We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabondi - CLOSED

Vagabondi
319 Belvedere Road #2, West Palm Beach, FL 33405
(561)-249 2281
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We went here with friends at their suggestion. We had heard good things about and were curious. The reviews in Trip Advisor were right on. This place is great. It is tiny and perhaps can hold 28-30 people. There is seating outside for maybe 12 people. Reservations are a must. The menu may not overwhelm anyone but the dishes are prepared and presented tastefully. I shared calamari as an appetizer which was tender and had a spicy sauce. My wife has a beef salad which she gave two thumbs up. Two of us had the ravioli which was phenomenal. Another had cobia which was a special and another had barley risotto with porcini and wild mushrooms. The wines seemed fairly priced and we took our servers suggestions. Prices ran from $10 to $39. The former was for an appetizer and the latter for an entree. Parking is tight but there is more parking at the adjacent shopping area. The bread was to die for and it was homemade. The desserts were, also, very tasty. It's was a wonderful dinner and we'll be going back soon. Reservations are a must.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    17
    4
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“intimate italian gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

we love the feeling of an intimate but sophisticated dining experience. daily special on the board as you enter, white table cloth setting, interesting appetizers, great warmth. we willee go back frequently.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Little Known Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Small restaurant run by the former executive chef of the Ritz Carlton in Key Biscayne. He really knows what he's doing. High end Italian dishes to die for. Never knew anyone who didn't really like this place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem for locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

I am a huge Italian loving foodie that has lived in the west palm beach area for 25 years.. How did this restaurant escape me?? I have dined at them all and needing something different I looked locally at Trip Advisor and found Vagabondi. This is truly a well kept secret for many of the islanders. Very small, only 10 tables but intimate and not crowded. Wine only for alcohol. The menu has about 8 appetizers and 8 entrees. There were 4 blackboard specials. Service was on target. Bread offered was an olive Italian crusty selection served with a seasoned olive oil with a hint of rosemary. A nice palate teaser for what was coming. I started with pecino peppers stuffed with goat cheese served with arugula/balsamic and fried eggplant that was sliced so thin you know there was an expert chef with a great mandolin back there! It all came together beautifully. My entree was Fettuccine which was freshly made and tosses with mushrooms and tomatoes, and a wonderful truffle sauce topped with shaved parmigiana. This dish is making me salivate just describing it! That first bite with the pop of truffle was exquisite! I will now be one of the locals here for sure. Reservations are a must and it is a seasonal restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It can't get better than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Whenever we invite guests to join us at Vagabondi restaurant in west palm beach, Florida, we always have to give them very explicit directions or else we'll get a frantic phone call..."help, we're losi!".....this tucked away spot, with only thirty five seats, is a hidden jewel, favored by well travelled foodies from neighboring Palm Beach....the parking lot fills up with expensive gleaming new European imports and the stylish crowd inside makes it feel like a private beachside club on the Mediterranean....amazing fresh catch fish of the day highlights the menu with the freshest of fresh salads, pasta like your imaginary grandmother used to make and nightly beef and chicken specials, along with homemade sweets and an impressive, well priced wine list....Fernando heads up the room and Carlos creates magic in the kitchen, tho he frequently pops out from behind the stove to check in with diners at every table....if you didn't know better you would think you were in an discovered fishing village in Italy or France....every meal we've had at Vagabondi has been memorable....we're going tonite as a matter of fact, which prompted us to write this review...Ciao!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vagabondi also viewed

West Palm Beach, FL
West Palm Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabondi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.