We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, but not the worst” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vacation Village at Bonaventure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vacation Village at Bonaventure to your Saves list
Vacation Village at Bonaventure
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Racquet Club Road, Weston, FL 33326   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not the best, but not the worst”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We stayed here through a timeshare exchange. We wanted to go to Florida over the very busy Easter week and this was the only property available in the entire state, other than Orlando. As others have noted, it is inland, so having a car is necessary and you will need to drive quite a bit. Having said that, it is right off the highway and easy to get pretty much any where interesting within 30 minutes.

We stayed in an A/B combo unit in Sandpiper 2 (they are 2 one bedrooms that combine to a 2 bedroom, so you have 2 kitchens and LRs which is sort of weird. The smaller unit - can't remember if it's A or B - is TINY so avoid getting that. It has only a partial kitchen so it's probably called a studio). The combo unit was quite big, but very dated and tired. Everything was clean and in working order, but all circa the 1980s, including the TV - which someone else noted in a review. So while the space was decent, it just felt a bit tired and old. The pools were quite nice as was the surrounding area - a great place to take a early morning or late afternoon run or walk! There are 3 publix within a 3 minute drive of the resort so lots of options to buy groceries.

I don't think we'd go here again, but in a pinch, if you want to get to Florida for some sunshine and nothing else is available, it's good enough.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort. We offer great accommodations at affordable prices for our guests and we are constantly striving to improve the quality of the resort and it’s amenities. We hope you will consider staying with us again on your next trip to Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    87
    68
    49
    42
See reviews for
133
90
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Orion
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I was leary after reading the reviews. It was a wonderful vacation. The staff went out of their way to make everything great. We stayed at the Sandpiper #1 unit with a balcony. We had access to 3 pools and a hot tub. Free shuttle service to the main building for activities and a large pool there with waterfall. Good hang out for the "teens" The unit is fully stocked with everything you need for the week. Thank you Vacation Village.

Room Tip: Units with balconies are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
You are very welcome. It is fantastic to hear that you had a wonderful vacation. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback about which unit you stayed in and what you liked about the resort. We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgton, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I just spent 8 days there in the Flamigo ll and found it very clean and staff very helpful looking forward to next year

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Before leaving for spring break 2011 we read many of the reviews and were REALLY leary of this resort. 50% of the reviews gave this resort horrible ratings. But when we got there we were pleasantly surprised. It was clean, the staff was friendly and there was absolutely NO pressure to go to the owners meeting/tour. I told the rep no, and that was it. My only disappointment was the poolside activities. There weren't many. And most of them were not at our pool (you had to drive to the other resort towers). Nothing was exciting and they ended around 7pm (with the exception of movie nite which went until 9pm). There was nothing for adults to do at the resort - no bar at the pools, no organized activities. We're used to going to resorts where the pool atmosphere is exciting and eventful way into the evening hours. Each day we'd swim for a few hours and then head to Miami, South Beach for our excitement. It's a nice place if you want to relax, but we like resorts were adults can enjoy themselves along with the children (nothing disrespectful, just have fun).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
We are pleased that you had a good, relaxing stay with us and found your accommodations clean and our staff friendly. Because there are six pools throughout the resort, we centralize our activities in order to get maximum participation. We also try to vary our selection so that we have something for everyone and apologize if we didn’t meet your expectations in this area. Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We should have known the price was to good to be true. Got in late and the signs are very poor to find the registration site. Even with a garmon we got lost. The B unit is depressing. You are in Florida and you only have a window in your bedroom?? I literally felt that I was a second rate citizen. Meeting lovely people at the pool they would talk about their room and I thought, Are we staying at the same place??? Yes, they all were in A units.
Thank goodness they were at least clean, but sadly when it came time for our tour, my husband was like there is no way, after staying in a B unit.
Our tour person lost a sale because you stuck us in a B unit.
Loved the people we met at the pool, never really saw any employees, grounds were nice, however I did want to go water some flowers that were dying near the entrance to the Heron pool. (apparently the sprinkler system did not reach them because of a tree)

