We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malakor Thai Cafe

Malakor Thai Cafe
425 25th St, West Palm Beach, FL 33407-5407
561-762-9070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 550 Restaurants in West Palm Beach
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai, Noodle
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went for lunch during the week. Cute little tiki patio in the back where we ate. Our server was very friendly and made sure we knew what we were ordering and didn't order too much food. The pleasant surprise was the balance in the ginger salad dressing that came with our lunch order. Appetizers were pricey as they were close to the same as a main course. All four of us commented on the great flavor and quality of food. Would definitely recommend and would eat here again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very nice, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

First impressions were correct. This is a very authentic Thai restaurant, with great decor and atmosphere. They have a small sushi bar, also. The restaurant is fairly small, which makes it nice a cozy. A good place for a romantic dinner. There is outdoor seating and pick-up service.
The menu selection was great and even includes Vietnamese Pho. The place is a little pricey though. We visited on a Saturday evening and the place was full. Worth calling ahead to make a reservation, as there is only about 15 tables, inside. We look forward to returning, but not too oftne, due to high prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“love this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

i love this place, but they have to change their menu. Its always the same they have to be more creative.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Scrumptious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We ate soooo many dishes and all were absolutely scrumptious!

Appetizers included Crispy Money Bag (so unusual, so tasty), Spring Roll (well prepared with a delightful sprig of mint and a wonderful honey peanut sauce), and Crispy Calamari (so light they could have floated off the plate).

Dinners included Massaman Curry (best we've ever tasted!), Lad Nar Noodles (mild, just the way one of our guests preferred), Drunken Noodles (oh so spicy good) and Chilean Sea Bass fillet to die for.

We were so in love with the food that we just had to sample the desserts: Pumpkin Custard (very unusual with an extremely fresh-from-the-garden taste), Volcano Banana (who would have thought that black beans make a great dessert topping?), Green Tea Ice Cream (as good as I had in Japan), and Sticky Rice with Taro & Coconut Cream (sticky, creamy and wonderful).

The service was incomparable. We were attended to at all times courteously and promptly and never did anyone hover noticeably or interfere with our enjoyment.

And if the fantastic food weren't enough, this establishment is so pleasing to be in and look at. The artwork on the walls, the soothing eclectic music, the table settings: tasteful, unusual, captivating.

Can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good little cafe/restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Simple unpretentious little restaurant, in a relatively quiet street in West Palm. We came here tonight following the recommendations of the trip advisors' readers. We were not disappointed. The food was good to very good. The service prompt and courteous, the prices reasonable. Small parking next to the restaurant and on the street. We will return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malakor Thai Cafe also viewed

 
West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Malakor Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malakor Thai Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.