We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected, but better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2000 North Commerce Parkway, Weston, FL 33326   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Florida Savings!
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Weston
Port Charlotte, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“As expected, but better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here in July 2012 and considered it an excellent value then. Our opinion now is the same, but there have been improvements to the property.

Late in 2012, they renovated the entire lobby area. What used to be a breakfast-only buffet has been replaced with a "bistro". You can now get breakfast, light lunch and light dinner. For the most part, everything is pre-made and reheated, though you can get eggs made to order in the morning.

They have Starbucks coffee, though the selection is limited and it is not made on the premises. You can order from a small but nice list of wines by the glass, beer, and a small selection of mixed cocktails. The 6-ounce pour of wine seems to be much more generous than that!

I had a turkey Ruben for dinner one evening and is was quite tasty and impossible to tell whether it was pre-made or made fresh on the spot.

The bistro operates from 5:30 am to 2 pm, then runs again from 5 pm to 9:45 pm.

I do not know about using this property if you are using it as a vacation hub, though I suppose that depends on your itinerary, but if you are a business traveler, the setup is ideal.

We were her for appointments at the Cleveland Clinic just a mile or so away. This Courtyard has a special rate for folks going to the Clinic. You get the room and full breakfast for 2 for $139 at this writing. And staff works hard to accommodate special needs for Clinic guests: late checkouts, sudden changes in stay requirements (check out early, stay longer than inticipated, etc.) are graciously accommodated.

The room was typical of higher quality hotels, nothing really extraordinary, but the friendliness of the staff and the willingness to assist made the stay quite enjoyable.

Whenever we are back in Weston, the Courtyard will be our hotel of choice.

Room Tip: Almost any room would be good. Whenever I was in the hallways, they were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randal P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. We are very proud of our renovation and the new Bistro! Everything is very fresh and all Starbucks Coffee is freshly brewed on site for optimum quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    53
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
39
23
14
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent two nights at this Courtyard. There isn't much to say about it, other than: It's exactly what you've come to expect from the Courtyard family. Staff was pleasant, lobby was clean and friendly. The room was typical Courtyard. Clean, comfortable and built for the business traveler. The bed was extremely comfortable and provided a great nights sleep. The room was extremely quiet with no outside noise.

One thing of note for my room (204) was that the TV had some huge scratches on it that were visable while watching TV. The other thing that was weird to me was that when you turned on the TV, the initial volume was very loud and shocking at 5am. Suggestion to staff - find a way to lower the initial volume.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randal P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are very pleased that you chose to stay with us while visiting Weston and that you had a pleasant stay. We are very happy with our renovation and have received lots of positive feedback. We have already addressed the issue found with the television, and thank you for bringing it to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Room was comfortable and roomy. Hot tub was working but not real hot. Having a cold spell so the pool was not able to be used. Good location near route 75. There are lots of stores and places to eat in the area.. Got extra towels and coffee from the housekeeper who was cleaning the room next door. She was very pleasant. Looking for coffee at 6 am but the starbucks was not open. It was a Saturday so not sure if that was why. Overall it was a pleasant one night stay but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randal P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you fvery much or taking the time to provide feedback from your stay. Our pool is heated to 82 degrees year round and our hot tub is checking in at a very comfortable 104 degrees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We have stayed at Marriott many times. This particular property was really no different, it was still the high standards that you would expect from Marriott. The bed was comfy, we love their pillows, bathroom was clean. The only bad thing I can say about this property was don't bother with getting a drink at "The Bistro". The hotel has "The Bistro" in the lobby and you can get snacks, Starbucks coffee, and wine by the glass, beer, or several liquors. We ordered 1 Baileys on ice, and 1 Makers Mark on ice, he brought us 1 shot in a glass with ice and said " that will be $25.00" I was floored.Other than that, this is a great hotel, swimming pool, hot tub, and gym.

Room Tip: Top floor was alot quieter than the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randal P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment regarding your stay. Our new lobby and Bistro have been wonderfull additions. I am sorry regarding the Bistro bar experience. We have evaluated and adjusted our product pricing and quality based on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel crew was really friendly and welcoming. Location was accessible and easy to find. Both the bedroom and bathroom were very clean. The bed was very comfortable. I definitely recommended this for a short stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randal P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice comments. The staff is very engaged in ensuring that all our guests have a great experience. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We spent 10 days at this courtyard. We have spent over 200 nights in Marriott's this past year. This was one of the most unpleasant. They were just novices at their jobs. From the food team in the restaurant to the welcome we received, or really didn't receive, to the Internet that never worked and was never fixed to the semi-clean rooms with messy beds when we arrived. Not sure what was going on but not a good experience,

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randal P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We take a lot of pride in delivering an outstanding experience here at the Courtyard and we are sorry that we missed the mark when you were here. The new restuarant is now operating much smoother and our junior staff is much better trained. I can assure you that this experience is not typical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed one night here on our way down to Florida Keys. We booked the smallest (standard) room, and even that was very large, at least on an European scale. The decor was not fancy or imaginative in any way, but it was functioning and clean. I've never seen so small pillows in a bed, but there were plenty of them so it was ok. The free wifi worked well.

The only problem during our stay was the breakfast, which turned out to be a real disaster. I believe they have quite recently renovated the ground floor where they have this mini market (vending machines etc) and changed their former breakfast restaurant (?) into a lounge where there was only a kiosk-like counter where you could order some basic things to eat in the morning. We were disappointed in the beginning as there still were information about a buffet breakfast in the rooms, although they don't offer anything like that anymore.

Well, we then ordered two warm sandwiches from the breakfast "kiosk" and and took a table and waited. Just after us, people started to rush downstairs and order breakfast, so we thought our timing was just great, before them. Then we waited. And waited. There was only one waiter who was totally confused, and the sales persons at the counter weren't any more organized. They just lost all the orders and nothing was happening in the kitchen. People around us categorically looked just pissed as they had to wait even their cup of coffee for ages (more than half an hour), let alone any hot breakfast. They had ABSOLUTELY NO CLUE what they were doing, it was just ridiculous. It felt like there's no chef at all in the kitchen and the staff was just running around without a mind. The small kiosk-system for all the breakfast guests is not enough for sure. After 50 minutes of waiting those two sandwiches, and the staff just running past us looking us like "what are YOU waiting for", we were already behind our daily schedule. We finally got the situation solved as we basically made another order as it had disappeared totally.

Nobody ever asked anything although they saw we are waiting for food, we had to solve the situation ourselves (as did other guests as well). Finally, we got two hand-warm, dry, ridiculous sandwiches with some cold pieces of omelette inside them. They never appologised even after my complaint and explanation that we have been waiting for an HOUR for our "breakfast". All the waited said was "do you still want something???". Nope, we absolutely didn't.

It's a total chaos and lousy quality even if you happen to get a plate in front of you - what ever you do, go somewhere else to have a breakfast, don't ruin your day here!!! I just don't get it how it is even possible to build such an unworkable "breakfast" area. Never seen anything like that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randal P, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
We are proud to report that our breakfast service in the Bistro has improved dramatically. We are now in our 5th month of operation and issues like this one are no longer experienced by our guests. Thank you for your comments, they have helped us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston

Address: 2000 North Commerce Parkway, Weston, FL 33326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located near Sawgrass Mills Outlet Mall, the Cleveland Clinic, BankAtlantic Center and 72 holes of premier golf, Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Weston is your best choice for business or pleasure travel in Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston Hotel Weston
Courtyard Fort Lauderdale Weston
Weston Marriott
Weston Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.