Oh and the pictures of your place are not what we had. After getting the tour, those are not what we stayed in. Poor representation of your place. Yes, if we did have anything close to that we would have have considered a purchase.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate it when a guest takes the time to post about their stay. We’re sorry however to read that your accommodations were not what you expected. The Vacation Village at Bonaventure Resort features A & B suites that have a common foyer with separate locks for each suite. This unique combination is very popular with timeshare owners because it offers luxurious accommodations with maximum privacy for large parties. Sometimes these rooms can be rented separately depending on availability and price. In comparison most hotel rooms do not offer the same amenities as our B suites, such as fully appointed kitchens with microwave, coffee maker, toaster, icemaker, refrigerator and living and dining room area.

Thank you again for your comments and we would love the opportunity to make your next trip to Florida a better experience than your last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

The room was located in Heron II, we had an A & B suite. After requesting that we get a location in the vacation village months before arriving, we were placed off site. Beware when booking here, as there are several different locations! We went to atleast 3 locations and the two that were offsite were not walking distance with a child.

Pool at the main building was nice, the other buildings had a standard pool. The childrens pool was not heated and was in fact very cold. Too cold to take our 18 month old in. We swam with her in the adult pool while getting scoffed looks from the older people.

My wife and mom had booked a facial appointment with Touch Angel Spa while staying at Vacation Village. They both agreed that this was the worst facial they have ever had. Neither was able to relax. The employees were careless about banging their tools and bottles around. The steamer broke, and the other steamer was placed too close to my wife's face, causing her pain instead of relaxation. For a $90 facial, I would expect that the experience would be above par, not to have them come back and have BOTH tell me that it was the worst ever! Deffinately NOT Miami's premier day spa.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
We’re sorry that you did not get your accommodations in the building you requested. The reservation staff tries to honor every request but the A&B combination suites are very popular with our owners, so it is possible that the rooms were reserved in the building you chose.

The quality of the spa treatments you described that your family received is not the typical standards of the Touch Angel Spa. We apologize for their experience and I have forwarded your comments to the management of the spa so that they may investigate further. We hope you allow us another chance to prove that Vacation Village at Bonaventure is a perfect place to spend a Florida vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plympton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

we called maitence right away, our pullout sofa was torn. they came and replaced it 30 minutes later. the water aerobics were a nice surprise, we used the shuttle service we never waited more than 5 minutes. it was a nice surprise to have mid-week maid service. we had a wonderful time. We stayed at sandpiper 1. units A and B. They were very clean.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacationvillage, Guest Relations Manager at Vacation Village at Bonaventure, responded to this review, April 1, 2011
We are happy to read that the staff was helpful and you enjoyed the amenities during your stay at Vacation Village at Bonaventure. Thank you for taking the time to post and we hope to have you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston
0.7 mi away
Vacation Village at Weston
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Weston  - Sawgrass Mills South
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Sunrise - Sawgrass Mills
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Weston
1.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Weston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vacation Village at Bonaventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vacation Village at Bonaventure

Address: 401 Racquet Club Road, Weston, FL 33326
Location: United States > Florida > Weston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vacation Village at Bonaventure 3.5*
Number of rooms: 655
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The well-appointed Vacation Village at Bonaventure features spacious one-and two-bedroom suites that are equipped with luxurious living and dining areas and are fully furnished for maximum comfort. Relax at one of the resort's pools and watch the palm trees sway in the tropical breezes. Nestled within the famous South Florida Spa, Tennis and Golf Community of Weston, this resort offers maximum privacy for guests but is within minutes of Fort Lauderdale's famed beaches and attractions. Sumptuous dining, world class shopping and excursions to the Everglades are located nearby for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Vacation Village at Bonaventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Hotel Weston
Vacation Village Bonaventure
Vacation Village At Bonaventure Weston
Vacation Village Weston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vacation Village at Bonaventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.