We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms were even better than expected.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach

Save Saved
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Lamberton Drive, West Palm Beach, FL 33401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Rooms were even better than expected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here one night. Afterwards we could have stayed more nights but our other hotel was already booked unfortunately. If you are looking for an hotel while you are on the road and want to explore palm beach this would be an excellent choice. The hotel offers more than expected for its price.

The best thing about the hotel are its rooms. They are very spacious and they really do have everything you need. We had a standard room. At entrance you had the living area with a small kitchen, tv, coach, dinner table, fridge etc.. actually everything a small apartment has. The bathroom was also very spacious, it even had a make up table. Lastly the sleeping area. was also fine. It had a central AC so there was no noise. However you could hear some noise from outside as it was next to the freeway. But we were out a lot so every time we came home we were knock out for sleep till the next morning.

When I read the reviews and saw that it was next to the freeway I thought it would really look like those "fast" hotels just for a one night stay. But the opposite is true. the hotel is also next to a lake and the surroundings are actually very nice. The interior of the hotel is also very well maintained and has an inviting look.

The check in was also very fast and pleasant. They even had a complementary get together, with drinks and snacks the night we arrived. The breakfast is also ok. It is actually the same hot breakfast you get at any 3star hotel which offers a hot breakfast.

Overall very good value for your money hotel, which offers the extra space if needed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarkMichael, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear kimberleyevita,

I am so glad to find we exceeded your expectations. We know it is a constant journey and we welcome the challenge to continue to be the number 1 hotel in West Palm Beach by Tripadvisor travelers. Being a Senior Contributor I am sure you have many stories and we are grateful you had a great story to tell of our Hawthorn Suites. Please visit again.

Warmest Regards,
Michael Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    89
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
119
77
18
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I chose the Hawthorn Suites based on other Tripadvisor reviews. I had a 3 night stay which did not go so well from the very start. Check in was quick, but I wanted to pay cash and was told they still would hold $100 "incidental" fee against my card until check out. I did not like this policy, but was agreeable to keep my reservation. The room was found to be clean, roomy, comfortable and recently renovated. At 3AM there started to be a very loud noise that would not allow sleep, sounding like a vacuum cleaner behind the wall. After 2 hrs trying to sleep and hoping it would stop, I called the front desk and was told there were 5 staff memebers looking for the source of the noise. I requested a room change, and was told "the manager will be in at 7AM and will discuss it with you then". The manager was very apologetic and did offer a discount on the 1st night stay and a free upgrade for the remaining nights. I was told the noise was a plumbing problem between 2 rooms. The hotel appears to be an older renovated building and was being painted outside during our stay (the windows had plastic during our entire stay and the equipment took up half of the parking lot). During my stay I checked my card and found that the hotel had placed a hold of $271 on my card, even though I had paid cash, when I complained I was told the hold was released and my bank was still holding it, and it may last up to 5 days. Some additional notes about the hotel: the location is an easy drive to all WPB tourist attractions. The surrounding area requires hotel security services, and I did see at least 2 non-uniformed security during my entire lenght of stay. It appeared there were staff members living in the hotel, and some staff also were allowed to eat on the breakfast buffet while in uniform. Some notes on cleaning also: both rooms we were in had dirty light fixures, needed some dusting, and vacuuming. Both refrigerators had no ice though there were ice makers inside (no ice buckets avail in hotel, front desk will give you a ziplock bag full of ice). Our first room had only 1 large towel and no washcloths. Staff said they were being washed, and some were brought approx 2 hrs later. The hotel bfst was very good and hot, with an ample variety of food items. There was a 24 hr. beverage bar (coffee/tea) in the lobby, though not always open or well-stocked. On our last day of stay our room keys had been de-activated for no reason and had to be refreshed. Some rooms also had a locked cabinet as a safe box (FYI $250 fee if you lose the key), others had no such cabinet. The hotel desk offers a safe for valuables. During my stay one of the elevators was not functioning properly, then was down, and there is not stairwell to/from the lobby (it only is outside). I wish I could have offered a more favorable review, but unfortunately I was quite dissapointed in my stay with Hawthorn Suites and will not return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarkMichael, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear mayzeeo10,

Forgive me if you had a disappointing stay at our hotel. Our top rated Hawthorn Suites was a new build hotel in 2009 and being in our 5th year we are refreshing the exterior with a fresh paint. This will be an approximate 3 week process and will cause little interruption for our guests except for the brief covering of the windows with clear plastic and the lift being in the parking lot.

