with my 13 year old, a Pirates of the Caribbean fan. We spent the entire week with a great family from LA. For the Boiling Lake trek-arduous but worth every moment - guests from all 4 cabins teamed up. Don't miss the bathe in hot pools, the layou gorge swim. Get David to guide you, snorkelling to the hot spring at Champage beach. A week wasn't long enough for us.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

The Crescent Moon certainly exceeded our expectations in every area!! After an adventureous drive with a four wheel drive vehicle, thanks to the resommendations of our hosts, we walked into what can only be described as a truly tropical paradise with gourmet food. The flight and drive into the valley were worth it just for Ron's cooking. Every meal was definitely a unique experience that left us anxiously anticipating the next. The entire family made this experience both personal and educational. We were so amazed that we must have asked a hundred questions which were all graciously received but a special thanks should go to Tiana who went above and beyond. Ron and Jean were so friendly welcoming. This family has acrued a wealth of knowledge which they were happy to share with their visitors. We came away feeling very lucky to have found the Crescent Moon and would highly recommend it. We are already looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed at Crescent Moon for 4 of our 5 day trip to Dominica and must admit this place is not comparable to anywhere we've ever stayed in during our many travels. We were greeted warmly by Jean on our arrival and at dinner, met Tiana, Ron and a lovely American couple, not to forget the adorable pets, as the rainforest chicken cooed away at a distance. We were addicted to their rum punch which was so different to those we'd tried elsewhere in the Caribbean. Ron's soups, breakfast omelet, pork tenderloin and rum & raisin icecream were divine. Before Dominica, we had been to St. Vincent and were surprised that the latter doesn't do any fresh fruit juices AT ALL, anywhere in the island and fresh veg is hard to come by as well. In contrast, we were relieved to get our 5 a day at Crescent Moon. Dinner is slightly pricey at US$43 per person, but Ron's cooking did do justice to the price. Also, as we wake up quite early, by breakfast time (8:30am) we were usually starving but again it was always well worth the wait. They do packed brakfasts too in case you need to leave early, but we didn't want to miss out on the hot food. Don't bother with carrying bottled water as they provide spring water straight from the spring. I once got very sick on my way back from a hike down to Massacre - normally a 4 hour roundtrip from the cabins (we were foolish enough to walk back and forth in the sun to and from Rosseau!) - and asked for some herbal tea. By the time I finished Ron's tea, I was feeling fresh as ever.

Our room was basic but clean (serviced every 3rd day), and the toilet could do with some bleach (not sure if you're allowed that luxury in an eco lodge though) but as we relaxed in the hammock in the morning or after a tired day, we instantly tuned in to the surrounding rainforest and its many birds and animals. Do pack in warm pyjamas though, as it does tend to get a bit chilly at night.

We didn't hire a car, having assessed the roads on our way from the airport and never missed it as we had David, Tiana's husband, drive us around to all the relevant places. In fact David will firmly remain a part of our lovely memories of Dominica as he encompasses the friendly and kind Dominican spirit at its best. Tiana was just as lovely and delightful to know, and helped us in planning our days out with David.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We arrived at Crescent Moon in a driving rain storm (it IS in a rainforest) over the famous bumpy road to be greeted by the charming owners, their various dogs and cats, wonderful smells of food, and a deafening chorus of tree frogs. This is life in the rainforest at its best. We woke up the next morning, and many subsequent mornings, surrounded by a sun-sparkled jungle of tropical flowers and hummingbirds, distant views of the blue Caribbean, fresh juices, home-roasted coffee, and a flower on every plate. These are just a few of the wonders to be had here, as mentioned in other reviews. Ron is a master of the kitchen, and his daughter Tiana mistress of the greenhouse where she grows most of their vegetables. Everything is fresh, homemade, and delicious right down to the goat's-milk ice cream. (The resident goats are fun, too) Yes the accommodations are a bit rustic, the shower something of a challenge, but we slept just fine. You are rewarded by nights completely unbroken by any sound of cars, and a sky full of stars. We relied on Tiana's husband David to drive us around rather than renting a car, and it worked out well. David is a Dominican, a towering Rasta with a quiet, thoughtful manner, a wealth of information on the rainforest, and a master of the Dominican roads. We did whale watching, snorkeling at Champagne Reef, touring local markets, and several rainforest hikes. Tiana does a great job as the activity organizer for your days. This is the place for you if you love nature, good food, friendly and interesting people, and want to learn about a well-organized, self-sustaining way of life, the rainforest itself, and the Dominican culture, all the while living in comfort in the middle of nowhere. The only downside, beside the roads, is the time it takes to get to the things you want to do, so allow yourself enough time, and be aware that with 300 inches of rain a year, you just might hit a rainy day or two. Other parts of Dominica are much drier and closer to water activities, if that is more your interest.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crescent Moon Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Moon Cabins

Address: P.O. Box 2400 | River La Croix, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint Paul Parish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Saint Paul Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience romantic rainforest cabins perched at a cool elevation with dramatic views of the Caribbean Sea from your hammock. Crescent Moon is known for delectable, organically homegrown meals inspired from the onsite greenhouse and prepared with world food, slow food values. Coffee and cocoa are home roasted, bread baked daily, and fresh eggs collected each morning. The self guided farm walks in the valley are a gentle, natural immersion for families and birdwatchers. For those seeking hiking adventures the cabins are within walking distance to the Middleham Falls trail head and Segment 4 of the Waitikubuli National Trail. The Morne Trios Pitons and Segment 5 trails are just a short drive from the cabins. David, our onsite certified local tour guide, is also available for Boiling Lake treks and excursion tour packages. Situated at the end of a peaceful mountain valley road, Crescent Moon Cabins is the perfect retreat for sunsets, moonsets, and star laden skies. Each of the four cabins has a full sized bed plus one or two single beds, a private bathroom with hot shower, and large enclosed verandah. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crescent Moon Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.