We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to complain about” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Bonaventure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vacation Village at Bonaventure to your Saves list
Vacation Village at Bonaventure
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Racquet Club Road, Weston, FL 33455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not much to complain about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is "Time Share" type of resort with several buildings. We are the family of 2 + 3 daughters.
We have arrived late Saturday night for one week staying. Check in was fast and smooth. Finding the our building "Sandpiper I" was not so easy especially at night. It took us about 1/2 hr because directions given by the staff and the map were not great. The map looked like my three years old daughter's drawing :-).
In the morning I found the much easier way to move around.
We have gotten the unit on the third floor. To our surprise it was combination of two units A & B. They have common entry to small corridor leading to two separate doors. Units can be used separate or together since there is the connecting door inside. Each unit has fully equipped kitchen (stove, fridge with icemaker, microwave & dishwasher). Pots, pans, dishware and utensils are also provided. This was useful for breakfast preparations. We have not prepared any dinners since this was also the vacation for Mommy ;-)
Each unit has two TV's. They are little bit outdated. Flat screens would be nice.
From the beginning we were offered free gift ready for pick up in the main lobby.
We didn't fall for it since we learned from other reviews it was the catch to get you for the Time Share selling seminar. Simply ignore and decline any freebies and you would be OK, unless you want to spend few hours listening and then trying to get them off your back.
Amenities are great. Each building complex has own swimming pool. Lots of activities for every age at the main complex - Weston.
All buildings, grounds and units are clean. Small note - the furniture in the units are really outdated so are the wall colour schemes.
Lots of tennis courts and golf courses in the neighborhood with discounts for the residents of the resort.
Quite few restaurants, small shopping malls in the area. Very close to the biggest outlet mall of North America - Sawgrass Mills with shuttle bus provided by the resort.
Very easy access to a highway.

Room Tip: Definitely request if possible Unit type "A" which can easily accommodate six people. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    77
    60
    44
    31
See reviews for
116
73
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Staff was cold and unfriendly. No room service. No vending machines. They have the worst case of mosquitos I've ever seen. I went to sleep and woke up to bites in my face , arms and legs. My children had bites in their heads and face. They moved our room which was fine and there was difference. They charge you $8 per day to park your vehicle in a large uncovered parking lot. Oh, and how about waking up every morning to doors and drawers slamming and loud talking from the inconsiderate cleaning staff. Don't stay here you will be very dissatisfied and disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The B-side 1bed/bath on the 6th floor of the Ibis building was a perfect location for the 4th of July weekend. Spacious and very clean room with a kitchenette, living room, balcony with a view of the tennis courts and pool, 2 flat screen TV's was certainly enough for the two of us.
Staff were very friendly and efficient at both check-in and out and even the guys who were offering the timeshare sales pitch took our declines as existing owners very readily.
In room Internet was like dial-up but not a major issue for us.
We were out and about in Weston and Ft. Lauderdale during our stay and therefore did not not use the pool or attend the presentation until the last day when we had some free time available.
A nice lunch at the Country Club, some pleasant conversation, toured Weston and the latest model available, completed a short survey all with no pressure to buy and we were on our way to the airport with a gift voucher in hand.
Well rested and enlightened from the first use of our timeshare, we would certainly return and readily recommend Vacation Village to visitors and guests alike.

