We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kabuki Sushi Thai Tapas

Kabuki Sushi Thai Tapas
308 N Clematis Street, West Palm Beach, FL 33401
5618336349
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 551 Restaurants in West Palm Beach
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Tapas, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Clematis St and N Olive Ave
Description: Rated "A" by the Palm Beach Post, Kabuki is a stunning modern Asian eatery enhanced by decorative lighting fixtures that create a dimly-lit, inviting atmosphere. There's a long, full liquor bar and a sushi bar in the rear of the restaurant which provides an opportunity to watch the sushi chefs in action. The menu is large and varied, offering both cooked and raw dishes, with an emphasis on small plates. You'll find everything from Thai-style Spring Rolls to Asian Empanadas. There's also a wide selection of Nigiri sushi and rolls as well as noodle and rice dishes, curries and stir-fries. Teriyaki dishes can be savored from the Japanese grill, along with a handful of entrees such as the succulent Crispy Duck or whole Fried Snapper, plus creative desserts like Thai Donuts with dipping sauce and Banana Tempura with ice cream.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stopped by for Sunday lunch. $12 menu included a choice of rolls, an entree, soup or salad. Went with spicy tuna, chicken Penang, and house salad. Spicy sauce was more like a sweet chilli on the tuna - didn't really have a kick. Plentiful, though - 8 pcs.

Penang was decent, although asked for it 'pet' (spicy) and it came fairly mild. Good flavour, not quite authentic. Was offered brown rice which is a plus. House salad was the standard fare with ginger dressing.

Partner had chicken teriyaki. Was tasty but not quite authentic. Overall, very good value for $30 inc. tax + tip.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“The perfect panang curry.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Downtown restaurants come and go and the quality is hit or miss. Some places, like Rocco's Tacos next door, succeed on their atmosphere more than their food. But lunch at Kabuki nails it. My panang was hot, as I requested, not barely spicy, the vegetables were fresh and perfectly cooked, not soggy. The presentation was beautiful and it was a lot of food. This and soup or salad for a 9 dollar lunch special - cant be beat! The sushi looked very good, I'm trying that next time.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

My first time eating there was approximately 3 months ago. I have been going back just about everyday since. The food is impeccable. The service I am a stickler for. I have experienced every waiter/waitress there, and they are great! I love this restaurant!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sushi Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Got to go to Kabuki today for the first time and i was very satisfied with the food and service.
We were a lunch celebration 2 birthdays and we had 8 people, staff found us a big enough table at a busy time of the day.
GreAt JB rolls sushi and i also had their beef Pat Thai.
portions are perfect both salad or soup are a great choice.

Lunch menu specials is the way to go, you your choice of 2 different sushi or a cooked meal option.

i would definately would go back.
You cant go wrong with Kabuki

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The sushi rolls are massive and have a tremendous amount of fish in them. The fish is fresh and the rolls are inventive and extremely appetizing without being hosed down with every sauce most sushi places will do. Recommend x100, best sushi I have come across in the WPB area (still have to try Yu-Mi.)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabuki Sushi Thai Tapas also viewed

West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Kabuki Sushi Thai Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kabuki Sushi Thai Tapas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.