We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cocos Hotel Antigua

Save Saved
You added Cocos Hotel Antigua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cocos Hotel Antigua
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Valley Church, Antigua   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pure Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful week at Coco's. This is the place to truly sit back, enjoy a beautiful view, tasty tropical cocktails, and fantastic food. The resort is intimate and just the right size. We stayed in a room at the top of the hill with A/C. Views were stunning and the outdoor shower was one of the highlights of the trip. Showering while looking over the magnificent bay was awesome. The beach is perfect and at the quiet end of the cove. It was never crowded. The beach bar is perfect. The food in the restaurant is fantastic. Plenty of options and they change every day. But on to the truly best part of the hotel, which has been mentioned in numerous reviews, and that is the staff. They make everyone feel like family and were always so friendly and helpful. They made a fantastic trip very special.

Let me address some of the "concerns" that have been posted on Coco's:

The hill. It is pretty steep but is not overly exerting to scale. And once you get up to the room, the view makes it worth it. I must say that we did make a conscious effort not to forget something in the room. It would not be recommended for anyone with mobility problems.

The music from neighboring property. We heard it some of the nights we were there. It can be a bit loud, but there is nothing the hotel can do about that. But it did not go until 4am. It ended at a decent hour. If it is that bothersome, order a few Antigua smiles from the bar before bed. You will sleep like a baby.

Bugs. You are in the tropics. Wear bug spray. Complaining about the bugs is akin to complaining about the snow when you visit the Rockies.

Too Rustic. It is not the Ritz Carlton, nor is it trying to be. Other than sleeping, we were not in our room more than an hour and a half per day while getting ready for dinner, and most of that time was spent sitting on the balcony enjoying the view. Part of the charm of the hotel is the charm provided by the rustic-ness of it.

Coco's is a great place to go to RELAX, enjoy spectacular views, drink great drinks, enjoy good food, be spoiled by a stupendous and friendly staff, and forget about the world. No TV's and limited internet access. That is a good thing people. Disconnect from the world for a few days. You will survive. We hope to be back sooner rather than later.

Please feel free to send me a message if you have any questions or concerns that I can address.

Room Tip: I would request a room on the backside of the hotel facing Coco Bay resort. rooms are a bit quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    103
    32
    23
    17
See reviews for
9
358
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We could not be happier that we got to stay at Cocos Hotel for the last leg of our honeymoon and it was exactly what we needed. We were absolutely spoiled by the unbelievably kind and thoughtful staff and had a great time getting to know many of them. The food and drinks were tremendous (fried brie and fish at almost every meal!) and the view from our bungalow was unreal. We also loved the complimentary kayak, massages and honeymoon treatment! We felt so safe and at home in a place so far removed from our "real world" home in Washington, DC and it was very painful to leave. We will recommend Cocos Hotel to everyone we know and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Spent 2 weeks honeymoon at this hotel. Bit apprehensive to start with as we are a couple that likes to move around on holidays. Small resort tucked away on a very quiet side of the island. Being a EX professional sports person iv'e stayed in every brand of hotel in almost every country around the world. The experience i had here was one to remember. We had 2 issues on our stay the AC was playing up the whole 2 weeks. Not so much of a issue for a bloke but if your mrs wants to do her hair all nice hairdryers and straighteners make the room a bit of a oven. 2nd issue the laundry department done some washing for me and 1 t shirt came back bleach stained. Mrs Peters the housekeeping manager dealt with both and her service was exceptional. We would not hesitate to recommend and go back. 2 weeks bit too long for 2nd visit. 7 - 10 days perfect.

Hotel - Food very good. lots of choice and great fresh fish choice daily at lunch and dinner. If you were not satisfied with the portions or wanted more just ask and another plate winged its way to you. Nothing was a problem. Lovely surprise honeymoon dinner with a free bottle of bubbly.

Staff - Exceptional. 2 weeks with the staff here and you wont want to go home. Staff invited us to there local party nights. BEWARE one day on the beach a rain storm come over so we seeked refuge in the beach bar. Boy was this a mistake. Stephen and Erol like to make some serious cocktails. Don't expect the walk back to the room to be too easy after a afternoon at the beech bar. But great fun.

Rooms - Typical caribbean wooden huts, AC, outdoor shower, tea and coffee and a daily refilled all inclusive mini bar fridge. Very comfy bed, mosquito nets kept them down to a minimum. Out door shower on the balcony ours overlooked the caribbean sea looking out to Monserrat. Not too shabby. Every Sunday there is a party a Fyrars Beach so there is loud music until early hours. I was there for 2 Sundays and didn't really put me off.

Facilities - Rainy days are a bit of a bore. lucky we had laptop loaded with films. No TV's on site. I expect this will change soon.

Great day trips, we wanted to go deep sea fishing on a private boat. Hotel sorted it and got a great boat and a decent haul of Barracuda and Spanish mackerel which we took back to the hotel. They filleted and cooked for us. LUSH. The hotel has taxis available to take you anywhere. Highly recommend a trip to Shirley heights Sunday is party night, you can go other days. We opted for a private tour with the islands best taxi PP - he was our personal taxi for the duration he knows everything and everyone. He even got me a game of golf with Ritchie Richardson and Elroy Baptiste famous WI cricketers. Nelsons Dockyard was a great heritage site for the brits. Also a trip to the city of St Johns was a nice tax free visit. if you want sunglasses they are cheaper in St Johns Tax Free than any London airport. 100% Genuine. The hotel has a sister resort 5 mins down the road which you can go to and have same all inclusive perks. Beautiful beach and very clear water as its nearer to the reef so snorkelling is great.

