We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, good service, exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott West Palm Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott West Palm Beach to your Saves list
Marriott West Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Okeechobee Blvd, West Palm Beach, FL 33401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in West Palm Beach
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Convenient, good service, exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Marriott West Palm Beach provided everything we needed, and more. We selected the property because of its proximity to the Kravis Performing Arts Center where we attended a concert (a group of 'gal pals') and, of course, Palm Beach. As a long-time Marriott road warrior, I appreciated the customary amenities, from the concierge lounge to the gym. Service was great, and we lucked out with a culinary event on the outdoor terrace on the Thursday evening we arrived. We were told this may become a once-a-month event. The chefs prepared lovely tapas-sized treats which included fresh ingredients from the adjacent gardens.
We were provided a shuttle to the Kravis, as well as CityPlace. It all made for a great long weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin V, Guest Service Representative at Marriott West Palm Beach, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Everycontinent, thank you so much for the outstanding review of our property! I am delighted to hear you and your “gal pals” had a great time while you were here and had the opportunity to use all of our amenities and participate in our Bistro Ten Zero One’s garden party; we are very proud of the fresh, local products we provide to our guests! Thank you again for the lovely review and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in West Palm Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    141
    97
    25
    18
See reviews for
62
63
34
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I'll get to the problems and then focus on the good things this hotel has to offer. Although this hotel is close to the airport, unless you are a local this hotel is difficult to drive to; due to the convoluted road scheme it is situated in. I would not advise walking to the downtown area as suggested by several other posters...much safer to take a shuttle or taxi. The room I had was dated and needs an upgrade; reminded me of Marriott in the 1990's.

The Bistro was excellent. My sister and I had lunch and breakfast there and both meals were outstanding. We met the chef; who took us on a tour of his herb and vegetable garden on the property. This is where he grew his heritage tomatoes!
The pool area is very nice...clean pool, nicely landscaped and plenty of seating. This hotel is not more than 10 minutes to the airport; if you know the short cut.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin V, Guest Service Representative at Marriott West Palm Beach, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Sultan1950, thank you so much for the wonderful review of our Bistro Ten Zero One; I am thrilled you had a tour of our herb and vegetable garden with the chef. I am delighted to inform you we have recently renovated all of our guest rooms. The next time you are in West Palm Beach we look forward to your arrival and feedback regarding our newly renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is about 5 minutes from West Palm Beach airport and that was great, as we arrived at 8:30 at night and didn't want a long trek to a hotel. As with most Marriotts, it was clean and adequate. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is a nice little courtyard outdoors and an outdoor pool area which we enjoyed during our brief stay. It would have been nice if they would have taken a drink order in the courtyard, though.
The biggest surprise came in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was a let down. They didn't have much selection and when things ran out, they were not refilled in a timely manner. They also did not have eggs! (When does a buffet not have eggs)? You had to order them special and there is only one poor guy designated to do everyone's eggs, (and waffles). Other than that, everything else was just so-so. They bring a HUGE coffee pot to the table, but it's black plastic, so the waitress cannot see if it's full or not. Many times we were brought a container that had only enough for 2 cups of coffee (barely) although it was big enough for 10 cups. The best thing was the oatmeal...and the friendly staff. BUT - although breakfast was a let down, the lunch/dinner menu was superior in quality. We had most of our lunches and dinners there, selecting something different each time, and the food was excellent. Not gourmet, but much better than average. Did not expect this quality in a Marriott. And pretty inexpensive to boot!
One more downside - the bed was VERY uncomfortable. After 3 nights, we were in agony. Perhaps it was just our room? Also, forget amenities. No robe, no slippers, TINY sample shampoo, conditioner and body lotion bottles. I asked for extra because I needed conditioner, and they brought body lotion. Without glasses - I didn't realize this and used body lotion in my hair thinking it was the conditioner I asked for. Ugh. Also there was no soap dish near the sink. The soap had to sit on the counter or on the paper it came in. I mean, really. I'm not expecting the Ritz, but those things cost nothing. All in all, it's fine for a quick stopover or weekend, which is why we were there - just convenience, but I would not want to stay for a REAL vacation. I don't think my back or shoulders could take that mattress one more night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin V, Guest Service Representative at Marriott West Palm Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
skatelefty, thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. I am thrilled to hear you had the opportunity to utilize our courtyard and pool areas. In addition, thank you for your lovely review of our friendly staff. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed our lunch/dinner options at the Bistro 1001 however, saddened to hear of your overall experience. We will take the necessary steps to ensure the service and amenities exceed your expectations the next time you are in West Palm Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel seems to be one of contradictions.

