We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Strong Coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howley's Restaurant

Howley's Restaurant
4700 South Dixie Highway, West Palm Beach, FL 33405
561-833-5691
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 565 Restaurants in West Palm Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Russlyn
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Food Strong Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I now have had breakfast at Howley's on two occasions and there food is delicious.
There coffee however is harsh, too strong. Not only that but they give you a plastic stirrer to stir your coffee, what no spoons?? Every breakfast place should make there coffee the best it can be, because that helps to determine how good a place really is!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    66
    30
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eclectic locales favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This unique dinning venue with their own special take on every meal. Very casual atmosphere and attitude. We had wings, fried green tomatoes and their special version of nachos for appetizers. All very good. My husband had crab cakes. He said they were the best crab cakes he has ever had. He also had lima beans which were slightly charred. He mentioned that to the server as we were leaving and he just kind of chucked and said "I know", hence the casual attitude. I had a Pitata and Brisket burrito with black beans and rice. very good. The atmosphere is rather loud but fun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“unpredictable service, B on food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This used to be a favorite for a neighborhood breakfast spot but its a bit spotty on attitude and service. the hostess often seems overwhelmed, servers are great one week and mediocre the next. the food can be very good and then they mix up the simplest order. I still go because is it convenient but sometimes I am not in the mood for inept help. but do they make you feel welcome and gracious- on this they score a C. it is very reasonably priced and better than some of the other local fare in same area just aggravating at times.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious with generous portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We had a party of five. Each ordered a different sandwich: ahi tuna, mahi mahi blackened and one fried, shrimp salad, and a French dip. All came with French fries or sweet potato fries. They all came out at the right temp and all at the same time. Although we were quite full, we shared one delicious dessert of strawberry shortcake ala mode with five spoons. So big. So worth the calories!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

A friend told me about this place so we decided to check it out for breakfast. The diner has an 50's charm to it without being a 50's diner if that makes any sense. The food is very good. My wife had a breakfast sandwich that was delicious and I order the American which is a standard 2 egg breakfast. The sandwich was the winner. The staff was friendly and attentive even as the restaurant become very busy. It's on the pricey side, but the food, atmosphere and people are worth it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howley's Restaurant also viewed

West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 
West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Howley's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howley's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.