We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tropical Paradise Downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Hibiscus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Beach Hibiscus to your Saves list
Palm Beach Hibiscus
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   213 South Rosemary Avenue, West Palm Beach, FL 33401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Tropical Paradise Downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Bustling West Palm Beach's downtown is just a two-minute walk away and swank Palm Beach is only five minutes by car. But, at the Palm Beach Hibiscus, one gets the feel of an oasis on a tropical isle. Two comfortable structures, each of which could easily fit onto a Caribbean Beach, house the B&B. In between, lovely gardens include a charming bar. A welcoming sangria provides a delightful opening to a couple of relaxing days in paradise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    27
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
78
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I love B & B's I would say this one was not worth the cost unless you really want to go shopping in west palm. It had a carb filled breakfast so I could only eat the yogurt and fruit so I ended up buying my own breakfast. The rooms were average nothing special, I was fine with the music and entertainment that and the location was the only things I liked.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

great location within walking distance to city place. charming old hotel attractively updated, excellent beds, warm and helpful hosts, terrific backyard bar, outstanding food from 5 - 9 prepared by master chef/co-manager, very key west feel - i couldn't have had a better time!!

Room Tip: i stayed in the fern room, the smallest of all - loved it, but it does overlook the bar area so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

First time living in a bed and breakfast. Actually, it wasn't bad at all. I was upgraded to the Veranda room which was a bonus. It was very spacious! Very friendly and down to earth people. Location was excellent walking distance to a grocery store and to all the main shops.

Make sure you mention you have AAA or CAA to get your 10% discount. They don't ask you at all.

The stay was good except for the constant noise coming from the street and the train which came every couple of hours. There was a musk smell in the room which I didn't mind.

Room Tip: If you don't mind noises at night and location is everything to you then definitely stay here. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffHarmon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed in the Gardenia Room on a recent two day business trip. I could not get any communication with anyone. Called and left a message and emailed a week in advance and no one ever replied. I never really saw the main house as it was under renovation so I can't speak to that but the Gardenia Room was pretty average. The bed was very uncomfortable. I couldn't find a thermostat and because no one was around I just made do with the broken ceiling fan controls.

The worst part of the stay was the karaoke which was bad, loud, and often crude and went way too late. So make sure you check to see that there isn't anything happening at the bar during your stay that you don't want blasted into your room.

The best part of the Hibiscus is it's location. It is very centrally located.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Loved this place-warm and friendly people! Great bar and brunch. Will be staying there again plus walking distance to everything. The location is excellent- I felt like I was in the Florida keys while I was there. Staff is welcoming and make you feel as if your staying with friends-couldn't do enough.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were introduced to this wonderful little gem at a charity event. What we found was great food, wonderful music and a charming place for a party. Our holiday party was one of the best. We had wonderful seating areas on the porch. The food and the service were 5 star.

If you are looking for warmth, charm, friendly and fun. This is your place. I highly recommend the Palm Beach Hibiscus House and The Backyard Bar / Cordon Bleu Catering, Mel and her staff.

Janice Williams
Vice President
Matrix Home Care, LLC

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Hibiscus

Address: 213 South Rosemary Avenue, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Beach Hibiscus 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Hibiscus is a charming boutique Bed and Breakfast with Key West style ambiance. A hidden tropical oasis in the heart of Downtown West Palm Beach. Conveniently located between City Place & Clematis Street, a short stroll to movie theaters, restaurants, nightclubs, shopping, art galleries, & specialty stores. Also, close to Palm Beach Convention Center, The Kravis Center, Norton Museum and the sandy shores of Palm Beach. The free trolley stops right at our door. Each of our well appointed guest rooms have their own private bathroom, some with claw foot tub or Jacuzzi bath. A hearty continental breakfast is served each morning in our dining room. Wireless Internet service and flat screen televisions enhance your room amenities. Enjoy the tropical atmosphere while sipping a favorite cocktail, glass of wine or beer. Choose a delicious appetizer or dinner from the new inspired menu at Our Backyard Bar at the Hibiscus. Come visit and experience extraordinary service from the staff. The Palm Beach Hibiscus is your home away from home whether on business, pleasure or simply looking for a staycation closer to home in West Palm Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Palm Beach Hibiscus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hibiscus Hotel West Palm Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Hibiscus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.