At first, the location seemed odd...almost as if it's built in the middle of a highway interchange, but once we got outside of the hotel, we discovered how close it actually is to restaurants, City place, etc. It's also very close to the airport.

I've read complaints here about the hotel being run down and in need of refurbishment, and I sensed that too as soon as I stepped into the elevator...but once I got to our floor...it looked like a brand new hotel. Our room was spotless and perhaps was recently renovated, but certainly up to the Marriott brand standard.

Customer service was mixed. Upon check in, the front desk agent seemed apathetic and unwelcoming, however all of the drivers in the free shuttle (which we used a lot) were incredibly friendly and accomodating...they would take us where ever we wanted to go, and always showed up within five minutes of calling them to pick us up. This is a great service! Although City place isn't far, I'm not sure that I'd feel comfortable walking there by myself after dark.
Service in the restaurant was also mixed...although we only ever ate breakfast there.We had a great waitress named Rima (I think) who was always very friendly and helpful. But we also had another waitress who always seemed to be in a foul mood and just tolerated the customers.

One more thing about the breakfast....we always just had the buffet...but they do the eggs to custom order at the egg station....while in one way this is good.(fresh eggs done anyway you want)..it really slows down the buffet line. if you wanted eggs it could take up to 20 minutes to get through the buffet line....and even if you didn't get eggs, the line up for those waiting, slowed everyone down in the line....slow...slow...slow. They should at least have the usual scrammbled eggs on standby, for those who are in a hurry.

The pool was great...the water was warm and there was no problem getting pool chairs even when the pool was busy...as it was when we were there over Easter. Bar service at the pool was also good.

There is a self serve laundry which we used.

All in all it was a very pleasant stay and I would have no problem recommending this hotel as a place to stay in WPB.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin V, Guest Service Representative at Marriott West Palm Beach, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
123YHZ, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review of our property. The hotel was indeed renovated this past summer, and I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our new guest rooms. Thank you for your wonderful review of our shuttle drivers and Rima in Bistro 1001. We will review inconsistent service you received both from our staff and the buffet, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Next time you return to West Palm Beach we look forward to seeing you again and I know we will wow you with our service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location near the bustling City Place and PBI airport. Clean, well-managed hotel. Restaurant / bar, the Bistro, very nice. Many airline pilots / flight attendants stay here. Wedding parties, too. People who travel this much know what they're doing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin V, Guest Service Representative at Marriott West Palm Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Mark C, thank you so much for such a wonderful review of the property. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed our Bistro's farm to fork menu, as well as had the opportunity to explore the local area. We are looking forward to your return the next time you are in West Palm Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I travel frequently and this is one of the more shocking hotels I have stayed in.

This Marriott needs to be renovated in the worst way. The carpet in the rooms, the bathrooms, the curtains, elevators, etc.

This isn't the 90's anymore. A Marriott less than a mile from Palm Beach should up it's game and be a lot more stylish and modern.

Room Tip: Stay at the Breakers if you can afford it, if not go down the road to the Hampton Inn & Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin V, Guest Service Representative at Marriott West Palm Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Nathan J, thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding your stay at our property. It is disappointing to hear our rooms were not up to your standard and we will take it into consideration during our next renovation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicottville, New York
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a great location in West Palm Beach. It's not the Marriott chain's newest, glowing property but it's holding up well considering it's age. It's very close to the shopping/business area of downtown West Palm Beach, which is close to the beach. It's on the river so you can get a room with a nice view on either side. It's not close to the airport but an easy drive to it. Good option for business in West Palm Beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darin V, Guest Service Representative at Marriott West Palm Beach, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Broctoon, I am so delighted you had such a wonderful time at our hotel! We certainly are in a good location, and thank you for writing such a nice review about our property! Next time you are down for business we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott West Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott West Palm Beach

Address: 1001 Okeechobee Blvd, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in West Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott West Palm Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy various enhancements including a stunning guest room renovation inspired by the tranquil lifestyle and vibrant colors defining the West Palm Beach, FL, destination. Conveniently located near CityPlace, Kravis Center for Performing Arts, Cruzan Amphitheatre, Downtown West Palm, Palm Beach County Convention Center and Palm Beach International (PBI) Airport, our West Palm Beach hotel appeals to leisure and business travelers alike. Appreciate deluxe accommodations and unique amenities at our Marriott hotel in West Palm Beach, FL, including high-speed internet, complimentary airport shuttle and on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott West Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott West Palm Beach Hotel West Palm Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott West Palm Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.