We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Devil's Bridge

Devil's Bridge
Near north east shore, Antigua
Improve this listing
Visit Devil's Bridge like an insider
Top Rated
$149*
and up
Island Safari 4x4 Discovery Tour from St John's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Walking, Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Limestone arches formed by seawater erosion, this natural landmark is rumored to have been the site of mass suicides of slaves during slavery times.
Regensburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bizarre!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Devils Bridge is a very interesting spot. Its hard to find and you have to drive very slow because of the potholes, but its worth. Bring your drinks and food because there´s nothing but nature. When the sea is rough its the best! And if the weather is clear you can see Guadeloupe in the south! Its quite windy so check your clothes!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    100
    35
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best as part of another tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Quite a sight to see! Since we were so close (Verandah Resort & Spa) to this beautiful natural formation, it was a no-brainer to go and check it out. The resort actually has an organized time every week where all interested guests can go and check it out together.

Not much else there but huge waves crashing on the rocky coastline. It was pretty impressive when we went since it was a really windy day and the Atlantic was quite rough. The wave would crash quite high in the air.

The actual Devil's Bridge rock formation was neat to see as well. The guide from our resort didn't have much to say about the site but other guides explained the history of what would happen there. You could visit this site by yourself but, if you like the story to go along with what you are visiting, it's best to go as part of another tour. I know "Marcus tours" goes there. Be sure to go with him, he's a great guide.

The cost is FREE and there are vendors setup there selling some souvenir type trinkets, if you'd like. Tip: don't pay the advertised price, they'll likely sell to you for less.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rocky Shoreline”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

A nice side trip in Antigua! We had a rental 4-wheel drive, roads are very poor shape, but worth the drive. Waves action all around, very pretty scenery with all the rock cliffs and ledges.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Worth a short walk from The Verandah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

If you walk along the main beach at the Verandah, past the little lagoon (say hello to the stork) then you will see a little footpath that lead up to the track to Devil's Bridge. Well worth the ten minutes walk to see the spectacular waves and rock formations. The bridge itself is not easy to find, if you walk across the little natural causeway and keep to the right it is about 50 yards along from there. My wife would not let me walk across it but it looks safe enough to me. Watch out for the blow holes towards the end of the headland too.
I'm not sure it would be worth a half hour drive from the West or South of the island though, unless you really like this sort of thing.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We visited Devil's Bridge while on vacation in Antigua. It's spectacular. Waves breaking of the cliffs, blowholes, beautiful water. It's like a little "Cliffs of Moher". Wll worth the cost and time to get out there.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devil's Bridge also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Devil's Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Devil's Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.