We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vibe - a Key West feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Hibiscus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Palm Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Beach Hibiscus
213 South Rosemary Avenue, West Palm Beach, FL 33401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great vibe - a Key West feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A beautiful grand old house just a short walk from the intercoastal waterway and shopping. The host and staff were so gracious, and the tiki bar in the back yard is adorable. I was visiting friends, but relaxed at the bar before and after, and had a lot of great laughs. And the breakfasts? OMG! One day it was a fresh light blueberry pancake and the next day it was farmer's market cranberry-walnut bread made into french toast. Both were so light and the presentation was lovely. I don't usually eat breakfast, but this was guilt-free (after a short run to Palm Beach and back). A great place to stay, and as a single traveller I really appreciated having a nice low,key place to unwind. I would go back to West Palm just to stay here again!

Room Tip: I had the room overlooking the bar, but I stayed up later than they did so it was never a noise issu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    23
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
56
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

A lovely B&B located cetrally to everything I needed. The rooms a clean and comfy with large bathrooms. The breafast included was prepared by Pat who is the most wonderful host I have found in my travels and can make a pancake a thing of beatuy. I just get the feeling that the people here care about themselves and consequently would be doing themselves an injustice if they treated the guests with any less respect. They have a lively patio bar that had music and a great mix of people who are locals, all around Florida and other parts of the country like my group. I had stayed here two years ago and when I returned this time I couldn't believe how great it was to see Pat and the success the place has been having as they continue to attract a loyal following. I will only stay here when in this area. They earned by business.

Room Tip: If you get to bed prior to 10:30 at night pick a room that faces away from the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Charming two small houses joined by an outdoor bar. We enjoyed the decor of the Evernia room, which we picked for its French posters. Fine location. But, one pane of glass in one of our windows was out and replaced by Saran Wrap. The drain cover in the shower was loose and not screwed in. The globe for the overhead fan-light had a crack. The housekeeper started cleaning downstairs with a strong ammonia solution in the hall adjacent to the breakfast room. Breakfast was a good fruit cocktail, followed by a plate of English muffins, grits with honey, and a flat, not particularly tasty omelet, and weak coffee. The host-cook was quite friendly, though; with attention to these details this place could shine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed her for one night only (unfortunately). Stayed in the Fern Room - very comfortable. City Place was great and very close. Best part was our fun in "the Backyard Bar" - drinking lime basil margueritas, the tapas food, great band, and fun meeting lots of people. An excellent, excellent experience. Pat is a great host and Jimmy sets a great atmosphere out back.
The Chapmans

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great, small B&B. We stayed in the Gardenia Suite. It was charming and had an island type feel. Comfortable beds and pillows, ample closet space for even the heaviest of packers, large bathroom, ceiling fans with remotes, and a small tv. Road noise might be a complaint for only the pickiest of travelers. On the weekends the place buzzes with what seemed to be tourist and locals alike enjoying food and drink. Received an overwhelming friendly welcome upon arrival, along with complimentary drink tickets for the outside(under the wrap around porch) bar. Prime location, within walking distance to dining, shopping, and nightlife. I-95 and the beach are only short drive away. Publix(grocery store) located next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I could not imagine a nicer, charming and more inviting retreat than the Palm Beach Hibiscus for a stay in the West Palm Beach area. It is truly an oasis in the PBI/CityPlace locale. I have stayed in several of the rooms over the years and each one is magical in its own way, tastefully appointed and exceptionally comfortable. It is like being in Key West, yet literally steps away from business and leisure activities. As a business traveler who is on the road 2-3 days weekly, I am keen on certain amenities and standards. For sure, the Palm Beach Hibiscus meets them all. The added bonus is the wonderful and bountiful breakfasts and the evening drinks, food and vintage wines at the outdoor bar. I highly recommend the Palm Beach Hibiscus for leisure or business.... if you are fortunate you will stay when the Backyard Bar is having a wine pairing event.... if not, you will want to come back just for that!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is an old Victorian style house on the edge of the main street in West Palm Beach. It's a great location from which you can walk to City Place to visit restaurants and shops in a great small city atmosphere. Palm Beach is just across the bridge, with nice ocean beaches, a great bike trail. The room we stayed in was the Rosemary, which had a small sitting area with a desk, small frig, and a wicker bench, as well as the larger room with a comfortable queen bed and a large bathroom with both a shower and a jaccuzzi tub. Breakfasts were omelets two days and blueberry pancakes the other. Coffee, fresh fruit and juice rounded out the complete breakfast. The manager Pat was very helpful, and the bar is a nice place for a drink on a warm evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palm Beach Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Hibiscus

Address: 213 South Rosemary Avenue, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Hibiscus is a charming boutique Bed and Breakfast with Key West style ambiance. A hidden tropical oasis in the heart of Downtown West Palm Beach. Conveniently located between City Place & Clematis Street, a short stroll to movie theaters, restaurants, nightclubs, shopping, art galleries, & specialty stores. Also, close to Palm Beach Convention Center, The Kravis Center, Norton Museum and the sandy shores of Palm Beach. The free trolley stops right at our door.Each of our well appointed guest rooms have their own private bathroom, some with claw foot tub or Jacuzzi bath. A hearty continental breakfast is served each morning in our dining room. Wireless Internet service and flat screen televisions enhance your room amenities. In addition, as a guest of the Palm Beach Hibiscus you are invited to attend afternoon social hour with the Innkeepers. Complimentary beverages and snacks are served on the wonderful front porch of the Palm Beach Hibiscus, providing an opportunity to get acquainted with other guests and make new friends.After social hour, venture into the courtyard, home of Backyard Bar at the Hibiscus, you will feel like you are in Key West. Enjoy the tropical atmosphere while sipping a favorite cocktail, glass of wine or beer. Choose a delicious appetizer from our new menu. Come visit and experience extraordinary service from the staff. The Palm Beach Hibiscus is your home away from home whether on business, pleasure or simply looking for a staycation closer to home in West Palm Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hibiscus Hotel West Palm Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Hibiscus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Palm Beach Hibiscus to your Saves list
;