We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss This One.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Sugar

Palm Sugar
340 Clematis St., West Palm Beach, FL 33401
+1 561-820-9206
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Palm Sugar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 565 Restaurants in West Palm Beach
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Dixie Hwy
Description: This concept started from our creator's passion for food, and a vision to add innovative, exotic, and genuine flavors of Southeast Asian to our dining experiences. We focus on quality ingredients freshly prepared, and warm customer services.
MENTOR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This One.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great food at a reasonable price even for someone who is not a big fan of Asian food. There are some unusual dishes that you ought to try. Have been there twice and was greated by the friendly opwner both times. It is now on our list of regular resturants.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“picked the wrong place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

first the music was way to loud and i dont know why they had music playing anyway? this was a chinese restaurant but had loud dance music in the back ground and was hard to talk and listen.
the food was just ok, had the 'pot-stickers' they were good, i had the 'noodles' which were ok, my wife had the 'fish special' which was awful my wife didnt eat it, the fish was dry and no taste , we also had the 'chicken' and that to was ok, we wont go here again,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not your regular Thai restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Had lunch at this nice place on Clematis. Nice atmosphere, the food is based on traditional Thai food w a bit of a twist. There is a bar area and a dessert and coffee area to the left. We started with the fish tacos (2 servings) which was a small soft taco Thai style with a piece of fried fish. I thought the taco was just okay but my husband really liked it. My husband then had the Street Food Special: 1/2 grilled lemon grass chicken, side papaya salad and sticky rice. The chicken was perfect and could be shared by two. I had the Pho beef noodle beef brisket soup. I know that this is a Vietnamese dish but had to try it. This was very similar to a traditional Thai soup but, with Pho noodles with a nice mix of herbs and a meatball in addition to the brisket. The broth was good with a nice garlic taste. The brisket was well cooked before it went in the soup so, I will get this again with the brisket on the side (to add myself) and less well done. Our waiter was very attentive and many of the staff Thai. Unfortunately the desserts in the case were not Thai desserts. I was told that this restaurant is owned by the same people who own Kabuki down the street. We will come again.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been more pleased!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My son and I were visiting W Palm Beach and found this restaurant by chance. It was a wonderful food experience for both of us. The entire staff and the owner were pleased to serve us and very attentive without being overbearing. The street dishes were outstanding and very affordable. The main dishes were excellent as well. We ordered the cupcakes to go but were disappointed in them. The flavor was great but they were dry and not as fresh as they should have been.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't let the name fool you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is restaurant has the best Thai food I have ever had. They have great normal dishes and a special street dish menu that are all fantastic. The service is excellent as well. They also have other Asian inspired dishes that will make you want to come back. We have been here for lunch, brunch, and dinner and have always been very impressed.

To satisfy your sweet tooth, make sure to try one of their gourmet cupcakes for desert.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Sugar also viewed

 
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Palm Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Sugar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.