Summary - Hotel was nice, staff were exceptional, food was great, beach was great, water was great, pool needs a bit of TLC, fantastic value for money 1/3 of the price of Galley Bay. Ample loungers so you don't get the quintessential holiday maker getting up at 5am to set out a towel on the best lounger.

Cracking hotel on a unspoilt Caribbean island.

Room Tip: Hotel is on the side of a hill. There is a bit of a walk up to the top. Entry level rooms are lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you are looking to truly unwind, then this is the ticket. We went for 6 nights, but it feld like we were away for a month. Kayak, Jetski, Float on rafts and soak up the sun and atmosphere generated by the friendly staff and toxic cocktails. A warning, there are no televisions on the resort which will either force you to unwind or pack a multitude of movies and a laptop. A thoroughly enjoyable trip. Remember its rustic, hermit crabs, spiders, geckos wandering around the property and in the room sometimes.. enjoy.. yes the water really is that colour

Room Tip: Get Air Conditioning or die. Ladies dont even think about bringing heels, you are walking up and dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

For starters, I must apologize to the staff as this review is long overdue and I hope it does Cocos justice. My husband and I were married at Cocos on Feb 14th, 2013. We arrived on a Tuesday afternoon, were married on Thursday and left early Sunday morning. We could not have asked for a better wedding.

Working with the wedding coordinators, Kerissa and Lois, was a breeze. They made wedding planning a pleasant experience and the end result was beautiful. I hope Coco’s management realizes what gems they have in Kerissa and Lois.

Cocos resort is unlike any other. It exemplifies pure relaxation. There are no televisions to be found, wifi was not available in our room (we were in #28) and that was exactly what we wanted. Yes, the hike to our room was a steep one but well worth it as the view from our room was heavenly.

In reading reviews left by others, I feel I should elaborate on the condition of our room. We found absolutely no flaw with our accommodations. The a/c worked perfectly, our fridge was always stocked, and the bed was made and decorated with fresh flowers every day, the bathroom cleaned and towels replaced. Cocos does not claim to be a five star resort. The rooms are rustic and tie in perfectly with the ambiance that Cocos created.

We would also like to pay our compliments to the chef at Cocos. The food was delicious. We always had fun trying new things off the menu and were never disappointed.

Cocos will always have a special place in our hearts and we plan on making it a vacation spot that we frequent.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

So I was going to give this place 3 maybe even 4 stars, but on our last night there was a party on the neighboring beach that BLASTED loud, upbeat, Caribbean music into our bungalow til 4am in the morning. Sleep was nearly impossible. It was that loud and obnoxious. We had a terrible night, almost no sleep, and all Cocos did was "apologize for the inconvenience." If that were a meal we would have taken it back, but of course they did absolutely nothing. That was the last straw. The food was mediocre & the room was adequate. The only thing that saved this hotel is the view. the view is spectacular! However, I would not recommend cocos at full cost to anyone. We had a groupon which is the only reason we chose this hotel, but we were very displeased with how we were treated that last night. All the other minor things, could have been forgiven.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CocosHotel, Owner at Cocos Hotel Antigua, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It is rather unfortunate that your stay was tainted by the noise on the neighbouring beach which we at the hotel had no control over and were not notified of prior to the commercial event taking place. It is quite understandable that the last impression of your stay and lack of sleep resulted in a less than positive review which otherwise would have been positive.

Our management team, along with a number of other affected hotels in the area, met with the top echelon of the police authorities regarding the effect of this incident on our guests and we have been given a commitment that prior to permission for such events to be held on any of the hundreds of public beaches in the island, full recognition and consideration will be given in the future to the effect on neighbouring residents and especially our visitors at hotels who stay with the expectation of peace. It was recognised that this was an omission and we have been given the commitment that our neighbouring beaches will not be used in this way going forward.

We wish to again apologise to you and any other guests who experienced this interruption of the usual tranquillity of the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walthamstow London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Probably most romatic place you could dine, book early choose a table in corner with the sea all around. Take your time enjoy the food, the lobster, the salads take it easy, enjoy! We were staying at nearby Jolly Harbour , book and they may pick you up they did with us in a golf buggy, such fun!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cocos Hotel Antigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocos Hotel Antigua

Address: Valley Church, Antigua
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Antigua and Barbuda > Antigua > Saint Mary Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Saint Mary Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cocos Hotel Antigua 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 26 private wooden caribbean cottages situated on a bluff directly overlooking the Caribbean Sea offer unsurpassed and breath taking views. Cocos is small, romantic and tranquil located near Jolly Harbor. Cocos has access to a secluded white sand beach and its own small infinity pool. Each cottage has a private balconies with hammocks, AC, and a four poster bed with mosquito net but no TV. The Hotel also provides free Wi-Fi access throughout the Resort. The Serenity Cottage provides massage and beauty treatments, there is a small reading library, a beach bar with on site waiter with service to your beach lounger. Guests may use complimentary snorkels and kayaks. The restaurant has an ocean view a la carte restaurant is set on the cliff and is a casual and intimate setting with no reservations required. There is daily table service of all meals including a full cooked breakfast with daily lunch specials, a la carte and dish of the day. Dinner is a three course menu that changes daily. The views and live local music played on several evenings provide a romantic and memorable setting for dining. The staff ensures the highest most personal levels of service since it is a boutique property. The small bar offers a varied wine selection, and a wide range of international and Caribbean spirits and beers, and daily rum specials. Cocos also specializes small weddings with ceremonies on the beach or your own private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Cocos Hotel Antigua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigua Cocos Hotel
Cocos Antigua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocos Hotel Antigua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.