We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service and Rooms” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Biba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Biba to your Saves list
Hotel Biba
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Belvedere Rd, West Palm Beach, FL 33405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in West Palm Beach
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Service and Rooms”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Horrible hotel .... Stay away! The rooms are tiny and gross. We had hair in the bathroom from the previous guest and the floor was covered in dirt. The room was moldy smelling and even opening the windows did not help. The young girl that checked us in was very unfriendly and not helpful at all. She just sat our keys on the counter and handed us a map of the property. It took us 5 minutes to figure out where our room was. When we got into the room only one light worked and now I can see why. The room was terrible, dark dingy and moldy. We called the front desk to complain and no one answered the phone. We finally went to the front desk after calling for 15 minutes and the same girl was working and she could not figure out what to do. We received no apology for the condition of the room or even an explanation for why the pictures on the website do not match the actual room condition. Do not let the pictures on their website deceive you. The rooms look nothing like that. Do not stay here and think you are getting a good room and good service. We ended up finally leaving shortly after checking in and staying at another hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    86
    31
    14
    11
See reviews for
31
80
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We booked through travelocity very cheap, worth the price we paid. Although they did not have our reservations. They accommodated us, honoring our $39 a night booking price.
The pool, lounge, and breakfast was good. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Would stay again for $39 but not full price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Dont't ever go there! The hotel claims to be a design hotel but is just an old motel with a new painting. You can hear just anything through the walls (e.g. the neighbour's shower waking you up in the morning) and every wednesday there is a house party untill 2 am. The music is so loud that it is impossible to sleep (it feels like your bed is in the middle of the club). The promised discout for the night has NEVER been refunded. The cleaning staff was outrageous (firstly they asked us whether we need cleaning at all and then they asked us three times if they could finally clean our room even though we didn't want to before we left). Don't be blinded by the nice pictures...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Hotel Biba is an old motel that has been refurbished/ redone using modern "Ikea" style decor. It definitely has personality. But for the price, it is a decent place to stay if you are looking for something a tad different/out of the ordinary.

We felt safe and the place was a little run-down but clean. We checked in and were given our keys (the hotel desk clerk was very friendly). The keys would not work in the door. My husband went back and the desk clerk gave us a new room, saying they were having trouble with the keys to our original room. She upgraded us to a room with a king-sized bed, which was very nice.

Our room was #134, back in the corner. The room itself was clean, sparsely decorated and decent in size. The bathroom was small for two people to use at once. It did have a nice wall-mounted TV and a desk and chair. The AC was nice and cold. The one down side to room #134 is the free Wi-Fi that all guests of the hotel have access to - did not work in our room. We were out of range. I had to move the desk chair outside the door to use the internet. This was a pain seeing as this is how I was getting my info on what to do for the night. But other than that, the room itself was nice. It was painted mango pink and purple, which was sort of fun.

The free continental breakfast was basic, but hey, it was free. Coffee, juice, bagels, toast, cereal. We took the plates back to our room and no one seemed to care that we did that. I couldn't find the bar area (where the breakfast is served) at first, and the cleaning lady who directed me to it was very friendly.

Overall, I would say Hotel BIba was nice for the price. Don't stay here if you are expecting the Ritz. Do stay here if you would like something with a little character but in the under $100 price range. The neighborhood it is in may not be the nicest, but it's a short drive to City Place and Clematis Street, which is what we were looking for.

Room Tip: Avoid room #134 if you want Wi-Fi access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Biba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biba

Address: 320 Belvedere Rd, West Palm Beach, FL 33405
Location: United States > Florida > West Palm Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in West Palm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Biba 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Biba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biba Hotel West Palm Beach
Biba West Palm Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Biba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.