We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't go if you have a stage 4 diagnosis of cancer” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hippocrates Health Institute

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Palm Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hippocrates Health Institute
Save
You added Hippocrates Health Institute to your Saves list
1466 Hippocrates Way, West Palm Beach, FL 33411   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Summer Weight Loss
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“don't go if you have a stage 4 diagnosis of cancer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband stayed at Hippocrates Health Center in oktober 2012. He travelled there from Amsterdam because he had just been given a diagnosis of stage 4 stomach-cancer. Because regular health care could not offer curative treatment, he looked for an alternative. Before he left he had a telephone call with the director of Hippocrates, dr. Brian Clement. Dr. Clement convinced my husband that a raw food diet, combined with all the treatments at the institute could cure him. So he went and payed over 9000 euro's for his stay, additional;, very expensive treatments and all kinds of pills and substitutes. He stayed in one of the cheapest rooms, of campus. Jolene Jackson advised him to do so. When staying there he regretted this. He had cancer and was often tired. Staying of campus costed him extra energy. If you have cancer. at Hippocrates you can only eat raw green food, everyday garlic and no fruit. My husband lost 15 kilo's, If you have cancer you are not supposed to loose so much weight, you need everything you have. Although the staff is very friendly, you are very much on your own at Hippocrates. My husband missed very much a health professional who would help him and advice him which treatments would be best in his situation. He had to make his own plan. Which is difficult, when you are ill, you are staying off campus, you are only there for 3 weeks and you don't know what to do and what is best for you...and nobody is telling you. He took very expensive vitamine IV's from a dr. Cheng. He - and all the other patients that week -had bad luck, because the IV's (that are prepared locally) he and the other patients got, appeared to have turned bad. My husband got very, very sick of them. Obviously there is not enough control on what individual doctors do at Hippocrates. These people are not on the paylist, but hire a 'practice' at the institute. Dr. Brian and his wife dr. Anna Clement (both owner/directors of Hippocrates advise their patients during consults to take certain treatments. My husband was strongly advised by them to go to dr. Cheng. When my husband arrived on the Amsterdam airport back from Hippocrates, we had to rush him to hospital. His bloodcount had dropped so bad, he needed a blood- IV immediately. Hippocrates just does not offer enough medical support. If you have a stage 4 cancer diagnosis, find treatment elsewhere. My husband came back from Hippocrates in a far worse health then he had when he went there. He died 3 month after.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAllen33411, VP of Operations at Hippocrates Health Institute, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are very sorry for your loss. At Hippocrates, we have been able to help thousands of guests that have decided to give our program a try as a last resort to reverse serious, life-threatening illnesses through the education and living foods nutrition they receive while here since the institute opened in 1957. As part of the Life Transformation Program, every guest, regardless of their accommodation leve, receives specialized consultaions with our holistic care team in order to design a care protocol of which services, both complimentary and additional, are best for each individual. The staff is also available to guests outside of their scheduled appointments because we realize that as people go through the program, questions arise that only a qualified professional can answer. At Hippocrates, our goal is to teach every person to help themselves whether here on a detoxification goal or to great various illnesses and most importantly, for their education to travel back with them so that they can be successful when they return to their lives, wherever that may be. Again, we appreciate your feedback. We certainly hope your belief in Hippocrates and what we espouse here--that "it's not about the food in your life but the life in your food"--is restored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    6
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
9
11
71
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I'll start by saying that I booked Hippocrates for their 3-week program and at the beginning of the third week I couldn't bear the thought of leaving and so I stayed a fourth week!! Above all other words, that probably says it all in terms of recommending Hippocrates Health Institute and their program!

I found the program everything I had anticipated and more. The program works, period. There were amazing visible and quantifiable changes for everyone who was there for the 3-week program. Blood chemistry changes were great indicators as were individuals experiences of physical changes. One fellow, with Lymes disease which had affected his brain, arrived unable to be understood because his speech was so garbled from his brain not getting the right messages. After a very short time he was having intelligible conversations with people although his short-term memory was still an issue when he left. My roommates stage-4 breast cancer tumor visibly changed and decreased in size. A young mother, also with stage-4 breast cancer plus a visible tumor on her sternum, saw the tumor on her sternum externally disappear. Several people with insulin-supported diabetes left with normal blood glucose levels and no medications.

These are just a few examples of my personal experiences with individuals. In my own case, belly fat had been creeping on over the past couple of years and had reached the point where it had become a health concern in relationship to my heart and blood glucose levels. My body totally shifted during my 4-weeks at Hippocrates and although there is still some lingering belly fat, the difference is considerable plus I have great energy and feel terrific. As I am continuously receiving comments since my return home, I gather the results are also visible to others as well!!

Hippocrates is a total experience - it's like a long spa vacation!!! There are several valuable complimentary treatments as well as many other options. The grounds are magnificent and nurturing; there is a mineral pool, a hot pool, a cold plunge pool plus a regular swimming pool - all chlorine free of course!! - and an infra-red sauna behind these pools, Then there are several other swimming pools and saunas around the property. If you enjoy meditation, there are many benches throughout for your privacy. The gym is very well equipped and there are two different saunas plus a pool there. Everyone can sign up for a complimentary bicycle for their use during their stay!! Seriously - I am yearning for it all again!!

