We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Staying with Family, Only Less Annoying” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Beach Hibiscus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Palm Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palm Beach Hibiscus
Save Saved
You added Palm Beach Hibiscus to your Saves list
213 South Rosemary Avenue, West Palm Beach, FL 33401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% Off Second Night
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“Like Staying with Family, Only Less Annoying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Great, small B&B. We stayed in the Gardenia Suite. It was charming and had an island type feel. Comfortable beds and pillows, ample closet space for even the heaviest of packers, large bathroom, ceiling fans with remotes, and a small tv. Road noise might be a complaint for only the pickiest of travelers. On the weekends the place buzzes with what seemed to be tourist and locals alike enjoying food and drink. Received an overwhelming friendly welcome upon arrival, along with complimentary drink tickets for the outside(under the wrap around porch) bar. Prime location, within walking distance to dining, shopping, and nightlife. I-95 and the beach are only short drive away. Publix(grocery store) located next door.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    23
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
57
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I could not imagine a nicer, charming and more inviting retreat than the Palm Beach Hibiscus for a stay in the West Palm Beach area. It is truly an oasis in the PBI/CityPlace locale. I have stayed in several of the rooms over the years and each one is magical in its own way, tastefully appointed and exceptionally comfortable. It is like being in Key West, yet literally steps away from business and leisure activities. As a business traveler who is on the road 2-3 days weekly, I am keen on certain amenities and standards. For sure, the Palm Beach Hibiscus meets them all. The added bonus is the wonderful and bountiful breakfasts and the evening drinks, food and vintage wines at the outdoor bar. I highly recommend the Palm Beach Hibiscus for leisure or business.... if you are fortunate you will stay when the Backyard Bar is having a wine pairing event.... if not, you will want to come back just for that!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is an old Victorian style house on the edge of the main street in West Palm Beach. It's a great location from which you can walk to City Place to visit restaurants and shops in a great small city atmosphere. Palm Beach is just across the bridge, with nice ocean beaches, a great bike trail. The room we stayed in was the Rosemary, which had a small sitting area with a desk, small frig, and a wicker bench, as well as the larger room with a comfortable queen bed and a large bathroom with both a shower and a jaccuzzi tub. Breakfasts were omelets two days and blueberry pancakes the other. Coffee, fresh fruit and juice rounded out the complete breakfast. The manager Pat was very helpful, and the bar is a nice place for a drink on a warm evening.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I travel to Palm Beach several times a month. I always stay at Hibiscus House. Even if it weren't convenient, charming, comfy, and reasonable, I would stay just because of Pat, the Innkeeper Par Excellence. Pat's southern charm, warm welcome, and fine hospitality brand the Hibiscus House for all who know it and continue to return. The HH bar is a favorite of both guests and neighbors -- Palm Beachers and West Palm Beachers for whom this is their local version of Cheers -- and Pat and Randy can often be found there in the evenings greeting guests and tipping a glass with friends.

Pat couldn't be a better innkeeper and host. He always remembers my favorite breakfast. When my travel mirror broke in transit, he offered to drive across town and get me a new one. When I accidentally left a scarf in their closet, Pat tracked me down at the Norton Museum of Art to return it -- even though I was coming back again in just a few days!

When I have to be away from family this much, Pat and Randy and Kenny are a great extended family, and Hibiscus House is a great "home away from home."
If you visit, you'll probably see me there.

Jackie

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

This was our second stay at the Hibiscus and loved it as much the second time as the first. Only thing I was sad to see is the tiki bar change, I liked the old feel better but will say Jimmy is a kick!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We found the Palm Beach Hibiscus in Frommer's Travel Guide, and we were happy with our choice. The location is excellent with only a short walk to CityPlace which we visited often.

Pat was extremely helpful, and his breakfasts were delicious. We loved his French Toast. Because the Fern Room was not available our first night, we stayed in the Evernia Room the first night. While we were touring the next day, Pat moved our luggage to the Fern Room for us.



Parking was no problem our entire stay.

Room Tip: Our favorite room was the Fern Room. It is located over the outside bar, but there was no noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed her with a girlfriend for one night during her bachelorette party. While the b&b itself was very quiet and comfortable, the area surrounding the b&b was great. There are so many great shops and tasty restaurants.

The man who runs this hotel is an angel. My friend and I got caught in the rain and couldn't get out to the places we wanted to grab some mimosas. The hotel didn't serve alcohol unless the bar was open so we were kinda stuck. But the manager/owner was so nice and brought us out a whole bottle of champagne and oj on the house! He also let us stay past the check out time because we were waiting for our friends.

Great service ! The rooms were very clean and comfortable

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Beach Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Hibiscus

Address: 213 South Rosemary Avenue, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in West Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Beach Hibiscus is a charming boutique Bed and Breakfast with Key West style ambiance. A hidden tropical oasis in the heart of Downtown West Palm Beach. Conveniently located between City Place & Clematis Street, a short stroll to movie theaters, restaurants, nightclubs, shopping, art galleries, & specialty stores. Also, close to Palm Beach Convention Center, The Kravis Center, Norton Museum and the sandy shores of Palm Beach. The free trolley stops right at our door. Each of our well appointed guest rooms have their own private bathroom, some with claw foot tub or Jacuzzi bath. A hearty continental breakfast is served each morning in our dining room. Wireless Internet service and flat screen televisions enhance your room amenities. Enjoy the tropical atmosphere while sipping a favorite cocktail, glass of wine or beer. Choose a delicious appetizer or dinner from the new inspired menu at Our Backyard Bar at the Hibiscus. Come visit and experience extraordinary service from the staff. The Palm Beach Hibiscus is your home away from home whether on business, pleasure or simply looking for a staycation closer to home in West Palm Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hibiscus Hotel West Palm Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Beach Hibiscus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.