Room Tip: 6th floor Ibis was well away from the noise of the pool but still provided a beautiful view of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Centered within a resort community of multiple resort buildings and quiet neighborhood. Just minutes away from ft Lauderdale and Miami. We had a 1bedroom/ 1bath with limited kitchen, set up like a small apartment, it was just right for the two of us. I wouldn't mind stay with vacation village again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation of Vacation Village at Bonaventure. We’re happy that we met your expectations and provided you with a great vacation. We look forward to sharing our friendly hospitality with you on your next tropical getaway in South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wonderful spot to enjoy south florida. We stayed several weeks here while we learned the area and Weston is a perfect, low key spot to stay. The resort was excellent and relaxing. The entire building (Sandpiper 1) was well kept and the staff for the resort and building were unfailingly gracious. There is a shuttle we did not try, a lovely relaxing pool with music in the background and great views from the balcony. We enjoyed the local Publix and many things were within walking distance. The golf course and sidewalks make for great exercise. We loved the Boston Market nearby for a quick take in supper, and there are lots of local Latin cuisine restaurants to choose from. Weston is a good 20 minutes from the beach at Ft Lauderdale, but the laid back atmosphere was perfect as a place to venture out from. Close to the Sawgrass Pkway, 575 and the turnpike for getting around. The units were spacious and ours had a lovely big shower and well equipped kitchen. We had both A & B units. There is no laundry in the room, but each floor has a laundry room which is seldom busy. My compliments to the staff who make this place what it is...a great getaway from the hustle and bustle. Easy commute to South Florida's many attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sandpiper 1 3rd floor A/B....upper floors have the best views and breezes for the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feelings about Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort. Naturally we feel we offer great service in the Ft. Lauderdale area, but we love it when guests let us know they agree with us! We’re happy that we could provide you with a relaxing home base while you explored all the great attractions here and we look forward to sharing our friendly hospitality with you again on your next tropical getaway in South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEARNY, NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was my second visit to Vacation Village at Bonaventure and both times have stayed in the Egret Building. Had a two bedroom two and an a half bath unit with a screened in balcony. The Egret building is very quiet and has its own pool but no hot tub outside. Rooms are spacious and clean. The shower in the master bath is a little weird as you have to step up to get into it. Might be hard for the elderly. Rooms need a little updating as the televisions are old school, projection TV in living room and box stye in bedrooms. Two golf courses on premises, both are nice. Close to dining and shopping. The only negative is the dinner in the clubhouse, ordered a nice pasta seafood dish with clams, mussells and shrimp. The shrimp were the kind you find in a shrimp salad sandwich. Really??? Would stay here again but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience because we love to hear from guests about their repeat visits to Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort. We’re happy to know that you have continued to enjoy the accommodations and amenities but the clubhouse you referenced in your review is not a part of our resort. “Bonaventure” is a dependent district of the city of Weston, Florida and Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort is a property located in that district. From your comments it sounds like you may have dined at the clubhouse restaurant located at The Bonaventure Country Club. Thank you again for your post, it is very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The place itself was nice and we enjoyed everything except for the lies we were told upon arrival. We were offered several different deeply discounted offers for area attractions/activities. I immediately said that we already own two timeshares and have zero interest in buying another one. The woman told us that it was not a timeshare sales. She said that since we already own, they only wanted us to view a new model and take a survey. I asked if we were required to stay for at least 90 minutes (or longer). She said definitely not -- that we were free to leave whenever we wanted. None of this was true! We were driven to another location and were not allowed to leave for almost three hours! Despite my saying that if they gave it to us for free, we wouldn't accept it - they required us to hear the whole spiel! (BTW, the starting price was $38,000). We bought our first timeshare in 1980. Since then I have learned that timeshares are hard to even give away - as you are stuck with the yearly maintenance fee forever. We would be happy to sell ours --cheap!!

Regarding the location....we were disappointed that it took about 30 minutes to get to a beach (Dania) - 17 miles....beautiful! The pool, however, was nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to comment about your stay with us. We’re sorry that the time spent with the sales team detracted from your vacation experience. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we’re thankful that you enjoyed your accommodations. We hope you will return and allow us a future opportunity to exceed all of your expectations the next time you’re in Ft. Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vacation Village at Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Bonaventure

Address: 401 Racquet Club Road, Weston, FL 33455
Location: United States > Florida > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vacation Village at Bonaventure 3.5*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Vacation Village at Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Hotel Weston
Vacation Village Bonaventure
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Weston
Vacation Village Weston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village at Bonaventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.