There is a gorgeous lovingly cared for organic garden to supply the seasonal veggies for lunches and dinners along with the sprouting greenhouse where the wide variety of sprouts happily grow listening to classical music.

I would be terribly remiss if I neglected to mention that one of the very key pieces of Hippocrates is their truly amazing staff and this includes everyone!!!! They are absolutely incredible in their dedication and sincere desire to be of service to each and every person. Faces are flashing in front of me as I write this, remembering the many beautiful hearts. Love is spoken there and it feels so good!!

Hippocrates isn't perfect - there are many ways in which it can improve - however, in the bigger picture, if you're looking for healthy results I suggest, without hesitation, the 3-week program. If you go there with a willingness and the openness to receive (and put your critic to rest for your time there!) you will not be sorry!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAllen33411, VP of Operations at Hippocrates Health Institute, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such an outstanding Tripadvisor review. All the great feedback you share in your review is so rewarding. We want all our guests to feel like this is their “Vacation with a different focus”. At Hippocrates, we take great care to provide our guests with all they need to reverse patterns that have affected their lives in detrimental ways and we know that none of this could be possible without the great staff we have. It is these personal touches that our staff provide that help our unique, world-class institute an unforgettable destination. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

If I had an opportunity to live anywhere I want, it would be Hippocrates Health Institute! People are knowledgable, gracious and wonderful. This is better than any resort you could ever want to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a health retreat designed to give you all the tools to heal yourself. Like any resort, you choose the level of accommodation you want to pay for. The second visit is much more enjoyable as it is "self-guided" and there's more time for relaxation rather than attending every workshop. While many are designed to sell you on therapies, most of them are extremely helpful. How FORTUNATE is Chef Ken & Pam ?!(a couple who both work at the Hippocrates facility) She gets to enjoy his incredible food, and he (most likely) gets awesome massages!!

Room Tip: We love the El Nido house----perfect for a couple who prefers privacy, but we understand it is to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

At Hippocrates they show you how you can heal yourself. I found the staff caring beyond the call of duty. They suggest supplements and therapies which could help but there is NO pressure whatsoever to buy them. The food is amazingly delicious, no one could starve there. You can eat as much as you like. It is not cheap but all your food, accommodation and all day, everyday lectures are included, as well as some therapies. I was surprised by the warmth of Anna Marie and Brian who are not at all money grabbing. Of course it is a business - it has to be - the facilities are excellent. I met people who had been there for 3 weeks or more and their lives were turned around. I though it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Going for the fourth time now (three weeks each time). Hippocrates is a magical place that really makes a huge difference to one's overall wellbeing. I went in a wheelchair three years ago having been told that I'd never walk again and left three weeks later being able to do exercise classes back to back - walk three miles on the beach - and be pain free.

It is wonderful to me that we are only just now beginning to understand - scientifically - why this Hippocrates style health programme actually works - nutrigenomics explains much of what is going on here.

It's not a cult, it's not a centre for dippy hippies, it is a solid, careful, we'll thought out centre offering a sane programme that works for a great many people.

I resisted going to Hippocrates for a long time because people do tend to 'evangelise' about the place once they've been there and that put me off. However, when I finally went in desperation I understood it for what it is: A place for true healing. I now go every year and it keeps me mobile and virtually pain free. It's also a great place to de-stress and plan/strategise forthcoming projects.

Room Tip: Book early as you can. Also check to see if any large groups are going - it can be a problem if a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The Hippocrates Life Change Center was formerly Hippocrates Health Institute. It is a total supplement scam operation. If you are sick--especially if you have cancer or some other seriously life threatening disease, and are desperate to throw money at ANYTHING in a last ditch attempt to save your life...it may be worth considering. However, if you are one of those people who has any inclination to doubt...this would be the place to use it. This place lures you in to sell things to you at a very high mark up. Many of the spa services are offered by local service providers who offer the same services in their private offices for a fraction of the cost. The supplements are overpriced and there is a huge emphasis on spending, buying supplements and spa services. For the cost of a week at the Hippocrates cesspool, you could buy a LOT of raw vegetables and do just fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Palm Beach
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn West Palm Beach Florida Turnpike
Hampton Inn West Palm Beach Flor...
#6 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 316 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West Palm Beach
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham West ...
#1 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 725 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn West Palm Beach - City Place
La Quinta Inn West Palm Beach - ...
#20 of 34 in West Palm Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton West Palm Beach - Central
Embassy Suites by Hilton West Pa...
#3 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hilton Palm Beach Airport
Hilton Palm Beach Airport
#4 of 34 in West Palm Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippocrates Health Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippocrates Health Institute

Address: 1466 Hippocrates Way, West Palm Beach, FL 33411
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in West Palm Beach
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting amongst 50 acres of tropical woodlands in Southern Florida, Hippocrates offers a serene setting in which to heal, nurture and develop into one’s fullest potential. The Institute’s signature Life Transformation Program provides the fundamental training and a definitive blueprint for transitioning to a healthier lifestyle. The Life Transformation Program is a three-week residential program that runs weekly every Sunday through Saturday year-round. A literal life-change program, the holistic approach to health and wellness taught at Hippocrates includes transformation of the mind, body and spirit: ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hippocrates Life Change Hotel West Palm Beach
Hippocrates West Palm Beach
Hippocrates Palm Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippocrates Health Institute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.