Our suites do have automatic ice makers in the full size refrigerators which require our guests to lower the ice arm to begin to make fresh ice, this allows your suite to have fresh ice as well is a green saving measure which we pride ourselves on being environmentally aware. During the (New ice process) we do have immediate ice use bags at the front desk which guests may use while the ice making process is happening, this ice bag can be emptied in the ice bin in your freezer.

I am happy to find you found the location, breakfast offerings enjoyable. The hotel does not have staff members living here although we do have some guests who stay for several months as we are an extended stay hotel with some of the largest suites in the area. As a courtesy to some guests who may not be able to make breakfast due to a personal issue our staff may get a plate together for them and deliver it to them.

I hope you enjoyed your upgrade to our Presidential Suite for 2 of the 3 nights you were here and please offer us the opportunity to host a future stay.

Regards,
Michael Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Clean, comfortable, helpful staff. This hotel gets a thumbs up! Only criticism would be breakfast was a bit weak. I will stay here again when in West Palm. Great location lots of parking. Staff helped me pick a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarkMichael, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear TomtheWeeklyTraveler,

I am so glad to find your top review of our hotel. We value your comments regarding the clean, comfortable location of our hotel. I am delighted to find our staff shared with you a good dining option. Please visit us again, and thank you for your top review.

Regards,
Michael Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Centre, MA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed here from December 19, 2012, until March 30, 2013. Hawthorn Suites became "our home", and the staff ~ each and every one ~ became our "Florida family"!! Everything was perfect from the time of our arrival until we had to say, "Goodbye"!! We look forward to returning in December, 2013, and staying in our ""Florida home" until April 30th. There is no place else we would rather be. The staff is professional, friendly, and truly cares about its guests. The hotel is cleaned to perfection constantly. The breakfast is excellent and served in a spectacular room. The laundry room is spotless ~ located on the main floor as are the computer room and the fitness center!!


The rooms are quiet and set up as one-bedroom apartments. The "kitchen" is a wall in the living room area. It contains GE stainless appliances ~ full-size refrigerator, microwave, two-burner stove top, dishwasher, garbage disposer, and an ice maker in the freezer!! All necessary dishes and cooking utensils are provided as well as coffee maker, toaster, and colander!! Even the paper towels, dish washing soap, and sponges are provided by the hotel!! The bathrooms are terrific with a high sink, great shower, nice vanity table and fluffy towels. The decor throughout the hotel is elegant ~ always polished and dusted!!! The location off of I-95 at Exit 71 is so convenient and the Kravis Center, Clematis Street, City Place, Palm Beach, and the airport are all "around the corner". Palm Beach Gardens is not too far away!! As we said, Hawthorn Suites in West Palm Beach is perfect!! We highly recommend it!!!

Review written by "N and M"!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are the same. We think your experience will be perfect, wherever you're placed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClarkMichael, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Nancy and Marty,

Thank you for your kind words. We have missed you, and look forward to your visit in December. I especially miss our visits during the Monday-Wednesday Managers Reception. The front desk staff miss your (mail check) every day and the whole hotel offer their best. Have a safe and healthy summer.

Warmest Regards,
Michael Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach

Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham West Palm Beach Hotel
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham West Palm Beach Hotel West Palm Beach
West Palm Hawthorn Suites
West Palm Beach Hawthorn Suites
Address: 301 Lamberton Drive, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in West Palm Beach
#1 Family Hotel in West Palm Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in West Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel with very convenient location to businesses and local attractions and events located only 2.3 miles from Palm Beach International airport.Whether you're embarking on a temporary assignment, or in need of a place to stay when relocating to West Palm Beach, Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham is the perfect hotel. Featuring one and two bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens with all utensils and a well lit work area with free WiFi and a 31" flat panel TV.We are serving free of charge a full hot breakfast daily. We invite you to come down to our Social Hour, twice a week in our Lobby, for a complimentary glass of wine, beer or soft drink together with selected snacks.Sign up for our Wyndham Rewards Program and benefit from Wyndham Hotels large network of participating point-redemption companies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.