We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not stay here.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Bonaventure

Save Saved
You added Vacation Village at Bonaventure to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Vacation Village at Bonaventure
401 Racquet Club Road, Weston, FL 33455   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Weston
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Do Not stay here.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Staff was cold and unfriendly. No room service. No vending machines. They have the worst case of mosquitos I've ever seen. I went to sleep and woke up to bites in my face , arms and legs. My children had bites in their heads and face. They moved our room which was fine and there was difference. They charge you $8 per day to park your vehicle in a large uncovered parking lot. Oh, and how about waking up every morning to doors and drawers slamming and loud talking from the inconsiderate cleaning staff. Don't stay here you will be very dissatisfied and disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    73
    48
    40
    29
See reviews for
95
68
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Cayman
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The B-side 1bed/bath on the 6th floor of the Ibis building was a perfect location for the 4th of July weekend. Spacious and very clean room with a kitchenette, living room, balcony with a view of the tennis courts and pool, 2 flat screen TV's was certainly enough for the two of us.
Staff were very friendly and efficient at both check-in and out and even the guys who were offering the timeshare sales pitch took our declines as existing owners very readily.
In room Internet was like dial-up but not a major issue for us.
We were out and about in Weston and Ft. Lauderdale during our stay and therefore did not not use the pool or attend the presentation until the last day when we had some free time available.
A nice lunch at the Country Club, some pleasant conversation, toured Weston and the latest model available, completed a short survey all with no pressure to buy and we were on our way to the airport with a gift voucher in hand.
Well rested and enlightened from the first use of our timeshare, we would certainly return and readily recommend Vacation Village to visitors and guests alike.

Room Tip: 6th floor Ibis was well away from the noise of the pool but still provided a beautiful view of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Centered within a resort community of multiple resort buildings and quiet neighborhood. Just minutes away from ft Lauderdale and Miami. We had a 1bedroom/ 1bath with limited kitchen, set up like a small apartment, it was just right for the two of us. I wouldn't mind stay with vacation village again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation of Vacation Village at Bonaventure. We’re happy that we met your expectations and provided you with a great vacation. We look forward to sharing our friendly hospitality with you on your next tropical getaway in South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wonderful spot to enjoy south florida. We stayed several weeks here while we learned the area and Weston is a perfect, low key spot to stay. The resort was excellent and relaxing. The entire building (Sandpiper 1) was well kept and the staff for the resort and building were unfailingly gracious. There is a shuttle we did not try, a lovely relaxing pool with music in the background and great views from the balcony. We enjoyed the local Publix and many things were within walking distance. The golf course and sidewalks make for great exercise. We loved the Boston Market nearby for a quick take in supper, and there are lots of local Latin cuisine restaurants to choose from. Weston is a good 20 minutes from the beach at Ft Lauderdale, but the laid back atmosphere was perfect as a place to venture out from. Close to the Sawgrass Pkway, 575 and the turnpike for getting around. The units were spacious and ours had a lovely big shower and well equipped kitchen. We had both A & B units. There is no laundry in the room, but each floor has a laundry room which is seldom busy. My compliments to the staff who make this place what it is...a great getaway from the hustle and bustle. Easy commute to South Florida's many attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sandpiper 1 3rd floor A/B....upper floors have the best views and breezes for the patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feelings about Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort. Naturally we feel we offer great service in the Ft. Lauderdale area, but we love it when guests let us know they agree with us! We’re happy that we could provide you with a relaxing home base while you explored all the great attractions here and we look forward to sharing our friendly hospitality with you again on your next tropical getaway in South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEARNY, NJ
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was my second visit to Vacation Village at Bonaventure and both times have stayed in the Egret Building. Had a two bedroom two and an a half bath unit with a screened in balcony. The Egret building is very quiet and has its own pool but no hot tub outside. Rooms are spacious and clean. The shower in the master bath is a little weird as you have to step up to get into it. Might be hard for the elderly. Rooms need a little updating as the televisions are old school, projection TV in living room and box stye in bedrooms. Two golf courses on premises, both are nice. Close to dining and shopping. The only negative is the dinner in the clubhouse, ordered a nice pasta seafood dish with clams, mussells and shrimp. The shrimp were the kind you find in a shrimp salad sandwich. Really??? Would stay here again but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience because we love to hear from guests about their repeat visits to Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort. We’re happy to know that you have continued to enjoy the accommodations and amenities but the clubhouse you referenced in your review is not a part of our resort. “Bonaventure” is a dependent district of the city of Weston, Florida and Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort is a property located in that district. From your comments it sounds like you may have dined at the clubhouse restaurant located at The Bonaventure Country Club. Thank you again for your post, it is very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The place itself was nice and we enjoyed everything except for the lies we were told upon arrival. We were offered several different deeply discounted offers for area attractions/activities. I immediately said that we already own two timeshares and have zero interest in buying another one. The woman told us that it was not a timeshare sales. She said that since we already own, they only wanted us to view a new model and take a survey. I asked if we were required to stay for at least 90 minutes (or longer). She said definitely not -- that we were free to leave whenever we wanted. None of this was true! We were driven to another location and were not allowed to leave for almost three hours! Despite my saying that if they gave it to us for free, we wouldn't accept it - they required us to hear the whole spiel! (BTW, the starting price was $38,000). We bought our first timeshare in 1980. Since then I have learned that timeshares are hard to even give away - as you are stuck with the yearly maintenance fee forever. We would be happy to sell ours --cheap!!

