We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best :(” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Sugar

Palm Sugar
340 Clematis St., West Palm Beach, FL 33401
+1 561-820-9206
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Palm Sugar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 565 Restaurants in West Palm Beach
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: N Dixie Hwy
Description: This concept started from our creator's passion for food, and a vision to add innovative, exotic, and genuine flavors of Southeast Asian to our dining experiences. We focus on quality ingredients freshly prepared, and warm customer services.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average at best :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Cool atmosphere, Cool menu, food simply average ! There are several Thai restaurants in town with better food, especially for the money. If you are looking for a nice atmosphere and not concerned about the taste of your food, this is the place for you.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent dinner experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is one of my new favorite restaurants! The food was great (I highly recommend the shrimp wonton soup), the staff was the best I've had in years. You will find the nicest people working at Palm Sugar, and they will be sure to make you're meal a great one!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Strange mix that works”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I think Palm Sugar had been open about 6 months but this was my first visit. It's a mix of Asian Cuisines, a Bar and a Cupcake Shop.
I had the Pork Buns which were a twist on the famous ones from Momofuku N.Y.and delicious. Followed by an excellent Pad Thai which had just the right amount of heat ( I chose 4 out of 5 on the heat scale). We had some Mini Cupcakes to go ,just to try them out. Our Thai waitress was very pleasant and the service was good.
This is a good addition to WPB and I will be going back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Very friendly and highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you like Thai food you can't go wrong here. Staff is very friendly and service is good. Owner Sang understands that if the food is authentic and good, staff is well trained, that customers will come back and refer others. I will definitely come back again to try some of the other dishes. I had the pork belly and pork skewers, white rice, and the hot soup, very delicious, unfortunately I forgot to tell them I don't like cilantro and any raw onions. All in all, a great dining experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York, USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Smart, Sleek Asian Fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This very sleek and well designed Thai restaurant in West Palm Beach is a must-see for casual "Pacific region" dinig. Casula but smart, the interior is very cool. The menu, however, is the star attraction--many noodle dishes inspired by Japanes cuisine, many Thai classics (you have to try the green papaya sald!), and scores of clever choices that include chicken, seafood, tofu and beef. All in all, a fine spot for dinner--and unusually, a very good and affordable wine list. Excellent New Zealand Sauvignon Blancs at only $7 per glass!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Sugar also viewed

 
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Palm Sugar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Sugar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.