We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun field trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Okeeheelee Park

Okeeheelee Park
7715 Forest Hill Blvd, West Palm Beach, FL 33413-3337
561 233 1400
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Lake Worth, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“fun field trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

What a neat place to take a field trip. We did dip net fishing here and all the kids had a blast. We caught difftent fish and brought them inside to learn about them. Lots of fun for everyone.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    37
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“My Favorite Park in Palm Beach County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have been to Okeeheelee Many many times. I love this place! There is a great exercise trail with many additional options to stay fit, there are numerous pavilions that can be rented for special occasions, there are small pavilions for free to use with fire pits for having a BBQ. There are numerous lakes - one where you can rent paddle-boats during certain times of the year, as well as areas for water skiing - which they host several big competitions throughout the year. There is a Nature center with live animal exhibits & they also host different club activities revolving around nature as well as guided nature walks. They have a very well-maintained set of nature trails featuring the different types of landscape found in Florida along with lots of native wildlife including the Florida deer and the ground tortoise. I have seen many types of birds including the red-tailed hawk and great horned owls. I love this place so much I rented a pavilion and had my wedding here overlooking one of the lakes (Tuckahoe pavilion).
If you are an outdoor person - this is one of the biggest and most well-maintained parks in all of Palm Beach County.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This was an awesome park. We did the Segway tour here and it was so fun! I wish we lived here and could use it more.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great way to while away an afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Whatever you want to do outside you can probably do it here. There's 8 miles of paved bike paths, there's BBQs, there's a ton of open space to just take in some fresh air.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great park for outdoor activities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Okeehelee is a little bit underrated maybe because it's away from the center of the city, in the SW West Palm Beach area. It is very close to me though, so that's good...!

Seriously, the place is very beautiful, you can do a lot of activities, from fitness trail (one mile) to Nature Center guided walks/tours to play baseball, soccer, canoing or kayaking in the lake...you name it.

Especially December to March, when the temperature becomes reasonable (under 80 degrees, I mean) I enjoy this park very much.

Well kept, you can go there to play or just to cool off and relax under a tree.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okeeheelee Park also viewed

 

Been to Okeeheelee Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Okeeheelee Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.