Regarding the location....we were disappointed that it took about 30 minutes to get to a beach (Dania) - 17 miles....beautiful! The pool, however, was nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to comment about your stay with us. We’re sorry that the time spent with the sales team detracted from your vacation experience. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we’re thankful that you enjoyed your accommodations. We hope you will return and allow us a future opportunity to exceed all of your expectations the next time you’re in Ft. Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Check in is at the main complex and fortunately the ‘check in address’ mapped and GPSed correctly. Vacation Village at Bonaventure is not so much a destination but a grouping of time share destinations. Heron 1 & 2; Sandpiper 1 & 2 or Flamingo 1 & 2 all appear to have been designed by the same firm. When we arrived (4/19/13) we were told we would be in the building call ‘Heron 1’. The Heron (and Sandpiper) are seven story buildings located in a residential area in the southeast quadrant of Blatt Blvd and Racquet Club Road about one mile from check in. The Flamingo 1&2 are about a mile to the east.

We arrived at the appointed 4:00 hour and were able to check in quickly. (Others we met told us they were not so fortunate.) Be forewarned, they do extract an additional $25.00 ‘Facility Use Fee’ upon arrival. It’s supposed to cover (among other things) the coffee, lemonade and internet Wi-Fi. To say the ‘standard issued’ internet connection is ONLY VERY SLOW would be kind. Naturally, for an additional fee, you could supposedly get faster service. Note to management: Give everyone satisfactory ‘higher speed’ as part of the fee!

After registering, you are directed over to a person who give you a parking pass but only after he tries to get you to give them $20.00 to ‘reserve your spot for the free breakfast or lunch and free gift’. We declined his offer (several times) and were given our parking pass. Be forewarned, some of the other guests told us it’s about a 3 hour ‘visit’ off property if you take them up on their offer.

We found the pool to be well maintained and coffee each morning by the first floor elevator and at the pool and lemonade around noon at the pool were appreciated by many of the guest. My wife really appreciated the ‘midweek’ cleaning. All the staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful, however, the recreational staff needs to be more proactive in trying to get more people to participate in the various activities. And, if they are going to put ‘horse shoes’ on the activity list, they should have a way to drive the spike in the ground. We were using a rock to try and drive the spike. Note to management: A dedicated set of horse shoe pits is definitely needed.

Our 2 bedroom unit turned out to be an A with the B unit lock off. Both were clean, and appeared to have been recently partially updated. The couch and chairs appear to be newer, but some of the other furnishings (including stove) are not. Not sure of the bed; but I found it acceptable. One item they need to fix (soon) is the small older TV’s. My home computer display is bigger than the TV’s in the B unit living room and both the bedrooms. Thankfully, there was a fairly large flat screen TV in the living area of the A unit. A few more luggage carts would be very beneficial since many are checking in and out at the same time.

Parking was sufficient and there is even some covered ‘first floor’ parking for some lucky folks (if you arrive at the right time.) Not sure how parking is in high season. They also have a shuttle service which runs a one hour route. Since we did not use it, I can’t comment.

We found the facilities satisfactory and the location for exploring the area convenient. All in all we enjoyed our time and will be returning when we get the opportunity.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool sides of Heron. The side that backs up to Racquet Club Road (the side we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comprehensive review of Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort. We appreciate it when guests write about their vacation experience because it helps us know areas where we need to improve our service. We’re sorry that we didn’t meet all of your expectations during your stay but are thankful that overall you had a pleasant time with us. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to sharing our hospitality with you again the next time you’re in Weston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vacation Village at Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Bonaventure

Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Hotel
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Hotel Weston
Vacation Village Bonaventure
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Weston
Vacation Village
Vacation Village Weston
Address: 401 Racquet Club Road, Weston, FL 33455
Location: United States > Florida > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Vacation Village at Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village at Bonaventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.