We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and worth the drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Bridge

Devil's Bridge
Near north east shore, Antigua
Improve this listing
Visit Devil's Bridge like an insider
Top Rated
$149*
and up
Island Safari 4x4 Discovery Tour from St John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Walking, Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Limestone arches formed by seawater erosion, this natural landmark is rumored to have been the site of mass suicides of slaves during slavery times.
bethesda, md
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and worth the drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Yes, the road out to Devil's bridge from the main road isn't great, but it is so worth going there. The views are stunning and the water is rough and due to that fact has created a rock formation of "bridge". Don't try to walk on the bridge - but walk around it and take in the scenery. We spent the earlier part of the day at Long Bay, which is beautiful. The beach featured water that is multiple shades of blue, good snorkeling and no wind or waves. A few miles away at Devil's Bridge the wind was going hard and we had trouble opening up the car door. The water, scenery and climate was such a contrast which enhanced our interest.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    101
    35
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazingly beautiful! Mother Nature at her finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We did an excursion to the Devil's Bridge during our stay at Sandals Grande Antigua. This was definitely the highlight of our day, if not our whole trip! The power of Mother Nature and the ocean reminds us how small we are in the big scheme of things. We easily could have spent many hours just watching the waves crash on the coastline, and splash up and over the Bridge. We would strongly encourage everyone to make this a MUST-SEE on their visit to Antigua!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Terrible road, but worth the drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Took about 30 mins to arrive from cruise ship via cab; got to see all kinds of interesting stuff on the way, courtesy of a very knowledgeable driver.

Last mile or two is on a cobble-stone road that's in pretty bad shape, which 1) keeps traffic slower, and 2) retains the natural setting of the area.

Very cool thing to see, and we were there when it was 'calm'; we got to stand relatively close to the bridge to watch the waves crash in, but they said a month earlier you'd get wet standing 50 feet away!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Bring your kidney belt to visit here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

The attraction itself is impressive with the cliffs and wave action and blow hole effect. A great photo adventure if conditions are right. The ride to get here is another story. Lets just say Bad. A couple local ladies are selling items, a cooler of local beer and soft drinks were available the day we went.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorel-tracy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“well worth the detour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We took a day trip excursion around the island of Antigua and stopped at Devil's Bridge where many slaves ended their miserable lives by jumping into the rocky see. The place is amazing. no restaurants of shop, just nature. A paradise for photographs. The stop was too short. If you go there by yourself, I would suggest to bring a picnic and enjoy the views on the ocean.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Bridge also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Devil's Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.